Juvenile & Young Adult / Historical / United States

Best Selling / Page 4

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete United States

 

In category

20th Century (229)

19th Century (151)

Colonial & Revolutionary Periods (66)

21st Century (15)

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (3)

Teen (2)

Young adult (2)

 

Language

English (562)

French (3)

German (9)

Spanish (3)

Italian (4)

 

Protection

All (562)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (559)

More options

The Ballot Box Battle

by Emily Arnold McCully

Illustrated in full color. Just in time for the presidential election comes Caldecott medalist Emily Arnold McCully's stirring tale of a young girl's act of bravery inspired by the great Elizabeth Cady Stanton....


Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp

by Jerry Stanley

Illus. with photographs from the Dust Bowl era. This true story took place at the emergency farm-labor camp immortalized in Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath. Ostracized as "dumb Okies," the children of Dust Bowl...


The Glorious Adventures of the Sunshine Queen

by Geraldine McCaughrean

Ever since the magnificent Miss Loucien gave up teaching to join the Bright Lights Theater Company, school days have lacked a certain . . . drama . . . especially for Cissy, who longs for a life in show business,...


Pepper and Pocahontas

by Melissa L Gill

Salt and Katie's daughter, Pepper, helps Pocahontas bring peace between the Powhatan and the English. In 1611 Pepper, a small grey kitten is snatched from her parents and taken to live with the Great Chief Powhatan....


Betsy and Tacy Go Over the Big Hill

by Maud Hart Lovelace & Lois Lenski

Betsy, Tacy, and Tib can't wait to be ten. After all, getting two numbers in your age is the beginning of growing up—exciting things are bound to happen. And they do! The girls fall in love with the King of...


Betsy and Tacy Go Downtown

by Maud Hart Lovelace & Lois Lenski

Betsy, Tacy, and Tib are twelve—old enough to do lots of things...even go downtown on their own. There they see their first horseless carriage, discover the joys of the public library, and see a real play...


Incommunicado

by Randall Platt

Just about everyone is incommunicado in the small, sleepy Oregon coastal town of Sea Park during winter. Until Pearl Harbor, that is, when it springs to patriotic life. But is Ruby Opal Pearl (a.k.a. Jewels)...


Cursing Columbus

by Eve Tal

The dream was always the same: I was back in Russia. My family was sitting around the Sabbath table: Mama, Papa, baby Hannah and my brothers Lemmel and Shloyme. I was telling a story about America—there were...


Running Out of Night

by Sharon Lovejoy

A Children’s Book Review Seven Middle Grade Books for African American History Month Pick 

Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Don’t Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible...


Rush Revere and the American Revolution: Time-Travel Adventures With Exceptional Americans

by Rush Limbaugh & Kathryn Adams Limbaugh

THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION HAS BEGUN—AND RUSH REVERE, LIBERTY THE HORSE, AND THE TIME-TRAVELING CREW ARE READY TO RIDE INTO THE ACTION!

Join us on this incredible time-travel adventure!

Liberty, my wisecracking...


Blizzard: Colorado, 1886

by Kathleen Duey & Karen A. Bale

A raging snow storm creates the coldest kind of danger for two kids in this riveting tale of historical fiction, part of the Survivor series.

Haydn Sinclair hates absolutely everything about his aunt and uncle’s...


Black Angels

by Linda Beatrice Brown

The compelling story of three young orphans who must survive on their own during the Civil War. It's near the end of the war, and rumors of emancipation are swirling. Eleven-year-old Luke decides to run away...


Traitor: The Case of Benedict Arnold

by Jean Fritz

Benedict Arnold always carried things too far. As a boy he did crazy things like climbing atop a burning roof and picking a fight with the town constable. As a soldier, he was even more reckless. He was obsessed...


The Cure for Dreaming

by Cat Winters

Winters breathes new life into history once again with an atmospheric, vividly real story that includes archival photos and art from the period. Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl-a suffragist-in...


The Troubles of Johnny Cannon

by Isaiah Campbell

“A boy with a highly original voice winces his way into the bewildering world of adults during a neglected moment in American history” (Newbery Medalist Richard Peck) in this heroic coming-of-age novel.

Johnny...


On Track for Treasure

Wanderville #2

by Wendy McClure

Book two in a historically rooted series that's The Boxcar Children for a new era!

When the town sheriff discovers the exact location of “Wanderville,” the orphans who live there—Jack, Frances, Harold,...


Emily of Deep Valley: A Deep Valley Book

by Maud Hart Lovelace

“I re-read these books every year, marveling at how a world so quaint—shirtwaists! Pompadours! Merry Widow hats!—can feature a heroine who is undeniably modern.” —Laura Lippman

“There are three authors...


Carney's House Party/Winona's Pony Cart: Two Deep Valley Books

by Maud Hart Lovelace

“Some characters become your friends for life. That’s how it was for me with Betsy-Tacy.” —Judy Blume

“I am fairly certain that my independent, high-spirited grandmother must have had a childhood similar...


Halley

by Faye Gibbons

Times are hard in Depression-era Georgia mountain country. Even so, fourteen-year-old Halley Owenby, her younger brother, Robbie, and their parents, Jim and Kate, manage to get by until Jim dies suddenly in...


Death Coming Up the Hill

by Chris Crowe

A strikingly innovative and powerful story. Death Coming Up the Hill portrays the momentous events of the year 1968—the escalating war in Vietnam, the explosive Democratic Convention in Chicago, the Martin...