History / History by country / United States / Other / Military

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (804)

French (6)

German (31)

Spanish (3)

Italian (6)

 

Category

Delete Military

 

Protection

All (804)

DRM Free (96)

DRM (707)

More options

The Victory at Sea

by William Sowden Sims & Burton J. Hendrick

This 1921 Pulitzer Prize awarded history has been written in response to a demand for some account of the generally very misunderstood German submarine campaign in the World War I and particularly of the means...


The Art of War in the Middle Ages

by Charles Oman

The Art of War has been very simply defined as 'the art which enables any commander to worst the forces opposed to him.' It is therefore conversant with an enormous variety of subjects: Strategy and Tactics...


The Recollections of Rifleman Harris

by Benjamin Harris

The Recollections of Rifleman Harris is a memoir published in 1848 of the experiences of an enlisted soldier in the 95th Regiment of Foot in the British Army during the Napoleonic Wars.

The eponymous soldier...


Ready for Battle: Technological Intelligence on the Battlefield

by Azriel Lorber

In Ready for Battle: Technological Intelligence on the Battlefield, Azriel Lorber engages, through historical example and policy prescription, technology's role in modern warfare and the dangers presented by...


The Torch We Throw: The Dundurn WWI Historical Library: Amiens/Second to None/The Making of Billy Bishop/Hell in Flanders Fields/It Made you Think of

by Brereton Greenhous, James McWilliams, R. James Steel & Kevin R. Shackleton et al.

This special five-book collection brings to life courageous and tragic stories from the First World War, from the battlefields of France to the fight in the air.


Dollar Battle-Gami

by Won Park

Got a dollar burning a hole in your pocket? Master paper engineer Won Park has created Dollar Battle-Gami, a new and sophisticated origami kit for advanced paper artists. Learn to fold 10 impressive projects...


Shock Factor

by Sgt. Jack Coughlin & John R. Bruning

From the author of the New York Times bestselling memoir Shooter, comes a riveting narrative of how snipers have changed the course of America's war on al Qaida in the Middle East and Africa.

Retired Marine sniper...


Anglo-Zulu War, 1879: A Selected Bibliography

by Harold E. Raugh Jr.

Anglo-Zulu War, 1879: A Selected Bibliography is a research guide and tool for identifying obscure publications and source materials in order to encourage continued original and thought-provoking contributions...


The Unsubstantial Air

by Samuel Hynes

The Unsubstantial Air is the gripping story of the Americans who fought and died in the aerial battles of World War I. Much more than a traditional military history, it is an account of the excitement of becoming...


The Challenge of Nation-Building: Implementing Effective Innovation in the U.S. Army from World War II to the Iraq War

by Rebecca Patterson

The Challenge of Nation-Building examines the conditions that have allowed or prevented the U.S. Army to innovate for nation-building effectively. By doing so, it shows how military leadership and civil-military...


What the Thunder Said: Reflections of a Canadian Officer in Kandahar

by John Conrad & Christie Blatchford

What the Thunder Said is an honest and at times raw recollection of incidents and impressions of Canadian warfighting from a logistics perspective.


Cowardice: A Brief History

by Chris Walsh

Coward. It's a grave insult, likely to provoke anger, shame, even violence. But what exactly is cowardice? When terrorists are called cowards, does it mean the same as when the term is applied to soldiers? And...


Predator

by Richard Whittle

The untold story of the birth of the Predator drone, a wonder weapon that transformed the American military, reshaped modern warfare, and sparked a revolution in aviation

The creation of the first weapon in history...


Foreign Correspondent

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Art of War & The Prince

by Niccolo Machiavelli

Collected here in one omnibus edition are Niccolò Machiavelli's most important works, The Art of War and The Prince. It was Niccolò Machiavelli who essentially removed ethics from government. He did it with...


A Woman's War: The Professional and Personal Journey of the Navy's First African American Female Intelligence Officer

by Gail Harris & Pam McLaughlin

When Gail Harris was assigned by the U.S. Navy to a combat intelligence job in 1973, she became the first African American female to hold such a position. Harris's memoir, A Woman's War, follows her 28-year...


Handbook of Warning Intelligence: Assessing the Threat to National Security

by Cynthia Grabo & JAN GOLDMAN

Handbook of Warning Intelligence: Assessing the Threat to National Security was written during the Cold War and classified for 40 years, this manual is now available to scholars and practitioners interested...


"The Best Kept Secret of World War Two!"

by Jr. Willis S. Cole

The Head Military Archivist at the College Park National Archives is responsible for the title for this book, when he told the author, "You have discovered the best kept secret of World War Two and you are proving...


Historical Dictionary of the United States Navy

by James M. Morris & Patricia M. Kearns

The second edition of Historical Dictionary of the United States Navy covers U.S. Naval developments, personnel, and engagements from the colonial times to the present day. This is done through a chronology,...


Eagles over Gazala

by Michele Palermo

palermo aviolibri records eagles africa gazala battles aviation military history 1942 ibn aviolibri