Juvenile & Young Adult / Themes / Social Situations / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (208)

French (10)

German (13)

Spanish (12)

Italian (1)

 

Category

Delete Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

 

Age

Early childhood (0)

Beginner reader (0)

Advanced reader (1)

Teen (2)

Young adult (1)

 

Protection

All (208)

DRM Free (71)

DRM (137)

More options

Where Wicked Starts

by Elizabeth Stuckey-French & Patricia Henley

When stepsisters Nick and Luna suspect that a girl is being held captive, they set out to rescue her.


Throwaway Girl

by Kristine Scarrow

Since she was thirteen years old, Andy Burton has learned about survival at Haywood House, a group home for girls. Now almost eighteen, Andy must find a new home. Can she build a life for herself and find happiness?...


Blackbird Fly

by Erin Entrada Kelly & Betsy Peterschmidt

Future rock star or friendless misfit? That’s no choice at all. In this acclaimed novel, twelve-year-old Apple grapples with being different; with friends and backstabbers; and with following her dreams. Publishers...


Cobwebs

by Karen Romano Young

A girl walks across the Brooklyn Bridge, a backpack full of knitting slung over her shoulder, a green fish kite in her hand.

A boy balances on the bridge's crisscross webbing, waiting for the girl to pass.

Are...


Ballet School Confidential: The Complete 3-Book Bundle: Love You, Hate You / I Forgot to Tell You / You're So Sweet

by Charis Marsh

This special three-book bundle follows four ballet prodigies as they face several gruelling semesters at a prestigious dance academy. Will they triumph with their self-esteem, friendships, and will to dance...


Maeve on the Red Carpet

by Annie Bryant

It's Maeve's chance to be a star -- and to see up close and personal what fame and fortune can do to a person.


Freaked Out

by Annie Bryant

Julia Faber's Hawaiian-themed birthday bash is the talk of Abigail Adams Junior High, but one of the Beacon Street Girls doesn't get an invitation. Should the others be loyal to their slighted friend and miss...


Crush Alert

by Annie Bryant

Meet the Beacon Street Girls...They're real, they're fun - they're just like you!

Love is in the air at Abigail Adams Junior High. There's a big dance coming up, and the BSG are having fun thinking up dream...


The Life and Times of Benny Alvarez

by Peter Johnson

This heartfelt story about school, friendship, and family is perfect for readers who can't get enough of such middle grade favorites as Jerry Spinelli and Gary D. Schmidt. From acclaimed author Peter Johnson,...


All Alone in the Universe

by Lynne Rae Perkins

"Before last summer Maureen and I were best friends....At least I think we were. I don't know what happened exactly. As some people who get hit by trucks sometimes say,'I didn't see anything coming.'"

When her...


Kim: Empty Inside: The Diary of an Anonymous Teenager

by Beatrice Sparks

I am so scared.

I feel like I'm silently screaming for help

and no one pays any attention of tries to hear me.

I can't control anything anymore.

It's all out to get me!

When Kim can't handle things, she eats. Then...


The Hidden Boy

by Jon Berkeley

You are the lucky winner of a Blue Moon Once-in-a-Lifetime Adventure. It’ll be the trip of a lifetime! The tour leaves from the Blue Moon office at 11 p.m. sharp. Groups of seven only. No pets.

When the Flints...


New Kid

by Tim Green

New York Times bestselling author and former NFL defensive end Tim Green delivers another baseball tale that will keep kids on the edge of their seats. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman's Baseball...


Smiles to Go

by Jerry Spinelli

What is stargazer, skateboarder, chess champ, pepperoni pizza eater, older brother, sister hater, best friend, first kisser, science geek, control freak Will Tuppence so afraid of in this great big universe?...


One Fat Summer

by Robert Lipsyte

For Bobby Marks, summer does not equal fun.

While most people are happy to take off their heavy jackets and long pants, Bobby can't even button his jeans or reach over his belly to touch his toes. Spending the...


The Year of Billy Miller

by Kevin Henkes

A 2014 Newbery Honor Book

A New York Times Bestseller

Award-winning, nationally bestselling author Kevin Henkes introduces second-grader Billy Miller in this fast-paced and funny story about friendship, sibling...


The Real Boy

by Anne Ursu & Erin McGuire

National Book Award Longlist * Bank Street Children's Book Committee Best Book of the Year

"Beautifully written and elegantly structured, this fantasy is as real as it gets."—Franny Billingsley, author of Chime...


Warbird

by Jennifer Maruno

In 1647, ten-year-old Etienne yearns for a life of adventure. He meets an orphan destined for Fort Sainte-Marie. Making the most impulsive decision of his life, Etienne replaces the orphan and paddles off with...


Running Scared

by Brenda Chapman

Feeling somehow to blame for her father's absence, thirteen-year-old Jennifer Bannon struggles to hang on to her dream that he will return and they can be a family again. However, hope quickly turns to horror...


The Minstrel Boy

by Sharon Stewart

David Baird, a talented young rock musician, accompanies his estranged father to Wales. Fleeing after a quarrel, David has a bizarre motorcycle accident which hurls him back in time to medieval Prydein.