Juvenile & Young Adult / Historical / United States / 20th Century

Best Selling / Page 5

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete 20th Century

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (1)

Teen (0)

Young adult (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (204)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (2)

 

Protection

All (204)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (203)

More options

Carrie's Courage: Battling the Forces of Bigotry

by Norma Jean Lutz

Time Period:  1923  For ten-year-old Carrie Moe, friendship with a Jewish immigrant is perfectly normal. So why are many of her other friends uptight about that? Sadly, in 1924, bigotry is a powerful force...


Leaving Gee's Bend

by Irene Latham

Ludelphia Bennett may be blind in one eye, but she can still put in a good stitch. Ludelphia sews all the time, especially when things go wrong. But when Mama goes into labor early and gets deathly ill, it seems...


Letters From Wolfie

by Patti Sherlock

Mark's dog Wolfie is part malamute, part German shepherd, and all heart. Mark can hardly imagine life without his big, loving canine companion. But in 1969, the Vietnam War is still raging, and when Mark learns...


Don't Talk to Me About the War

by David A. Adler

Thirteen-year-old Tommy Duncan just wants to root for the Brooklyn Dodgers and listen to his favorite radio programs. But it?s 1940, and the world is about to change. All his friend Beth wants to discuss is...


Al Capone Shines My Shoes

by Gennifer Choldenko

What do you do when your neighbors are a bunch of hit men, con men, and mad dog murderers? Well, if you're Moose Flanagan, you ask the most notorious convict of them all, Al Capone, for help. But when that convict...


Mister Boots

by Carol Emshwiller

Bobby Lassiter has some important secrets-but it's not as if anyone's paying attention. It's the middle of the Depression, and while Bobby's mother and older sister knit all day to make money, Bobby explores...


Listening for Lucca

by Suzanne Lafleur

"I'm obsessed with abandoned things." Siena's obsession began a year and a half ago, around the time her two-year-old brother Lucca stopped talking. Now Mom and Dad are moving the family from Brooklyn to Maine...


Joshua's Song

by Joan Hiatt Harlow

Boston, 1919. It’s been a terrible year for thirteen-year-old Joshua Harper. The influenza pandemic that’s sweeping the world has claimed his father’s life; his voice has changed, so he can’t sing in...


Flygirl

by Sherri L. Smith

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feels closest to him when sheÕs in the air. But as a young black woman in 1940s Louisiana, she knows the sky is off...


On The Wings of Heroes

by Richard Peck

Davy Bowman's dad looks forward to Halloween more than a kid, and Davy's brother, Bill, flies B-17s. Davy adores these two heroes and tries his best to follow their lead, especially now. World War II has invaded...


Invisible Things

by Jenny Davidson

Sixteen-year-old Sophie knows there is more to the story of her parents' death. And she's on a mission to find the truth. To aid her in solving the decades-old mystery, Sophie has enlisted her best friend, Mikael,...


Mississippi Trial, 1955

by Chris Crowe

At first Hiram is excited to visit his hometown in Mississippi. But soon after he arrives, he crosses paths with Emmett Till, a black teenager from Chicago who is also visiting for the summer, and Hiram sees...


Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Puffin Modern Classics)

by MildredD. Taylor

Winner of the Newbery Medal, this remarkably moving novel has impressed the hearts and minds of millions of readers.

Set in Mississippi at the height of the Depression, this is the story of one family's struggle...


School of Charm

by Lisa Ann Scott

At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool,...


Paperboy

by Vince Vawter

"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred

 

"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again

 

This...


Dear America: A City Tossed and Broken

by Judy Blundell

From National Book Award-winning author Judy Blundell, a thrilling account of the San Francisco Earthquake of 1906. When Minnie Bonner's father disappears after losing the Bonners' Philadelphia tavern, the wealthy...


The Elementals

by Saundra Mitchell

In this suspenseful companion to The Vespertine and The Springsweet, the teenage children of the characters in the previous novels—bohemian film maker Kate and disabled but determined Julian—embrace their...


The Watcher in the Shadows

by Chris Moriarty & Mark Edward Geyer

Magic, mayhem, and humor abound in this riveting middle-grade adventure, the sequel to The Inquisitor's Apprentice.


Bo at Ballard Creek

by Kirkpatrick Hill & Leuyen Pham

It's the 1920s, and Bo was headed for an Alaska orphanage when she won the hearts of two tough gold miners who set out to raise her, enthusiastically helped by all the kind people of the nearby Eskimo village....


The Locked Garden

by Gloria Whelan

It's the year 1900, the dawn of a new century and a chance for a new beginning for Verna and Carlie, whose mother died two years ago. They are headed to their new home—the grounds of an asylum for the mentally...