Literary collections

Best Selling / Page 35

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary collections

 

In category

Essays (683)

American (206)

Letters (170)

Asian (103)

English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh (82)

Continental European (82)

African (46)

Australian & Oceanian (46)

Ancient, Classical & Medieval (40)

Middle Eastern (24)

Canadian (17)

Caribbean & Latin American (16)

Russian & Former Soviet Union (12)

Native American (6)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (1861)

French (147)

German (2)

Spanish (132)

Italian (41)

 

Protection

All (1861)

DRM Free (101)

DRM (1753)

More options

China's New Diplomacy: Rationale, Strategies and Significance

by Zhiqun Zhu

This fully revised second edition covers Chinese initiatives in the Middle East, Latin America and the Caribbean, Africa, Central Asia, Southeast Asia and the South Pacific and studies China's current efforts...


Averroes and Hegel on Philosophy and Religion

by Catarina Belo

Comparing Averroes' and Hegel's positions on the relation between philosophy and religion, this book explores the relation between faith and reason in a medieval Islamic and a modern Christian context. Through...


Collision of Empires: Italy's Invasion of Ethiopia and its International Impact

by G. Bruce Strang

Italy's invasion of Ethiopia in 1935 marked a turning point in interwar Europe. The last great European colonial conquest in Africa, the conflict represented an enormous gamble for the Fascist dictator Benito...


The American Experiment and the Idea of Democracy in British Culture, 1776-1914

by Ella Dzelzainis & Ruth Livesey

Bringing together political theorists, historians and literary scholars, this volume explores the idea of American democracy in nineteenth-century Britain and traces an intellectual history of Anglo-American...


Ways of Being Male: Representing Masculinities in Children's Literature: Representing Masculinities in Children's Literature

by John Stephens

Given the substantial impact of feminism on children's literature and culture during the last quarter century, it comes as no surprise that gender studies have focused predominantly on issues of female representation....


Testimony: Crises of Witnessing in Literature, Psychoanalysis and History

by Shoshana Felman & Dori Laub

In this unique collection, Yale literary critic Shoshana Felman and psychoanalyst Dori Laub examine the nature and function of memory and the act of witnessing, both in their general relation to the acts of...


Thomas Hardy: The Complete Novels in One Sitting

by Joelle Herr

Oversized mini book packed with synopses and character profiles from Thomas Hardy's 14 novels, complemented by two-color illustrations throughout.


The Best Australian Essays 2013

by Robert Manne

In The Best Australian Essays 2013, Robert Manne draws out this year's most distinctive voices. This superb collection encompasses the personal, with Robert Dessaix's distant summer of love and touch-typing...


Inside the Zhivago Storm

by Paolo Mancosu

In Inside the Zhivago Storm. The Editorial Adventures of Pasternak’s Masterpiece, Paolo Mancosu, Professor of Philosophy at the University of California at Berkeley, provides a riveting account of the story...


A Prayer Journal

by Flannery O'Connor & W. A. Sessions

“I would like to write a beautiful prayer,” writes the young Flannery O’Connor in this deeply spiritual journal, recently discovered among her papers in Georgia. “There is a whole sensible world around...


Playing House: Notes of a Reluctant Mother

by Lauren Slater

Acclaimed author Lauren Slater ruminates on what it means to be family.

 

Lauren Slater’s rocky childhood left her cold to the idea of ever creating a family of her own, but a husband, two dogs, two children,...


The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief

by James Wood

This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role and...


Writers Gone Wild: The Feuds, Frolics, and Follies of Literature's Great Adventurers, Drunkards, Lovers, Iconoclasts, and Misanthropes

by Bill Peschel

Truth is stranger than fiction.

If you've imagined famous writers to be desk-bound drudges, think again. Writers Gone Wild rips back the (book) covers and reveals the seamy underside of the writing life.

...


American Scriptures: An Anthology of Sacred Writings

by Laurie F. Maffly-Kipp

A groundbreaking collection of sacred Christian writings of American origin from Mormons, Shakers, Christian Scientists, and others.

"Scripture" is any work in which the authors, translators, editors, or discoverers...


Book Book

by Fiona Farrell

An evocative and moving mix of memoir and fiction from an award-winning novelist. As war is waged in the Middle East, a woman in New Zealand has her nose in a book. Kate is immersed in other battles, engrossed...


The End: The Human Experience Of Death

by Bianca Nogrady

A fascinating exploration of the universal human experience of death. We sat around and on the bed, laughing and joking as if this was a typical family gathering. The shrunken form of our dying grandmother lay...


Gods and Soldiers: The Penguin Anthology of Contemporary African Writing

by Rob Spillman

A one-of-a-kind collection showcasing the energy of new African literature

Coming at a time when Africa and African writers are in the midst of a remarkable renaissance, Gods and Soldiers captures the vitality...


Making of the Victorian Novelist: Anxieties of Authorship in the Mass Market: Anxieties of Authorship in the Mass Market

by Bradley Deane

First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.


Beauties of Shakespeare Cb: Eighteenth Century Shakespeare Volume 9 - 2 Volumes

by William Dodd

First published in 1971. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.


James Joyce

by B.C. Southam

This set comprises 40 volumes covering nineteenth and twentieth century European and American authors. Available as a complete set, mini boxed sets (by theme) or as individual volumes.