Juvenile & Young Adult / Historical / United States / 20th Century

Best Selling / Page 5

icon Subscribe to feed


Best Selling

New Releases



Delete 20th Century



Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (1)

Teen (0)

Young adult (1)





Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :



English (245)

French (2)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (2)



All (245)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (244)

More options

Letters From Wolfie

by Patti Sherlock

Mark’s dog Wolfie is part malamute, part German shepherd, and all heart. Mark can hardly imagine life without his big, loving canine companion. But in 1969, the Vietnam War is still raging, and when Mark learns...

Don't Talk to Me About the War

by David A. Adler

Thirteen-year-old Tommy Duncan just wants to root for the Brooklyn Dodgers and listen to his favorite radio programs. But it's 1940, and the world is about to change. All his friend Beth wants to discuss is...

Al Capone Shines My Shoes

by Gennifer Choldenko

Moose and the cons are about to get a lot closer in this much-anticipated sequel.

It?s 1935. Moose Flanagan lives on Alcatraz with his family, the other families of the guards, and a few hundred no-name hit...

Mister Boots

by Carol Emshwiller

Bobby Lassiter has some important secrets—but it’s not as if anyone’s paying attention. It’s the middle of the Depression, and while Bobby’s mother and older sister knit all day to make money, Bobby...

Listening for Lucca

by Suzanne Lafleur

"I'm obsessed with abandoned things." Siena's obsession began a year and a half ago, around the time her two-year-old brother Lucca stopped talking. Now Mom and Dad are moving the family from Brooklyn to Maine...

Joshua's Song

by Joan Hiatt Harlow

Boston, 1919. It’s been a terrible year for thirteen-year-old Joshua Harper. The influenza pandemic that’s sweeping the world has claimed his father’s life; his voice has changed, so he can’t sing in...


by Sherri L. Smith

Read Sherri L. Smith's posts on the Penguin Blog

Ida Mae Jones dreams of flight. Her daddy was a pilot and being black didn’t stop him from fulfilling his dreams. But her daddy’s gone now, and being a woman,...

On The Wings of Heroes

by Richard Peck

Davy Bowman’s dad looks forward to Halloween more than a kid, and Davy’s brother, Bill, flies B-17s. Davy adores these two heroes and tries his best to follow their lead, especially now. World War II has...

Invisible Things

by Jenny Davidson

Sixteen-year-old Sophie knows there is more to the story of her parents' death. And she's on a mission to find the truth. To aid her in solving the decades-old mystery, Sophie has enlisted her best friend, Mikael,...

Mississippi Trial, 1955

by Chris Crowe

As the fiftieth anniversary approaches, there's a renewed interest in this infamous 1955 murder case, which made a lasting mark on American culture, as well as the future Civil Rights Movement. Chris Crowe's...

School of Charm

by Lisa Ann Scott

At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool,...


by Vince Vawter

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." —Booklist, Starred


"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again



The Elementals

by Saundra Mitchell

In this suspenseful companion to The Vespertine and The Springsweet, the teenage children of the characters in the previous novels—bohemian film maker Kate and disabled but determined Julian—embrace their...

The Watcher in the Shadows

by Chris Moriarty & Mark Edward Geyer

Magic, mayhem, and humor abound in this riveting middle-grade adventure, the sequel to The Inquisitor's Apprentice.

Bo at Ballard Creek

by Kirkpatrick Hill & Leuyen Pham

It's the 1920s, and Bo was headed for an Alaska orphanage when she won the hearts of two tough gold miners who set out to raise her, enthusiastically helped by all the kind people of the nearby Eskimo village....

The Locked Garden

by Gloria Whelan

It's the year 1900, the dawn of a new century and a chance for a new beginning for Verna and Carlie, whose mother died two years ago. They are headed to their new home—the grounds of an asylum for the mentally...

Record Breaker

by Robin Stevenson

In 1963, cataclysmic world events threaten to overwhelm Jack as his family tries to deal with the death of his baby sister.

Out of The Easy

by Ruta Sepetys

“A haunting peek at the life of a teenage girl in 1950s New Orleans.”--Entertainment Weekly

It’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-year-old Josie Moraine is...

Navigating Early

by Clare Vanderpool

“Just the sort of book that saves lives by igniting a passion for reading.” —James Patterson


“Reminiscent of Huckleberry Finn.” —The Wall Street Journal


A Michael L. Printz Honor Winner



Holly Jean and the Secret of Razorback Ridge

by Bonnie Compton Hanson

When her father is drafted during World War II, Holly Jean Roberts must leave the big city of Cincinnati to live with her granny in Eastern Kentucky mountains. Life is anything but boring on the farm. There...