Juvenile & Young Adult / Historical / United States

Best Selling / Page 11

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete United States

 

In category

20th Century (190)

19th Century (137)

Colonial & Revolutionary Periods (64)

21st Century (12)

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (0)

Teen (1)

Young adult (0)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (480)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (1)

Italian (4)

 

Protection

All (480)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (479)

More options

March Toward the Thunder

by Joseph Bruchac

Louis Nolette, a fifteen-year-old Abenaki Indian from Canada, is recruited to fight in the northern Irish Brigade in the Civil War. Though he is too young, and neither American nor Irish, he finds the promise...


Joshua's Song

by Joan Hiatt Harlow

Boston, 1919. It’s been a terrible year for thirteen-year-old Joshua Harper. The influenza pandemic that’s sweeping the world has claimed his father’s life; his voice has changed, so he can’t sing in...


Flygirl

by Sherri L. Smith

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feels closest to him when sheÕs in the air. But as a young black woman in 1940s Louisiana, she knows the sky is off...


On The Wings of Heroes

by Richard Peck

Davy Bowman's dad looks forward to Halloween more than a kid, and Davy's brother, Bill, flies B-17s. Davy adores these two heroes and tries his best to follow their lead, especially now. World War II has invaded...


Invisible Things

by Jenny Davidson

Sixteen-year-old Sophie knows there is more to the story of her parents' death. And she's on a mission to find the truth. To aid her in solving the decades-old mystery, Sophie has enlisted her best friend, Mikael,...


Mississippi Trial, 1955

by Chris Crowe

At first Hiram is excited to visit his hometown in Mississippi. But soon after he arrives, he crosses paths with Emmett Till, a black teenager from Chicago who is also visiting for the summer, and Hiram sees...


A Voice of Her Own

by Barbara Dana

When something is most important to me and I do not want to lose it, I gather it into a poem. It is said that women must employ the needle and not the pen. But I will be a Poet! That's who I am!

Before she was...


Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Puffin Modern Classics)

by MildredD. Taylor

Winner of the Newbery Medal, this remarkably moving novel has impressed the hearts and minds of millions of readers.

Set in Mississippi at the height of the Depression, this is the story of one family's struggle...


Great

by Sara Benincasa

In this contemporary retelling of The Great Gatsby, by comedian Sara Benincasa, a teenage girl becomes entangled in the romance and drama of a Hamptons social circle and is implicated in a scandal that shakes...


School of Charm

by Lisa Ann Scott

At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool,...


The Twisted Tragedy of Miss Natalie Stewart

by Leanna Renee Hieber

I'm coming for you.

The whispers haunt her dreams and fill her waking hours with dread. Something odd is happening. Something...unnatural.

Possession of the living. Resurrection of the dead. And Natalie Stewart...


The Man Who Was Poe

by Avi

This heart-stopping historical mystery from plot-master Avi will reach the wide audience it deserves with its fresh and compelling new cover treatment! The night Edmund's twin sister, Sis, goes missing, the...


Gifts from the Sea

by Natalie Kinsey-Warnock & Judy Pederson

Quila MacFarlane is devastated by the death of her mother, especially now that it’s just her and her father on Devils Rock where her father is the lighthouse keeper. They can’t leave and almost no one ever...


Every Day After

by Laura Golden

It's been two months since Lizzie's daddy disappeared due to the awful Depression. Lizzie's praying he'll return to Bittersweet, Alabama, for her birthday. It won't feel special without him, what with Lizzie's...


Paperboy

by Vince Vawter

"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred

 

"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again

 

This...


Dear America: A City Tossed and Broken

by Judy Blundell

From National Book Award-winning author Judy Blundell, a thrilling account of the San Francisco Earthquake of 1906. When Minnie Bonner's father disappears after losing the Bonners' Philadelphia tavern, the wealthy...


Dear America: Down the Rabbit Hole

by Susan Campbell Bartoletti

Newbery Honor author Susan Campbell Bartoletti brings the story of a young girl caught up in a web of murder, lies, and the Great Fire of Chicago to bold life. In the spring of 1871, fourteen-year-old Pringle...


The Elementals

by Saundra Mitchell

In this suspenseful companion to The Vespertine and The Springsweet, the teenage children of the characters in the previous novels—bohemian film maker Kate and disabled but determined Julian—embrace their...


Confederates Don't Wear Couture

by Stephanie Kate Strohm

In this sequel to Pilgrims Don't Wear Pink, our lovable leading lady, Libby, is back in another hysterical read! This time, there's an even creepier ghost story to solve, a more dramatic love triangle to untangle,...


The Watcher in the Shadows

by Chris Moriarty & Mark Edward Geyer

Magic, mayhem, and humor abound in this riveting middle-grade adventure, the sequel to The Inquisitor's Apprentice.