Juvenile & Young Adult / Short Stories

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (314)

French (29)

German (7)

Spanish (150)

Italian (18)

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Audience

Young adult (3)

Advanced reader (1)

Beginner reader (1)

 

Protection

All (314)

DRM Free (78)

DRM (236)

More options

The Complete Fables

by Aesop

Timeless tales of inspiration and enlightenment In ancient Greece, a storyteller named Aesop captivated his listeners with tales both beautiful and instructive. Thousands of years later, his fables—from “The...


Cautionary Tales & Bad Child's Book of Beasts

by Hilaire Belloc

Adored by readers of all ages, these classics feature witty stories, rhymes, and hilarious drawings of the fates that befall naughty children, plus an A-to-Z bestiary with droll observations on wildlife.


The Happy Prince and Other Fairy Tales

by Oscar Wilde

Nine charming, sensitive stories: "The Happy Prince," "The Selfish Giant," "The Star-Child," "The Nightingale and the Rose," "The Birthday of the Infanta," "The Remarkable Rocket," "The Devoted Friend," more....


The Book of Pirates

by Howard Pyle

"The Ghost of Captain Brand," "Tom Chist and the Treasure Box," "Jack Ballister’s Fortunes," "The Ruby of Kishmoor," and other rip-roaring adventures of swashbuckling pirates. 63 illustrations by the author....


Goosh Gosh from the Lilac Kitchen

by Valerie Connelly

When a child says to a grandparent, "Tell me a story," and adds the idea "from your childhood," the grandparent is blessed and (only gently) cursed at the same time. Suddenly, the young years of life flash in...


Resurrection Bay

by Neal Shusterman

From New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman comes a thrilling, spine-tingling 32-page original short story that's perfect for fans of Unwind and UnWholly.

Bones. They know the call of the ice.

Anika...


Familiar and Haunting

by Philippa Pearce

Familiar

Here are stories of everyday life, as familiar as a piece of rope and

... as haunting as fear: Mike knows that he can't swing over the river on the knotted rope, but with everyone watching him, he has...


NASTYbook

by Barry Yourgrau

Book description to come.


Athletic Shorts

by Chris Crutcher

These six powerful short stories chronicle bits of the lives of characters, major and minor, who have walked the rugged terrain of Chris Crutcher's earlier works. They also introduce some new and unforgettable...


Messengers From a New World

by Reyna Aldrete

Maria de los Angeles searches for true love. In that process, she discovers herself through communication with a new world, with nature and with the messengers. Her childhood environment, shaped by the precious...


Defy the Dark

by Saundra Mitchell, Aprilynne Pike, Carrie Ryan & Rachel Hawkins et al.

The seventeen original stories in Defy the Dark, an eerie, mind-bending YA anthology, could only take place in darkness.

 

Open the pages and discover: A creepy guy who stares too long. The secrets of the core...


Unnatural Creatures

by Neil Gaiman

Unnatural Creatures is a collection of short stories about the fantastical things that exist only in our minds—collected and introduced by beloved New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman.

 

The sixteen...


THE HAIRY AND HORRIBLE MONSTER IS COMING

by Paloma Bordons Gangas, Paloma Bordons & Maria Espluga

When dad turns out the light, everything is very dark and quiet. Horrible things can happen on dark and quiet nights. For instance, the Hairy and Horrible Monster of Darkness can come! This collection of beautifully...


I LIKE WINTER

by Magdalena Soldado Mérida, Magdalena Soldado & Jacobo Muñiz

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


A BABY BROTHER?

by Margarita Mainé Menéndez, Margarita Mainé & Mabel Piérola

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


A SCAREDY CAT LION TAMER

by Núria Homs, Núria Homs Serra & Mercè Canals

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


A CHAMELEON IN CAT SCHOOL

by Roberto Aliaga, Roberto Aliaga Sánchez & Roger Olmos

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


THE CRAZY GAME

by Douglas Wright

This collection of beautifully drawn stories puts education first and foremost. The stories teach children about friendship, tolerance, self-esteem and respect. Original stories by renowned authors and illustrators....


Annabel

by Lauren Oliver

Lena's mother, Annabel, has always been a mystery—a ghost in Lena's past. Until now.

Discover her secrets in Lauren Oliver's brilliant original digital story set in the world of New York Times bestsellers Delirium...


Cruisin'

by Sarah Mlynowski

From the critically acclaimed author of Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have) and the Magic in Manhattan series comes a fun short story about taking the plunge on the high seas, where not everything...