History

Best Selling / Page 464

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete History

 

In category

History by country (14839)

World War II (2136)

Other (1806)

1945-1989 (1143)

Ancient (852)

World War I (534)

Medieval (528)

1799-before 1945 (441)

<1799 (439)

Holocaust (229)

Renaissance (139)

>1989 (117)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (23107)

French (976)

German (198)

Spanish (683)

Italian (1117)

 

Protection

All (23107)

DRM Free (723)

DRM (22376)

More options

The Rise of China and Chinese International Relations Scholarship

by Hung-jen Wang

This book seeks to explore wide-ranging studies of international relations theory, Sinology, Asian security, and Chinese foreign policy. It targets university libraries, research institutes, and think-tanks...


He Died All Day Long

by Jon Wells

He Died All Day Long is a story of the Vietnam War and the soldiers who fought it - on both sides - from a street kid in Pittsburgh, to a country boy from Missouri, even a Vietnamese peasant who wants nothing...


The Complete Idiot's Guide to World War II, 3rd Edition

by Ph.D., Mitchell G. Bard

The Complete Idiots Guide(r) to World War II, Second Edition, will feature updated and expanded coverage of the fateful D-Day invasion, a critical timeline of major WW II events, and a WW II timeline highlighting...


Lectures on the French Revolution

by John Emerich Edward Dalberg-Acton

Delivered at Cambridge University between 1895 and 1899, Lectures on the French Revolution is a distinguished account of the entire epochal chapter in French experience by one of the most remarkable English...


Victorian Fashion Accessories

by Ariel Beaujot

An accessible and lively study of Victorian fashion accessories as tools of flirtation and indicators of class, political ideology, chastity and respectability.


Roman Theories of Translation: Surpassing the Source

by Siobhán| McElduff

For all that Cicero is often seen as the father of translation theory, his and other Roman comments on translation are often divorced from the complicated environments that produced them. The first book-length...


Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber

by Stephen Yafa

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's Cod and Salt, this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of...


The Akron Offering: A Ladies' Literary Magazine, 1849-1852

by Jon Miller

"I am not ambitious, I seek only to please for the present moment, leaving the glory of posthumous fame, to the thousand little celebrities of the day," writes Lizzie, one of the regular contributors to The...


Reprobates: The Cavaliers of the English Civil War

by John Stubbs

“Stubbs [has] a storyteller’s gift for atmosphere and drama.”—Wall Street Journal

From disastrous foreign forays to syphilitic poets, from political intrigues to ambitious young playwrights keen to curry...


Beyond Glory: Medal of Honor Heroes in Their Own Words

by Larry Smith, H. Norman Schwarzkopf & Eddie Adams

This first oral history of living Medal of Honor winners evokes Flags of Our Fathers with stirring accounts of patriotic valor. This New York Times best-selling account of battlefield courage celebrates the...


Utopian Movements and Ideas of the Great Depression: Dreamers, Believers, and Madmen

by Donald W. Whisenhunt

Utopian Movements and Ideas of the Great Depression explores several lesser known movements for change and reform in the Great Depression Era of the 1930s. It includes studies of a few communal societies, proposals...


Fighter Pilot's Daughter: Growing Up in the Sixties and the Cold War

by Mary Lawlor

Fighter Pilot's Daughter: Growing Up in the Sixties and the Cold War details author and Professor Mary Lawlor’s unconventional upbringing in Cold War America. Memories of her early life—as the daughter of...


A Mayor's Life: Governing New York's Gorgeous Mosaic

by David N. Dinkins & Peter Knobler

How did a scrawny black kid—the son of a barber and a domestic who grew up in Harlem and Trenton—become the 106th mayor of New York City? It’s a remarkable journey. David Norman Dinkins was born in 1927,...


Death, American Style: A Cultural History of Dying in America

by Lawrence R. Samuel

DEATH, AMERICAN STYLE: A CULTURAL HISTORY OF DYING IN AMERICA is the first comprehensive cultural history to explore America’s uneasy relationship with death over the past century.


Kenya's Independence Constitution: Constitution-Making and End of Empire

by Robert M. Maxon

Kenya's Independence Constitution, by Robert M. Maxon, details the evolution of Kenya's constitution during the final stage of decolonization. Starting with the close of the first Lancaster House conference...


200,000 Miles Aboard the Destroyer Cotton

by C Snelling Robinson

In mid-June 1943, Snelling Robinson, a 20-year-old Harvard graduate and newly commissioned ensign in the U.S. Naval Reserve, joined the pre-commissioning crew of the Fletcher class destroyer USS Cotten. The...


The Drama of Fiji: A Contemporary History

by John Wesley Coulter

This history of Fiji focuses on the period of Imperial British control and offers a fascinating glimpse at a unique and volatile situation.

The drama unfolds with a look into the backgrounds of the native Fijians—subsistence...


Blood of Revolution: From the Reign of Terror to the Arab Spring

by Erik Durschmied

In this fascinating book, the author of The Hinge Factor and The Weather Factor surveys revolutions across the centuries, vividly portraying the people and events that brought wrenching, often enduring—and...


Twilight Warriors: Covert Air Operations Against the USSR

by Curtis Peebles

From the start of the Cold War to the fall of Saigon, from the Congo to Tibet, from the Bay of Pigs to North Vietnam and Nicaragua, here is a comprehensive overview of U.S. air-supported covert operations against...


The President and the Provocateur: The Parallel Lives of JFK and Lee Harvey Oswald

by Alex Cox

Film director Alex Cox reflects on the strange archetypes haunting his life's obsession: the Kennedy assassination.