Juvenile & Young Adult / Short Stories

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (322)

French (33)

German (70)

Spanish (154)

Italian (14)

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (1)

Advanced reader (1)

Teen (1)

Young adult (4)

 

Protection

All (322)

DRM Free (82)

DRM (240)

More options

Altogether, One at a Time

by E.L. Konigsburg, Mercer Mayer, Gail E. Haley & Gary E. Parker et al.

Four funny and perceptive short stories in which young people cope with difficult situations and in doing so learn something that changes their lives.


Cautionary Tales & Bad Child's Book of Beasts

by Hilaire Belloc

Adored by readers of all ages, these classics feature witty stories, rhymes, and hilarious drawings of the fates that befall naughty children, plus an A-to-Z bestiary with droll observations on wildlife.


Every Living Thing

by Cynthia Rylant & S.D. Schindler

Here are twelve deeply moving short stories from the perceptive pen of Cynthia Rylant. Each captures the moment when someone's life changes -- when an animal causes a human being to see things in a different...


The Happy Prince and Other Fairy Tales

by Oscar Wilde

Nine charming, sensitive stories: "The Happy Prince," "The Selfish Giant," "The Star-Child," "The Nightingale and the Rose," "The Birthday of the Infanta," "The Remarkable Rocket," "The Devoted Friend," more....


The Book of Pirates

by Howard Pyle

"The Ghost of Captain Brand," "Tom Chist and the Treasure Box," "Jack Ballister’s Fortunes," "The Ruby of Kishmoor," and other rip-roaring adventures of swashbuckling pirates. 63 illustrations by the author....


The Canine Connection

by Betsy Hearne

Meet Willa, a rebellious teenager who cannot resist adopting canine misfits, and Sam, who follows a dog and finds a girlfriend. Fiona's Border collie knows the secret her family has never guessed. Sly hopes...


Lawful Interception

by Cory Doctorow

An all-new tale of Marcus Yallow, the hero of the bestselling novels Little Brother and Homeland -- as he deals with the aftermath of a devastating Oakland earthquake, with the help of friends, hacker allies,...


Resurrection Bay

by Neal Shusterman

From New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman comes a thrilling, spine-tingling 32-page original short story that's perfect for fans of Unwind and UnWholly.

Bones. They know the call of the ice.

Anika...


Familiar and Haunting

by Philippa Pearce

Familiar

Here are stories of everyday life, as familiar as a piece of rope and

... as haunting as fear: Mike knows that he can't swing over the river on the knotted rope, but with everyone watching him, he has...


NASTYbook

by Barry Yourgrau

Book description to come.


Athletic Shorts

by Chris Crutcher

These six powerful short stories chronicle bits of the lives of characters, major and minor, who have walked the rugged terrain of Chris Crutcher's earlier works. They also introduce some new and unforgettable...


Defy the Dark

by Saundra Mitchell, Aprilynne Pike, Carrie Ryan & Rachel Hawkins et al.

The seventeen original stories in Defy the Dark, an eerie, mind-bending YA anthology, could only take place in darkness.

 

Open the pages and discover: A creepy guy who stares too long. The secrets of the core...


Unnatural Creatures

by Neil Gaiman

Unnatural Creatures is a collection of short stories about the fantastical things that exist only in our minds—collected and introduced by beloved New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman.

 

The sixteen...


THE HAIRY AND HORRIBLE MONSTER IS COMING

by Paloma Bordons Gangas, Paloma Bordons & Maria Espluga

When dad turns out the light, everything is very dark and quiet. Horrible things can happen on dark and quiet nights. For instance, the Hairy and Horrible Monster of Darkness can come! This collection of beautifully...


I LIKE WINTER

by Magdalena Soldado Mérida, Magdalena Soldado & Jacobo Muñiz

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


A BABY BROTHER?

by Margarita Mainé Menéndez, Margarita Mainé & Mabel Piérola

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


A SCAREDY CAT LION TAMER

by Núria Homs, Núria Homs Serra & Mercè Canals

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


A CHAMELEON IN CAT SCHOOL

by Roberto Aliaga, Roberto Aliaga Sánchez & Roger Olmos

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


THE CRAZY GAME

by Douglas Wright

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


Annabel

by Lauren Oliver

Lena's mother, Annabel, has always been a mystery—a ghost in Lena's past. Until now.

Discover her secrets in Lauren Oliver's brilliant original digital story set in the world of New York Times bestsellers Delirium...