Juvenile & Young Adult / Historical

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

United States (706)

Europe (229)

Military & Wars (139)

Ancient Civilizations (113)

Canada (101)

Medieval (86)

Holocaust (53)

Exploration & Discovery (42)

Asia (41)

Civil War Period (1850-1877) (38)

Renaissance (35)

Other (29)

Africa (19)

Prehistory (14)

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (16)

Teen (7)

Young adult (46)

 

Language

English (1881)

French (115)

German (74)

Spanish (129)

Italian (110)

 

Protection

All (1881)

DRM Free (84)

DRM (1797)

More options

Les Miserables

by Victor Hugo & Monica Kulling

The classic novel--and hit Broadway show--about escaped convict Jean Valjean has been adapted with easy-to-read text, large type, and short chapters.  This engaging adaptation of the timeless tale is ideal...


I Rode a Horse of Milk White Jade

by Diane Wilson

When Oyuna was a baby, a horse accidentally crushed her foot, cursing her family with bad luck. Oyuna vows to restore good fortune to her family...but how?


Picture the Dead

by Adele Griffin & Lisa Brown

"A perfectly haunting combination."

-Jon Scieszka, bestselling author and Caldecott Honor winner

"I loved Picture the Dead. Eerie, romantic, moody, and immersive. A beautifully illustrated gothic delight!"

-Holly...


The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency, Book 1)

by Jordan Stratford & Kelly Murphy

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!

 

Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where...


Dog Diaries #6: Sweetie

by Kate Klimo & Tim Jessell

George Washington’s transformation from farmer to Father of Our Country—as told by his dog Sweetlips!

 

Sweetie was the finest foxhound in George Washington’s kennel. But Sweetie’s idyllic days at Mount...


Audacity

by Melanie Crowder

A 2015 National Jewish Book Award finalist

The inspiring story of Clara Lemlich, whose fight for equal rights led to the largest strike by women in American history

A gorgeously told novel in verse written with...


Anna of Byzantium

by Tracy Barrett

For fans of Joan of Arc and Alexander the Great, comes "a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries" about Anna Comnena of the Byzantine Empire.

   Anna Comnena has every reason to feel...


Three Rivers Rising: A Novel of the Johnstown Flood

by Jame Richards

Sixteen-Year-Old Celstia spends every summer with her family at the elite resort at Lake Conemaugh, a shimmering Allegheny Mountain reservoir held in place by an earthen dam. Tired of the society crowd, Celestia...


Peril at Pier Nine: Disaster Strikes! 3

by Penny Draper

Jack Gordon and Henry Addison meet when the Great Lakes cruise ship, the Noronic, docks at Ward Island, just before the ship catches fire - with Henry on board.


Time Enough for Drums

by Ann Rinaldi

Sixteen-year-old Jem struggles to maintain the status quo at home in Trenton, New Jersey, when the family men join the war for independence.

There are signs of rebellion in the Emerson household several years...


The Friendship Doll

by Kirby Larson

I am Miss Kanagawa. In 1927, my 57 doll-sisters and I were sent from Japan to America as Ambassadors of Friendship. Our work wasn't all peach blossoms and tea cakes. My story will take you from New York to Oregon,...


The Grace Mysteries: Assassin & Betrayal

by Grace Lady Cavendish

Two historical mysteries starring Lady Grace in one special volume!

In the Edgar-nominated Assassin, one suitor is dead with a knife in his back and another is under suspicion. . . Can Lady Grace, Queen Elizabeth's...


Stella by Starlight

by Sharon M. Draper

When the Ku Klux Klan’s unwelcome reappearance rattles Stella’s segregated southern town, bravery battles prejudice in this New York Times bestselling Depression-era “novel that soars” (The New York...


The War that Saved My Life

by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

#1 New York Times Bestseller

Newbery Honor Book

Winner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School)

Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015

New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing ...


The FitzOsbornes in Exile

by Michelle Cooper

Michelle Cooper combines the drama of pre-War Europe with the romance of debutante balls and gives us another compelling historical page turner.

Sophia FitzOsborne and the royal family of Montmaray escaped their...


Second Fiddle

by Rosanne Parry

The author of Heart of a Shepherd offers another sensitive portrayal of military families, this time stationed abroad, in the city of Berlin at that historic time just after the Wall came down.

When 13-year-old...


Harriet Tubman

by Kathleen Kudlinski & Robert Brown

One of the most popular series ever published for young Americans, these classics have been praised alike by parents, teachers, and librarians. With these lively, inspiring, fictionalized biographies -- easily...


Sacagawea: American Pathfinder

by Flora Warren Seymour & Robert Doremus

Learn about the childhood of Sacagawea, one of the first female all-stars in American history—and honored in US currency on the dollar coin.

Sacagawea was a Lemhi Shoshone woman who accompanied the Lewis and...


Martin Luther King, Jr.

by Dharathula H. Millender & Al Fiorentino

One of the most popular series ever published for young Americans, these classics have been praised alike by parents, teachers, and librarians. With these lively, inspiring, fictionalized biographies -- easily...


The Winter War: A Novel

by William Durbin

When the Soviet Union invades its tiny neighbor Finland in November 1939, Marko volunteers to help the war effort. Even though his leg was weakened by polio, he can ski well, and he becomes a messenger on the...