Literary collections / Caribbean & Latin American

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (21)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (66)

Italian (0)

 

Category

Delete Caribbean & Latin American

 

Audience

Adult (21)

 

Protection

All (21)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (18)

More options

Ruins

by Achy Obejas

A true believer is faced with a choice between love for his family and the Cuban Revolution.


Sidewalks

by Valeria Luiselli, Christina Macsweeney & Cees Nooteboom

Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author.


One Hundred Years of Solitude

by Gabriel Garcia Márquez

One Hundred Years of Solitude is a landmark novel by Colombian author Gabriel García Márquez that tells the multi-generational story of the Buendía family, whose patriarch, José Arcadio Buendía, founded...


Love in the Time of Cholera

by Gabriel Garcia Márquez

Love in the Time of Cholera is a novel by Colombian Nobel prize winning author Gabriel García Márquez.


More Jamaica Old-Time Sayings

by Edna Bennett & Ken Jones

Jamaicans, like others around the world, often experience a tugging at the heart that can only be assuaged by pleasant memories. In her collection of old Jamaican proverbs, Edna Bennett shares the powerful messages...


Indigenous Cosmolectics

by Gloria Elizabeth Chacón

Latin America's Indigenous writers have long labored under the limits of colonialism, but in the late twentieth and twenty-first centuries, they have constructed a literary corpus that moves them beyond those...


Buenas Noches, American Culture: Latina/o Aesthetics of Night

by María DeGuzmán

Often treated like night itself-both visible and invisible, feared and romanticized-Latina/os make up the largest minority group in the US. In her newest work, María DeGuzmán explores representations of night...


Forms of Dictatorship

by Jennifer Harford Vargas

An intra-ethnic study of Latina/o fiction written in the United States from the early 1990s to the present, Forms of Dictatorship examines novels that depict the historical reality of dictatorship and exploit...


Daring to Write: Contemporary Narratives by Dominican Women

by Erika M. Martínez, Rhina Espaillat, Leonor Suarez & Ana-Maurine Lara et al.

With this new Latino literary collection Erika M. Martínez has brought together twenty-four engaging narratives written by Dominican women and women of Dominican descent living in the United States. The first...


Free Pages and Other Essays

by Manuel Gonz?lez Prada, Frederick H. Fornoff & David Sobrevilla

Manuel Gonz?lez Prada was a powerful Peruvian writer and political reformer whose essays and speeches influenced generations of young radicals. He founded the Party of National Unity in 1891, was linked to the...


Cuba on the Verge

by Leila Guerriero

Spanning politics and art, music and baseball, Cuba on the Verge is a timely look at a society’s profound transformation—from inside and out

Change looms in Cuba.

Just ninety miles from United States shores...


Throwing Stones at the Moon: Narratives From Colombians Displaced by Violence

by Sibylla Brodzinsky & Max Schoening

For nearly five decades, Colombia has been embroiled in internal armed conflict among guerrilla groups, paramilitary militias, and the country’s own military. Civilians in Colombia have to make their lives...


Beyond Windrush: Rethinking Postwar Anglophone Caribbean Literature

by J. Dillon Brown & Leah Reade Rosenberg

A challenge to the primacy of the Windrush generation as the sole founders of Caribbean literature


The Austin Clarke Library: 'Membering / The Polished Hoe / Choosing His Coffin

by Austin Clarke

This bundle unites three essential books by Austin Clarke, one the most respected authors in North America and a national literary treasure of Canada. Includes Clarke's memoir ?Membering, the Giller Prize winner...


An Honest House: A Memoir, Continued

by Cynthia Reyes

Cynthia Reyes has done it again. Picking up from the early days of her recovery from a car accident, as told in her first book, A Good Home, she shares in this new book intensely lyrical stories of life in her...


Wonder and Exile in the New World

by Alex Nava

In Wonder and Exile in the New World, Alex Nava explores the border regions between wonder and exile, particularly in relation to the New World. It traces the preoccupation with the concept of wonder in the...


Vodou in Haitian Memory: The Idea and Representation of Vodou in Haitian Imagination

by Nixon S. Cleophat, Celucien L. Joseph, Crystal Andrea Felima & Asselin Charles et al.

Vodou in Haitian Memory examines the idea and representation of the Haitian Vodou in Haitin history, art, painting, aesthetics, and culture. Vodou is also studied from multiple theoretical approaches including...


Sketches of Life in Chile, 1841-1851

Everyone thinks I'm a fakir

by Claudia Apablaza

These stories talk about the body, technologies and postmodernity in the creation of the person carrying these violent constructions: telephony, internet and Wi-Fi merged with eco-vegan practices, happy dance,...


A Good Home: A Memoir

by Cynthia Reyes

The author's life in Jamaica, her move to Toronto, and her trips back home, told through descriptions of her homes, from a tiny pink house in Jamaica and a mountainside cabin near Vancouver to an historic Victorian...