Juvenile & Young Adult / Short Stories

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (340)

French (51)

German (13)

Spanish (232)

Italian (19)

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Audience

Young adult (6)

Teen (1)

Advanced reader (3)

Beginner reader (1)

 

Protection

All (340)

DRM Free (100)

DRM (240)

More options

Cautionary Tales & Bad Child's Book of Beasts

by Hilaire Belloc

Adored by readers of all ages, these classics feature witty stories, rhymes, and hilarious drawings of the fates that befall naughty children, plus an A-to-Z bestiary with droll observations on wildlife.


The Book of Pirates

by Howard Pyle

"The Ghost of Captain Brand," "Tom Chist and the Treasure Box," "Jack Ballister’s Fortunes," "The Ruby of Kishmoor," and other rip-roaring adventures of swashbuckling pirates. 63 illustrations by the author....


Nothing Real Volume 2: A Collection of Stories

by Claire Needell

The second of three digital-only short story collections from teacher and writer for The New Yorker Claire Needell, about coming of age in contemporary America. These original stories are refreshingly honest,...


Goosh Gosh from the Lilac Kitchen

by Valerie Connelly

When a child says to a grandparent, "Tell me a story," and adds the idea "from your childhood," the grandparent is blessed and (only gently) cursed at the same time. Suddenly, the young years of life flash in...


Resurrection Bay

by Neal Shusterman

From New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman comes a thrilling, spine-tingling 32-page original short story that's perfect for fans of Unwind and UnWholly.

Bones. They know the call of the ice.

Anika...


Familiar and Haunting

by Philippa Pearce

Familiar

Here are stories of everyday life, as familiar as a piece of rope and

... as haunting as fear: Mike knows that he can't swing over the river on the knotted rope, but with everyone watching him, he has...


NASTYbook

by Barry Yourgrau

Book description to come.


Athletic Shorts

by Chris Crutcher

These six powerful short stories chronicle bits of the lives of characters, major and minor, who have walked the rugged terrain of Chris Crutcher's earlier works. They also introduce some new and unforgettable...


Messengers From a New World

by Reyna Aldrete

Maria de los Angeles searches for true love. In that process, she discovers herself through communication with a new world, with nature and with the messengers. Her childhood environment, shaped by the precious...


Defy the Dark

by Saundra Mitchell, Aprilynne Pike, Carrie Ryan & Rachel Hawkins et al.

The seventeen original stories in Defy the Dark, an eerie, mind-bending YA anthology, could only take place in darkness.

 

Open the pages and discover: A creepy guy who stares too long. The secrets of the core...


Unnatural Creatures

by Neil Gaiman

Unnatural Creatures is a collection of short stories about the fantastical things that exist only in our minds—collected and introduced by beloved New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman.

 

The sixteen...


I LIKE WINTER

by Magdalena Soldado Mérida, Magdalena Soldado & Jacobo Muñiz

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


A BABY BROTHER?

by Margarita Mainé Menéndez, Margarita Mainé & Mabel Piérola

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


A CHAMELEON IN CAT SCHOOL

by Roberto Aliaga Sánchez & Roger Olmos

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


THE CRAZY GAME

by Douglas Wright

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


Annabel

by Lauren Oliver

Lena's mother, Annabel, has always been a mystery—a ghost in Lena's past. Until now.

Discover her secrets in Lauren Oliver's brilliant original digital story set in the world of New York Times bestsellers Delirium...


Advanced Chemistry

by Jack G. Huekels

The most of our knowledge of electricity has been gained through its offspring, magnetism. A body entirely devoid of electricity, is a body dead. Magnetism is apparent in many things including the human race,...


50 Must Read Classics for Children

by Lucy Maud Montgomery, Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont, E.T.A. Hoffmann & Kenneth Grahame et al.

  • A Christmas Carol por Charles Dickens
  • The Little Prince por Antoine De Saint-Exupéry
  • The Life and Adventures of Robinson Crusoe por Daniel Defoe
  • The Secret Garden por Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • The Ice-Maiden...


Cruisin'

by Sarah Mlynowski

From the critically acclaimed author of Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have) and the Magic in Manhattan series comes a fun short story about taking the plunge on the high seas, where not everything...


Queer Little Folks

by Harriet Beecher Stowe

First published in 1897, Harriet Beecher Stowe's "Queer Little Folks" is a wonderful children's classic - a collection of moral stories told by animals in the woods. The wittily written stories explore various...