History

Best Selling / Page 463

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete History

 

In category

History by country (14875)

World War II (2141)

Other (1816)

1945-1989 (1143)

Ancient (854)

World War I (530)

Medieval (526)

1799-before 1945 (440)

<1799 (439)

Holocaust (228)

Renaissance (141)

>1989 (117)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (23139)

French (973)

German (198)

Spanish (679)

Italian (1116)

 

Protection

All (23139)

DRM Free (723)

DRM (22408)

More options

British Tank Production and the War Economy, 1934-1945

by Benjamin Coombs

British Tank Production and the War Economy, 1934-1945 explores the under-researched experiences of the British tank industry in the context of the pressures of war. Benjamin Coombs explores the various demands...


Dreams and Dreaming in the Roman Empire: Cultural Memory and Imagination

by Juliette Harrisson

The history and literature of the Roman Empire is full of reports of dream prophecies, dream ghosts and dream gods. This volume offers a fresh approach to the study of ancient dreams by asking not what the ancients...


Developing the Rivers of East and West Africa: An Environmental History

by Heather J. Hoag

How did rivers contribute to the economic and political development of modern Africa? How did African and European notions of nature's value and meaning differ? And how have these evaluations of Africa's rivers...


Blacksnake¿s Path: The True Adventures of William Wells

by William Heath

This splendid novel about an unsung hero of American history carries its prodigious learning lightly in order to tell vividly the authentic story of William Wells’s remarkable life. Blacksnake’s Path recreates...


Lancaster: Reaping the Whirlwind

by Martin W Bowman

The narrative description and condensed history of the Lancaster's construction, combat career and post-war service, brought together to tell the complete, concise history of the world's most famous aircraft...


The Secret History of Oxford

by Paul Sullivan

The Secret History of Oxford offers the reader an off-the-beaten-track tour of the city's landmarks and streets. Filled with hundreds of facts and anecdotes, it reveals the amusing, unliikely and downright wonderful...


History's Narrowest Escapes

by James Moore

Did you know that Winston Churchill narrowly avoided assassination in the Second World War? Or that Prince Albert helped Britain avoid war with the United States in the 19th century from his deathbed? In their...


Attending to Early Modern Women: Conflict and Concord

by Karen Nelson

A global, interdisciplinary consideration of the relationship between war and women's lives, works, economic situations, religious affiliations and practices in the early modern period, this volume gathers together...


Shakespeare Expressed: Page, Stage, and Classroom in Shakespeare and His Contemporaries

by Kathryn M. Moncrief, Kathryn R. McPherson & Sarah Enloe

This volume extends the reach of the American Shakespeare Center, which consistently provides the finest in Shakespearean and Elizabethan dramatic performance and scholarship, by providing the best of its biannual...


The Teacher in Ancient Rome: The Magister and His World

by Lisa Maurice

Although a number of general books about ancient education have been published over the last few decades, none of these books emphasize the teacher. The Teacher in Ancient Rome: The Magister and His World, by...


Nobel: A Century of Prize Winners

by Michael Worek

The story of the winners of the world's most prestigious prize, now updated to include the 2009 recipients.


The Rise of China and Chinese International Relations Scholarship

by Hung-jen Wang

This book seeks to explore wide-ranging studies of international relations theory, Sinology, Asian security, and Chinese foreign policy. It targets university libraries, research institutes, and think-tanks...


He Died All Day Long

by Jon Wells

He Died All Day Long is a story of the Vietnam War and the soldiers who fought it - on both sides - from a street kid in Pittsburgh, to a country boy from Missouri, even a Vietnamese peasant who wants nothing...


The Complete Idiot's Guide to World War II, 3rd Edition

by Ph.D., Mitchell G. Bard

The Complete Idiots Guide(r) to World War II, Second Edition, will feature updated and expanded coverage of the fateful D-Day invasion, a critical timeline of major WW II events, and a WW II timeline highlighting...


Lectures on the French Revolution

by John Emerich Edward Dalberg-Acton

Delivered at Cambridge University between 1895 and 1899, Lectures on the French Revolution is a distinguished account of the entire epochal chapter in French experience by one of the most remarkable English...


Victorian Fashion Accessories

by Ariel Beaujot

An accessible and lively study of Victorian fashion accessories as tools of flirtation and indicators of class, political ideology, chastity and respectability.


Roman Theories of Translation: Surpassing the Source

by Siobhán| McElduff

For all that Cicero is often seen as the father of translation theory, his and other Roman comments on translation are often divorced from the complicated environments that produced them. The first book-length...


Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

by Stephen Yafa

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of...


The Akron Offering: A Ladies' Literary Magazine, 1849-1852

by Jon Miller

"I am not ambitious, I seek only to please for the present moment, leaving the glory of posthumous fame, to the thousand little celebrities of the day," writes Lizzie, one of the regular contributors to The...


Reprobates: The Cavaliers of the English Civil War

by John Stubbs

“Stubbs [has] a storyteller’s gift for atmosphere and drama.”—Wall Street Journal

From disastrous foreign forays to syphilitic poets, from political intrigues to ambitious young playwrights keen to curry...