History / History by country / United States / Other / Military

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (1594)

French (6)

German (34)

Spanish (5)

Italian (4)

 

Category

Delete Military

 

Protection

All (1594)

DRM Free (138)

DRM (1455)

More options

Gunship Pilot

by Robert F. Hartley

It was 1968 and Robert Hartley was on his first combat mission in Vietnam as copilot of a helicopter gunship. As he and his platoon leader flew over the A Shau Valley, a Chinook helicopter engulfed in flames...


De Bello Gallico and Other Commentaries (The War Commentaries of Julius Caesar: The War in Gaul and The Civil War)

by Caius Julius Caesar

"De Bello Gallico" and Other Commentaries (The War Commentaries of Julius Caesar: The War in Gaul and The Civil War)' is a collection of war writings by Julius Caesar. Included in this volume are the first hand...


Ready for Battle: Technological Intelligence on the Battlefield

by Azriel Lorber

In Ready for Battle: Technological Intelligence on the Battlefield, Azriel Lorber engages, through historical example and policy prescription, technology's role in modern warfare and the dangers presented by...


The Torch We Throw: The Dundurn WWI Historical Library: Amiens/Second to None/The Making of Billy Bishop/Hell in Flanders Fields/It Made you Think of

by Brereton Greenhous, James McWilliams, R. James Steel & Kevin R. Shackleton et al.

This special five-book collection brings to life courageous and tragic stories from the First World War, from the battlefields of France to the fight in the air.


Dollar Battle-Gami

by Won Park

Got a dollar burning a hole in your pocket? Master paper engineer Won Park has created Dollar Battle-Gami, a new and sophisticated origami kit for advanced paper artists. Learn to fold 10 impressive projects...


Shock Factor

by Sgt. Jack Coughlin & John R. Bruning

From the author of the New York Times bestselling memoir Shooter, comes a riveting narrative of how snipers have changed the course of America's war on al Qaida in the Middle East and Africa.

Retired Marine sniper...


Anglo-Zulu War, 1879: A Selected Bibliography

by Harold E. Raugh Jr.

Anglo-Zulu War, 1879: A Selected Bibliography is a research guide and tool for identifying obscure publications and source materials in order to encourage continued original and thought-provoking contributions...


Last Men Out

by Bob Drury & Tom Clavin

A “thrilling narrative of bravery, bravado, and loss” (Kirkus Reviews) that tells the “gripping story of a handful of marines who formed the last body of Americans to leave Saigon on April 30, 1975”...


The Unsubstantial Air

by Samuel Hynes

The Unsubstantial Air is the gripping story of the Americans who fought and died in the aerial battles of World War I. Much more than a traditional military history, it is an account of the excitement of becoming...


The Challenge of Nation-Building: Implementing Effective Innovation in the U.S. Army from World War II to the Iraq War

by Rebecca Patterson

The Challenge of Nation-Building examines the conditions that have allowed or prevented the U.S. Army to innovate for nation-building effectively. By doing so, it shows how military leadership and civil-military...


What the Thunder Said: Reflections of a Canadian Officer in Kandahar

by John Conrad & Christie Blatchford

What the Thunder Said is an honest and at times raw recollection of incidents and impressions of Canadian warfighting from a logistics perspective.


Predator

by Richard Whittle

The untold story of the birth of the Predator drone, a wonder weapon that transformed the American military, reshaped modern warfare, and sparked a revolution in aviation

The creation of the first weapon in history...


Insurgents, Raiders, and Bandits: How Masters of Irregular Warfare Have Shaped Our World

by John Arquilla

Insurgent, Raiders and Bandits explores the history of irregular warfare over the past 250 years through the lives and campaigns ofFrom w the greatest masters of this mode of conflict. The book not only tells...


Foreign Correspondent

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Invisible Soldiers

by Ann Hagedorn

The urgent truth about the privatization of America’s national security that exposes where this industry came from, how it operates, where it's heading—and why we should be concerned.

Thirty years ago there...


The Art of War & The Prince

by Niccolo Machiavelli

Collected here in one omnibus edition are Niccolò Machiavelli's most important works, The Art of War and The Prince. It was Niccolò Machiavelli who essentially removed ethics from government. He did it with...


A Woman's War: The Professional and Personal Journey of the Navy's First African American Female Intelligence Officer

by Gail Harris & Pam McLaughlin

When Gail Harris was assigned by the U.S. Navy to a combat intelligence job in 1973, she became the first African American female to hold such a position. Harris's memoir, A Woman's War, follows her 28-year...


Handbook of Warning Intelligence: Assessing the Threat to National Security

by Cynthia Grabo & JAN GOLDMAN

Handbook of Warning Intelligence: Assessing the Threat to National Security was written during the Cold War and classified for 40 years, this manual is now available to scholars and practitioners interested...


"The Best Kept Secret of World War Two!"

by Jr. Willis S. Cole

The Head Military Archivist at the College Park National Archives is responsible for the title for this book, when he told the author, "You have discovered the best kept secret of World War Two and you are proving...


Double Agent

by Peter Duffy

The never-before-told tale of the German-American who infiltrated New York’s Nazi underground in the days leading up to World War II: “Thrilling, well-researched, well-told, fascinating” (Minneapolis Star...