History / History by country / United States / Other

Best Selling / Page 7

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Other

 

In category

Military (3322)

Veterans (77)

 

Language

English (3391)

French (65)

German (28)

Spanish (4)

Italian (5)

 

Protection

All (3391)

DRM Free (115)

DRM (3275)

More options

How the South Could Have Won the Civil War: The Fatal Errors That Led to Confederate Defeat

by Bevin Alexander

Could the South have won the Civil War?

To many, the very question seems absurd. After all, the Confederacy had only a third of the population and one-eleventh of the industry of the North. Wasn’t the South’s...


The Three Meter Zone: Common Sense Leadership for NCOs

by J.D. Pendry

A pocket-sized guide to being a good leader, for non-commissioned officers (NCOs). Discusses US Army values in 'user-friendly' terms, from the perspective of a former member of the NCO core. Introduces three...


Sua Sponte: The Forging of a Modern American Ranger

by Dick Couch

Sua Sponte

Latin for “Of Their Own Accord”

The 75th Ranger Regiment’s Motto

 

Army Rangers are not born. They are made. The modern 75th Ranger Regiment represents the culmination of 250 years of American...


WW III: Payback: A Novel

by Ian Slater

Old soldiers never die. They just come back for more.

Three terrorist missiles have struck three jetliners filled with innocent people. America knows this shock all too well. But unlike 9/11, the nation is already...


Don't Bunch Up: One Marine's Story

by William Van Zanten

Captain William Van Zanten was one of the “Magnificent Bastards” of the 2nd Battalion, 4th Marines, in 1966–a year when any day could bring death or dismemberment from a Bouncing Betty or a punji stake,...


Shadow Divers: The True Adventure of Two Americans Who Risked Everything to Solve One of the Last Mysteries of World War II

by Robert Kurson

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger’s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical...


Into the Crucible: Making Marines for the 21st Century

by James Woulfe

This book describes the 54 hour exercise in which recruits are put through a series of taxing challenges whilst being denied sufficient food or sleep. Woulfe compares this training exercise with other schemes...


Down Range: Navy SEALs in the War on Terrorism

by Dick Couch

In America’s battle against al-Qaeda and their allies, the goal of the Navy SEALs is to be the best guns in the fight—stealthy, effective, professional, and lethal. Here for the first time is a SEAL insider’s...


Modern Military Strategy: An Introduction

by Elinor C. Sloan

This textbook provides a coherent introduction to post-Cold War and post-9/11 military theory for upper-level students seeking an initial understanding of strategic studies.

In the contemporary period there has...


Lions of Kandahar: The Story of a Fight Against All Odds

by Rusty Bradley & Kevin Maurer

Includes a new Afterword by the authors

One of the most critical battles of the Afghan War is now revealed as never before. Lions of Kandahar is an inside account from the unique perspective of an active-duty...


Eleven Myths About the Tuskegee Airmen

by Daniel Haulman

The members of the 332d Fighter Group and the 99th, 100th, 301st, and 302d Fighter Squadrons during World War II are remembered in part because they were the only African American pilots who served in combat...


On War and Leadership: The Words of Combat Commanders from Frederick the Great to Norman Schwarzkopf

by Owen Connelly

What can we learn about leadership and the experience of war from the best combat leaders the world has ever known? This book takes us behind the scenes and to the front lines of the major wars of the past 250...


1001 Things to Love About Military Life

by Tara Crooks, Starlett Henderson & Kathie Hightower

A first-of-its-kind celebration of military life, 1001 THINGS TO LOVE ABOUT MILITARY LIFE chronicles some obvious and not-so-obvious traditions, advantages and experiences military members, veterans and their...


Combat Biplanes of World War II

by Peter C Smith

The era of the combat biplane is usually thought to have been between 1914 and 1938. By the outbreak of World War II, most of the advanced air forces of the world had moved on to monoplane aircraft for their...


Rodney and Nelson

by Les Brown & Robert Brown

The 'ShipCraft' series provides in-depth information about building and modifying model kits of famous warship types. Lavishly illustrated, each book takes the modeller through a brief history of the subject...


I Chose the Sky

by Leonard Rochford

The newest addition to the Grub Street Classics range is this fascinating, insightful and, at times, nail-biting account by the World War One veteran, Leonard H. Rochford. This book has been out of print for...


How to Lose a Battle

by Bill Fawcett

A remarkable compendium of the worst military

decisions and the men who made them

The annals of history are littered with horribly bad military leaders. These combat incompetents found amazing ways to ensure...


Understanding Sun Tzu on the Art of War

by Robert Lawrence Cantrell

Understanding Sun Tzu on the Art of War is both a source and an interpretation of Sun Tzu's Art of War written to clarify Sun Tzu's philosophies on war without compromising the subtlety of thought needed to...


The E-Boat Threat

by Bryan Cooper

One of the major lessons of World War II was the importance of coastal waters. It was not widely recognised beforehand just how vital the control of such waters would become, both in defending essential convoys...


A Sniper's Conflict

by Monty B

The Author sets the scene with his early experiences as a sniper during his 2004 Cimic House Al-Amarah tour in Iraq where hard lessons were learnt. Next stop after rigorous training came participation on Op...