Literary collections / American

Best Selling / Page 4

icon Subscribe to feed


Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection



Delete American


In category

African American (44)





Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :



English (266)

French (5)

German (2)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)



All (266)

DRM Free (8)

DRM (256)

More options

The Collected Poems and Selected Prose

by Stanley Burnshaw & Thomas F. Staley

Stanley Burnshaw began to publish poems in the 1920s and founded his own verse journal in 1925. After serving as coeditor and drama critic of the New Masses weekly (1934-1936), he entered book publishing, directing...

Poor Richard's Almanac and Other Writings

by Benjamin Franklin & Bob Blaisdell

A fascinating compilation of weather forecasts, recipes, jokes, and aphorisms, Poor Richard's Almanack debuted in 1732. This edition presents hundreds of Franklin's timeless maxims, plus selections from the...

Civil War Short Stories and Poems

by Bob Blaisdell

Compiled by an expert on Civil War literature, this anthology offers an outstanding selection of short works. Includes stories and poems by Whitman, Melville, Longfellow, Bierce, Alcott, Twain, Whittier, and...

The South Carolina Encyclopedia Guide to South Carolina Writers

by Tom Mack & George Singleton

A comprehensive guide to South Carolina writers who have made significant contributions to the state's literary tradition

Insurrections of the Mind

by Franklin Foer

Founded by Herbert Croly and Walter Lippmann in 1914 to give voice to the growing progressive movement, The New Republic has charted—and shaped—the state of American liberalism, publishing many of the twentieth...

South Sea Tales

by Jack London

Includes 8 powerful short stories set against the natural beauty of the South Pacific and alive with the hazards of headhunters, sharks, storms, and disease.

Abraham Lincoln's Wit and Wisdom

by Abraham Lincoln & Bob Blaisdell

The most eloquent of American presidents, Lincoln had a sagacious or humorous comment on everything that mattered. This attractively designed and illustrated gift book features his remarks on subjects from politics...

My Autobiography: "Chapters" from the North American Review

by Mark Twain

Famed American author's plain-spoken words recall his boyhood in Hannibal, Missouri, life as a riverboat pilot, as a young adult in rough Nevada mining towns, years spent as a widely renowned author, more.


by Herman Melville

The author's comic experiences in a South Seas setting has him working at odd jobs, viewing traditional rites and customs, and even contriving an audience with the Tahitian Queen.

Franklin's Way to Wealth and Penn's Maxims

by Benjamin Franklin & William Penn

Witty, wise, and elegant in their simplicity, these timeless adages on how to live in the material and spiritual worlds come from the author of Poor Richard's Almanack and Pennsylvania's Quaker founder.

The Rise of David Levinsky

by Abraham Cahan

A young Hasidic Jew seeks his fortune in New York's Lower East Side. He turns from his religious studies to focus on the business world, where he discovers the high price of assimilation.

The Octopus

by Frank Norris

Based on an actual bloody dispute in 1880 between wheat farmers and the Southern Pacific Railroad, this tale of greed, betrayal, and a lust for power is played out during the waning days of the western frontier....

Smoke Bellew

by Jack London

A sweeping adventure saga in the tradition of White Fang and The Call of the Wild, bringing to vivid life the cold, bleak, unforgiving Alaskan wilderness and the colorful, desperately uncertain lives of both...

The Days of Henry Thoreau

by Walter Harding

Acclaimed biography reveals famous and little-known incidents; encounters with Hawthorne, Whitman; more. Fully corrected, enlarged.

Early Black American Writers

by Benjamin Brawley

Definitive anthology of important Black writers: Banneker, Douglass, Delany, many others. With extensive commentary.

Specimen Days & Collect

by Walt Whitman

Diaries, notes and essays dealing with Whitman's ancestry, boyhood, Civil War experiences, nature, literary subjects and more.

Three Great African-American Novels: The Heroic Slave, Clotel and Our Nig

by Frederick Douglass, William Wells Brown & Harriet E. Wilson

Three powerful African-American classics of strength and determination include The Heroic Slave, Frederick Douglass's piercing tale of a slave ship rebellion, plus Clotel by William Wells Brown, and Our Nig...

Walden; Or, Life in the Woods

by Henry David Thoreau

Accounts of Thoreau's daily life on the shores of Walden Pond outside Concord, Massachusetts, are interwoven with musings on the virtues of self-reliance and individual freedom, on society, government, and other...

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and Other Stories

by Washington Irving

Among the first tales by an American writer, the title story and "Rip Van Winkle" marked the entry of Washington Irving into world literature. Also includes "The Devil and Tom Walker," "The Spectre Bridegroom,"...

Mark Twain at Your Fingertips: A Book of Quotations

by Mark Twain & Caroline Thomas Harnsberger

Gathered from Twain's classic novels, diary entries, newspaper articles, and correspondence, this collection of wry quips and quotes offers the great humorist and storyteller's observations on animals, critics,...