Juvenile & Young Adult / Historical / United States / 20th Century

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (126)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (1)

 

Category

Delete 20th Century

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (3)

Teen (3)

Young adult (0)

 

Protection

All (126)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (122)

More options

Bo at Iditarod Creek

by Kirkpatrick Hill & Leuyen Pham

Ever since five-year-old Bo can remember, she and her papas have lived in the little Alaskan mining town of Ballard Creek. Now the family must move upriver to Iditarod Creek for work at a new mine, and Bo is...


Betsy and Tacy Go Over the Big Hill

by Maud Hart Lovelace & Lois Lenski

Betsy, Tacy, and Tib can't wait to be ten. After all, getting two numbers in your age is the beginning of growing up—exciting things are bound to happen. And they do! The girls fall in love with the King of...


Betsy and Tacy Go Downtown

by Maud Hart Lovelace & Lois Lenski

Betsy, Tacy, and Tib are twelve—old enough to do lots of things...even go downtown on their own. There they see their first horseless carriage, discover the joys of the public library, and see a real play...


Cursing Columbus

by Eve Tal

The dream was always the same: I was back in Russia. My family was sitting around the Sabbath table: Mama, Papa, baby Hannah and my brothers Lemmel and Shloyme. I was telling a story about America—there were...


Picturing Alyssa

by Alison Lohans

Every time Alyssa looks at an old family portrait, she lands on an Iowa farm in 1931. The past is nothing like Alyssas unhappy life, and Alyssa finds herself wanting to live on the farm with her new friend,...


Emily of Deep Valley: A Deep Valley Book

by Maud Hart Lovelace

“I re-read these books every year, marveling at how a world so quaint—shirtwaists! Pompadours! Merry Widow hats!—can feature a heroine who is undeniably modern.” —Laura Lippman

“There are three authors...


Carney's House Party/Winona's Pony Cart: Two Deep Valley Books

by Maud Hart Lovelace

“Some characters become your friends for life. That’s how it was for me with Betsy-Tacy.” —Judy Blume

“I am fairly certain that my independent, high-spirited grandmother must have had a childhood similar...


Willie & Me

by Dan Gutman

With more than 1.5 million books sold, the Baseball Card Adventures series brings the greatest players in history to life.

Featuring black-and-white photographs and stats throughout, plus back matter separating...


Outside In

by Karen Romano Young

Chérie Witkowski is twelve, and she doesn't want to turn thirteen this year. This is the year, 1968, that everything -- absolutely everything-seems to be changing. At home her parents are expecting a new baby,...


We Were There at the First Airplane Flight

by Felix Sutton & Laszlo Matulay

A brother and sister meet Orville and Wilbur Wright and assist the inventors in realizing their dream of human flight. Reviewed by historical consultants for accuracy and illustrated with 35 dramatic drawings....


We Were There at the Battle of Gettysburg

by Alida Sims Malkus & Leonard Vosburgh

Expert-approved, illustrated novel unfolds in a small Pennsylvania town, where Confederate and Union troops converge for a decisive confrontation. A dramatic series of adventures features cameos by Lee, Lincoln,...


Born of Corruption

by Teri Brown

Returning to the atmospheric and mysterious Jazz Age world of Born of Illusion, Teri Brown's Born of Corruption is a 64-page companion digital novella about what happens when New York City's most notorious socialites,...


Invisible Things

by Jenny Davidson

Sixteen-year-old Sophie knows there is more to the story of her parents' death. And she's on a mission to find the truth. To aid her in solving the decades-old mystery, Sophie has enlisted her best friend, Mikael,...


School of Charm

by Lisa Ann Scott

At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool,...


Bo at Ballard Creek

by Kirkpatrick Hill & Leuyen Pham

It's the 1920s, and Bo was headed for an Alaska orphanage when she won the hearts of two tough gold miners who set out to raise her, enthusiastically helped by all the kind people of the nearby Eskimo village....


The Locked Garden

by Gloria Whelan

It's the year 1900, the dawn of a new century and a chance for a new beginning for Verna and Carlie, whose mother died two years ago. They are headed to their new home—the grounds of an asylum for the mentally...


Breathing Room

by Marsha Hayles

Evvy Hoffmeister is thirteen years old when her family brings her to Loon Lake Sanatorium to get cured of tuberculosis (TB). Evvy is frightened by her new surroundings; the rules to abide are harsh and the nurses...


Neil Armstrong Is My Uncle and Other Lies Muscle Man McGinty Told Me

by Nan Marino

A tender story about a tough-as-nails girl forced to take one small step towards understanding during the summer of 1969.

"Muscle Man McGinty is a squirrelly runt, a lying snake, and a pitiful excuse for a ten-year...


Bug Boy

by Eric Luper

It is the summer of 1934, and even at the height of the Great Depression, money is no object for the socialites at posh Saratoga Race Course. The trouble is times are tough for everyone else, especially penniless...


My Life with the Lincolns

by Gayle Brandeis

My dad used to be Abraham Lincoln. When I was six and learning to read, I saw his initials were A. B. E., Albert Baruch Edelman. ABE. That's when I knew.

Mina Edelman believes that she and her family are the...