Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Social Situations / Prejudice & Racism

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (108)

French (5)

German (5)

Spanish (5)

Italian (18)

 

Category

Delete Prejudice & Racism

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (2)

Teen (0)

Young adult (1)

 

Protection

All (108)

DRM Free (22)

DRM (86)

More options

I, Dred Scott: A Fictional Slave Narrative Based on the Life and Legal Precedent of Dred Scott

by Shelia P. Moses & Bonnie Christensen

Born into slavery in Virginia in the late 1700s, Dred Scott had little to look forward to in life. But he was fortunate in two ways: His first owner was fairly kind to him, and he grew up with his owner's children,...


Stella by Starlight

by Sharon M. Draper

When the Ku Klux Klan’s unwelcome reappearance rattles Stella’s segregated southern town, bravery battles prejudice in this New York Times bestselling Depression-era “novel that soars” (The New York...


Casey Templeton Mysteries 2-Book Bundle: Hate Cell / Old Bones

by Gwen Molnar

Thirteen-year-old Albertan Casey Templeton has a nose for adventure and sniffs out two different but dangerous crimes in this special 2-book series bundle.


The Partials Sequence Complete Collection

by Dan Wells

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells. This collection...


Gone Crazy in Alabama

by Rita Williams-Garcia

Coretta Scott King Award winner * ALA Notable Book * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors’ Choice * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year...


Infinite Sky

by C. J. Flood

True love is never lost—but how much loss can it endure? Iris confronts the complexities of family and prejudice in this exquisite and searing debut novel whose “understated, gently embellished prose cuts...


Call Me By My Name

by John Ed Bradley

From former football star and bestselling author John Ed Bradley comes a searing look at love, life, and football in the face of racial adversity. “Heartbreaking,” says Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Speak...


Camo Girl

by Kekla Magoon

Set in the modern-day suburbs of Las Vegas, a young girl finds herself caught between two worlds. She is drawn to the popular new boy—the only other black student in the school—but also loyal to her BFF,...


Saving Kabul Corner

by N. H. Senzai

From Afghanistan to America, family matters most in this “empowering mystery” (Publishers Weekly), a companion to Shooting Kabul, which Kirkus Reviews called a “story with much to offer.”

A rough and...


The Secret of the Sealed Room

by Bailey MacDonald

The play’s the thing . . .

To the outside world, Tom Pryne is an orphan traveling Elizabethan England with his uncle’s theater troupe. In actuality, “Tom” is Viola, in disguise because her parents’...


Weedflower

by Cynthia Kadohata

Twelve-year-old Sumiko feels her life has been made up of two parts: before Pearl Harbor and after it. The good part and the bad part. Raised on a flower farm in California, Sumiko is used to being the only...


Beautiful

by Amy Reed

When thirteen-year-old Cassie moves to a suburb of Seattle, she is determined to leave her boring, good-girl existence behind. She chooses some dangerous new friends and is quickly caught up in their fast-paced...


The Rock and the River

by Kekla Magoon

The Time: 1968

The Place: Chicago

For thirteen-year-old Sam it's not easy being the son of known civil rights activist Roland Childs. Especially when his older (and best friend), Stick, begins to drift away...


The Legend of Buddy Bush

by Shelia P. Moses

The day Uncle Goodwin "Buddy" Bush came from Harlem all the way back home to Rehobeth Road in Rich Square, North Carolina, is the day Pattie Mae Sheals' life changes forever.

Pattie Mae adores and admires Uncle...


Sunday You Learn How to Box

by Bil Wright

Strength and resilience fuel an urban teen’s fight for survival in this acclaimed novel from Bil Wright that “delivers a knock-out punch” (Venus Magazine).

Fourteen-year-old Louis Bowman lives in a boxing...


Ashes of Roses

by MJ Auch

The honest and compelling story of a young girl's newfound independence, from her entrance into a new country to her frightening involvement in the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire of 1911.

My heart filled with...


Angry Management

by Chris Crutcher

Every kid in this group wants to fly. Every kid in this group has too much ballast.

Mr. Nak's Angry Management group is a place for misfits. A place for stories. And, man, does this crew have stories.

There's...


A Moment Comes

by Jennifer Bradbury

Before India was divided, three teens, each from wildly different backgrounds, cross paths. And then, in one moment, their futures become irrevocably intertwined.

Tariq. Anupreet. Margaret. As different as their...


No Turning Back: A Novel of South Africa

by Beverley Naidoo

Escaping from his violent stepfather, twelve-year-old Sipho heads for Johannesburg, where he has heard that gangs of children live on the streets. Surviving hunger and bitter-cold winter nights is hard'but learning...


Borderline

by Allan Stratton

The truth is closing in.

Life's not easy for Sami Sabiri since his dad stuck him at a private school where he's the only Muslim kid. But it's about to get a lot worse.

When Sami catches his father in a lie, he...