Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Social Situations / Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (68)

French (5)

German (5)

Spanish (8)

Italian (0)

 

Category

Delete Drugs, Alcohol, Substance Abuse

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (0)

Teen (0)

Young adult (0)

 

Protection

All (68)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (67)

More options

Bleed Like Me

by C. Desir

From the author of Fault Line comes an edgy and heartbreaking novel about two self-destructive teens in a Sid and Nancy–like romance full of passion, chaos, and dyed hair.

Seventeen-year-old Amelia Gannon (just...


Destroy

by Jason Myers

Discover how Jason Myers’s fan favorite character, internationally bestselling author James Morgan, got his start in this digital enovella set in the world of Exit Here.

In Destroy, James deals with writer’s...


The Gospel of Winter

by Brendan Kiely

“In a lyrical and hard-hitting exploration of betrayal and healing, the son of a Connecticut socialite comes to terms with his abuse at the hands of a beloved priest” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).

As...


Jay's Journal

by Anonymous & Beatrice Sparks

Jay was a sweet, bright high school student who cared about his grades and his friends. He had ambitions. He was happy. And he thought he could handle anything.

He was wrong.

When Jay falls in with a crowd that's...


When I Was the Greatest

by Jason Reynolds & Michael Frost

In Bed Stuy, New York, a small misunderstanding can escalate into having a price on your head—even if you’re totally clean. This gritty, triumphant debut that Publishers Weekly calls “a funny and rewarding...


The Mission

by Jason Myers

Kaden Norris's life is shattered when his older brother-- his best friend and hero-- is killed in Iraq. He decides to fulfill his brother's last wishes left to him in a letter, urging him to break out of his...


wtf

by Peter Lerangis

Two parties, six alternating points of view, and three letters that says it all--WTF!


Beautiful

by Amy Reed

When thirteen-year-old Cassie moves to a suburb of Seattle, she is determined to leave her boring, good-girl existence behind. She chooses some dangerous new friends and is quickly caught up in their fast-paced...


If I Grow Up

by Todd Strasser

"WHEN YOU GREW UP IN THE PROJECTS, THERE WERE NO CHOICES. NO GOOD ONES, AT LEAST."

In the Frederick Douglass Project where DeShawn lives, daily life is ruled by drugs and gang violence. Many teenagers drop...


Crank

by Ellen Hopkins

Kristina Georgia Snow is the perfect daughter: gifted high school junior, quiet, never any trouble. But on a trip to visit her absentee father, Kristina disappears and Bree takes her place. Bree is the exact...


Leap of Faith

by Jamie Blair

Can true love be built on lies? A teen on the run seeks relief and redemption in this gripping, “compulsively readable” (School Library Journal) romantic read that Kirkus Reviews calls a “marvelous debut,...


Street Pharm

by Allison Van Diepen

Ty Johnson knows survival. Since inheriting his pop’s business at sixteen, Ty’s developed smarts, skills, and mad discipline. The supply game’s in his blood. And life is pretty sweet when you’re on top....


Takedown

by Allison Van Diepen

A teen infiltrates a drug ring to settle a vendetta in this fast-paced novel from the author of Street Pharm and Snitch.

Darren took the fall for Diamond Tony, the notorious head of the city’s drug cartel....


Raven

by Allison Van Diepen

From the author of Street Pharm and Snitch comes an acclaimed urban fantasy that tests the limits of love and immortality.

Zin dances with fire in every step, speaks with a honey-sweet voice, and sees with eyes...


Autobiography of My Dead Brother

by Walter Dean Myers & Christopher Myers

The thing was that me and Rise were blood brothers, but sometimes I really didn't know him. . . .

As Jesse fills his sketchbook with drawings and portraits of Rise, he tries to make sense of the complexities...


Nirvana's Children

by Ranulfo

Book description to come.


A Room on Lorelei Street

by Mary E. Pearson

Zoe's arms prickle. She turns, trying to take it all in. The ache inside returns. It is not for her. It is too much. A real room with real floors and walls. A room for sleeping, and reading and dancing and ....


Out of Reach

by Carrie Arcos

How do you find someone who doesn’t want to be found? A girl searches for her missing addict brother while confronting her own secrets in this darkly lyrical novel, a National Book Award Finalist.

Rachel has...


Mommy's Gone to Treatment

by Denise D. Crosson & Mike Motz

Parent guide on how to talk to children about addiction and treatment.

Brightly illustrated, easy-to-read story.

Optional coloring book.


Smashed

by Lisa Luedeke

A field hockey star grapples with addiction in this riveting read perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak.

Katie Martin wants to leave her small-town loneliness behind forever. She is a field hockey...