Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Social Situations / Prejudice & Racism

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (70)

French (5)

German (5)

Spanish (5)

Italian (17)

 

Category

Delete Prejudice & Racism

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (2)

Teen (0)

Young adult (0)

 

Protection

All (70)

DRM Free (22)

DRM (48)

More options

Casey Templeton Mysteries 2-Book Bundle: Hate Cell / Old Bones

by Gwen Molnar

Thirteen-year-old Albertan Casey Templeton has a nose for adventure and sniffs out two different but dangerous crimes in this special 2-book series bundle.


The Partials Sequence Complete Collection

by Dan Wells

For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells. This collection...


Gone Crazy in Alabama

by Rita Williams-Garcia

Coretta Scott King Award winner * ALA Notable Book * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors’ Choice * Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year...


The Secret of the Sealed Room

by Bailey MacDonald

The play’s the thing . . .

To the outside world, Tom Pryne is an orphan traveling Elizabethan England with his uncle’s theater troupe. In actuality, “Tom” is Viola, in disguise because her parents’...


The Rock and the River

by Kekla Magoon

The Time: 1968

The Place: Chicago

For thirteen-year-old Sam it's not easy being the son of known civil rights activist Roland Childs. Especially when his older (and best friend), Stick, begins to drift away...


Ashes of Roses

by MJ Auch

The honest and compelling story of a young girl's newfound independence, from her entrance into a new country to her frightening involvement in the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire of 1911.

My heart filled with...


Angry Management

by Chris Crutcher

Every kid in this group wants to fly. Every kid in this group has too much ballast.

Mr. Nak's Angry Management group is a place for misfits. A place for stories. And, man, does this crew have stories.

There's...


No Turning Back: A Novel of South Africa

by Beverley Naidoo

Escaping from his violent stepfather, twelve-year-old Sipho heads for Johannesburg, where he has heard that gangs of children live on the streets. Surviving hunger and bitter-cold winter nights is hard'but learning...


Borderline

by Allan Stratton

The truth is closing in.

Life's not easy for Sami Sabiri since his dad stuck him at a private school where he's the only Muslim kid. But it's about to get a lot worse.

When Sami catches his father in a lie, he...


Running Loose

by Chris Crutcher

Louie Banks has it made.

He's got a starting spot on the football team, good friends, and a smart, beautiful girlfriend who loves him as much as he loves her.

Early in the fall, he sees all his ideas of fair play...


Guardian

by Julius Lester

There are times when a tree can no longer withstand the pain inflicted on it, and the wind will take pity on that tree and topple it over in a mighty storm. All the other trees who witnessed the evil look down...


The Liberty Circle

by Phil Campagna

Life at home isn't easy for sixteen-year-old Corey. When he sees an ad for a retreat called Camp Liberty, he can't wait to get away. But Corey has no idea of what he's in for, as he and his fellow campers are...


Trial By Fire

by Sheila Dalton

Raised by a white mother and never having known his native father, Nathan must cope with prejudice and stereotypes. When he meets Sally, he finds someone who believes in him. But when Sally's house torched by...


My Life with the Lincolns

by Gayle Brandeis

My dad used to be Abraham Lincoln. When I was six and learning to read, I saw his initials were A. B. E., Albert Baruch Edelman. ABE. That's when I knew.

Mina Edelman believes that she and her family are the...


Hate Cell: A Casey Templeton Mystery

by Gwen Molnar

When 14-year-old Casey Templeton discovers that his new town of Richford is harbouring a vicious cell of white racists who are targeting anyone they deem "alien" and that his science teacher, Mr. Deverell, is...


Las Soldaderas

by Elena Poniatowska

The photographs of Las Soldaderas and Elena Poniatowska’s remarkable commentary rescue the women of the Mexican Revolution from the dust and oblivion of history. These are the Adelitas and Valentinas celebrated...


Railroad of Courage

by Dan Rubenstein & Nancy Dyson

This young reader novel about the Underground Railroad begins when Rebecca, a twelve-year-old slave in South Carolina, hears that Grower Brown plans to sell her father to another grower. Unwilling to accept...


Betty Before X

by Ilyasah Shabazz & Renee Watson

In Detroit, 1945, eleven-year-old Betty’s house doesn’t quite feel like home. She believes her mother loves her, but she can’t shake the feeling that her mother doesn’t want her. Church helps those worries...


A Dangerous Crossing

by Jane Mitchell

Ghalib doesn't want to leave his home. But Syria has become too dangerous, and his family has no choice but to flee. Together they start out on a terrible journey that leads them through dark and dangerous places....


White Lies

by Mark O'Sullivan

Nance, a young black girl, is trying to piece together the true story of her adoption, beginning with a newly-discovered photograph of herself as a baby. OD, her boyfriend, is struggling to cope with his crumbling...