Juvenile & Young Adult / Historical / Exploration & Discovery

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed


Best Selling

New Releases



Delete Exploration & Discovery



Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (0)

Teen (0)

Young adult (0)





Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :



English (36)

French (1)

German (1)

Spanish (1)

Italian (1)



All (36)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (36)

More options

Call It Courage

by Armstrong Sperry

Maftu was afraid of the sea. It had taken his mother when he was a baby, and it seemed to him that the sea gods sought vengeance at having been cheated of Mafatu. So, though he was the son of the Great Chief...


by Cynthia Kadohata

Twelve-year-old Sumiko feels her life has been made up of two parts: before Pearl Harbor and after it. The good part and the bad part. Raised on a flower farm in California, Sumiko is used to being the only...

Water #1: Ascension

by Kara Dalkey

The sea is the birthplace of legends.

Nia, a young mermyd of the Bluefin clan, has had one wish all her life -- to be an Avatar in her beloved home of Atlantis. The ten Avatars rule the beautiful and peaceful...

The Vanishing Island

by Barry Wolverton & Dave Stevenson

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized new book from acclaimed author Barry Wolverton, perfect for fans of John Stephens's...

Sacagawea: American Pathfinder

by Flora Warren Seymour & Robert Doremus

Learn about the childhood of Sacagawea, one of the first female all-stars in American history—and honored in US currency on the dollar coin.

Sacagawea was a Lemhi Shoshone woman who accompanied the Lewis and...

Dog Diaries #5: Dash

by Kate Klimo & Tim Jessell

A dog's-eye view of the Mayflower voyage and the first Thanksgiving at Plymouth Colony!

English springer spaniel Dash and his furry friend Mercy--a mastiff--travel with their master, John Goodman, in search of...


by Brynn Chapman

Arabella Holmes is different than other girls her age: She doesn't fit the role of a 1900's lady. So her father, Sherlock, called in some lingering favors, and landed her a position at the Mutter Museum. The...

The Little Jane Silver 2-Book Bundle: Little Jane Silver / Little Jane and the Nameless Isle

by Adira Rotstein

These two exciting books chronicle the adventures of brave, budding young pirate Little Jane, who is related to the great Long John Silver. Little Jane experiences plenty of excitement and danger of her own....

The Blue-Eyed Aborigine

by Rosemary Hayes

It is 1629, and there is mutiny in the air aboard the Dutch ship Batavia as she plies her way towards Java with her precious cargo. Jan, a cabin boy, and Wouter, a young soldier, find themselves caught up in...

Spice and the Devil's Cave

by Agnes Danforth Hewes & Lynd Ward

Magellan, da Gama, and other 15th-century explorers spring to life in this Newbery-honored tale of the race between Portugal and Venice to control the sea route to India. Illustrations by Lynd Ward.

The Adventures of Lewis and Clark

by John Bakeless

Action-packed account of perilous journey made by undaunted men who faced hostile Indians, prairie fires, floods, famine, sub-zero weather, and other perils to chart the vast unknown lands of the Louisiana Purchase....

Sea of the Dead

by Julia Durango

Kehl hates pirates. His father, the Warrior Prince, has always told him they were responsible for his mother’s death. So when he is kidnapped by Temoc, the Pirate King, Kehl is more furious than frightened....

The Dragon's Pearl

by Devin Jordan & Jim Di Bartolo

When Niccolo Polo vanishes on an expedition to Asia and his family writes him off as dead, sixteen-year-old Marco knows that it’s up to him to rescue his father. He sets out on a dangerous journey—but it...

One Small Step

by P.B. Kerr

It's 1969, and thirteen-year-old Scott is doing all the things that normal boys do -- and also flying airplanes with his Air Force flight instructor father. When Scott successfully crash-lands a training plane,...

We Are Not Eaten by Yaks

by C. Alexander London

Eleven-year-old twins Oliver and Celia Navel could care less about adventure and they really do not like excitement. They’d rather be watching television. Unfortunately for them, their thrill-seeking parents...

Looking for Marco Polo

by Alan Armstrong & Tim Jessell

Newbery Honor–winning author Alan Armstrong’s latest book!

Eleven-year-old Mark's anthropologist father has disappeared in the Gobi desert while tracing Marco Polo’s ancient route from Venice to China....

Trouble on the Voyage

by Bob Barton

The Henrietta Maria has been trapped in the Hudson Strait for two months finally breaking free August 6, 1631 to search for a northwest passage. The crew knows it must leave Hudson Bay by early October to avoid...

Little Jane and the Nameless Isle: A Little Jane Silver Adventure

by Adira Rotstein

Little Jane Silver, the daughter of fearless pirate Long John Silver, is on a quest to the Nameless Isle -- a journey only her parents have survived. Will she rise to the task and save her parents' treasure...

Red River Rising

by B. J. Bayle

In 1813, Angus, a young Scot, and his family endure hardships as they attempt to start a new life in Canada. As they struggle to survive, they find themselves caught up in the rivalry between two fur-trading...

Raleigh's Page

by Alan Armstrong & Tim Jessell

ANDREW HAS grown up near the Plymouth docks hearing the sailors talk about America. Knowing that Andrew's heart is set on going to the new world, his father sends him up to London to serve as page in the house...