Literary collections / Essays

Best Selling / Page 11

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Essays

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (655)

French (25)

German (2)

Spanish (2)

Italian (7)

 

Protection

All (655)

DRM Free (8)

DRM (647)

More options

The Cloud of Unknowing and Other Works

by Anonymous & A. C. Spearing

In the fourteenth century there was a great flourishing of religious writings in English, both orthodox and heretical. Many of these works focused on Christ's Passion and humanity, whereas The Cloud of Unknowing...


Selected Writings (Eckhart, Meister)

Playing House: Notes of a Reluctant Mother

by Lauren Slater

Acclaimed author Lauren Slater ruminates on what it means to be family.

 

Lauren Slater’s rocky childhood left her cold to the idea of ever creating a family of her own, but a husband, two dogs, two children,...


The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief

by James Wood

This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role and...


Writers Gone Wild: The Feuds, Frolics, and Follies of Literature's Great Adventurers, Drunkards, Lovers, Iconoclasts, and Misanthropes

by Bill Peschel

Truth is stranger than fiction.

If you've imagined famous writers to be desk-bound drudges, think again. Writers Gone Wild rips back the (book) covers and reveals the seamy underside of the writing life.

...


Book Book

by Fiona Farrell

An evocative and moving mix of memoir and fiction from an award-winning novelist. As war is waged in the Middle East, a woman in New Zealand has her nose in a book. Kate is immersed in other battles, engrossed...


Once Upon A Time In Oz: Griffith REVIEW 42

by Julianne Schultz

Once upon a time - and the story begins.

Wherever people go they carry their personal and cultural stories with them. Storytelling is a mechanism for reflecting on what it is to be human in time and space; a...


More Dynamite: Essays 1990-2012

by Craig Raine

More Dynamite anthologizes a wealth of essays by a writer with one of the keenest critical eyes of his generation. Craig Raine - poet, critic, novelist, Oxford don and editor - turns his fearsome and unflinching...


The Best Australian Essays 2011

by Ramona Koval

'Turn the page and hear the voices within ...'-Ramona Koval

The Best Australian Essays 2011 offers up bliss and illumination in equal measure - from the pleasures of the flesh to the events that convulsed the...


Making Trouble: Essays Against the New Australian Complacency

by Robert Manne

Robert Manne has twice been voted Australia's leading public intellectual. This book will show you why.

Making Trouble takes aim at the new Australian complacency. This is a book that will enlighten and challenge,...


The Australians: Insiders and Outsiders on the National Character since 1770

by John Hirst

US General Douglas MacArthur, on the Australians fighting on the Kokoda Track, 1942: "Operations reports show that progress on the trail is NOT repeat NOT satisfactory."

To which Major-General A.S. Allen drafted...


The Best Australian Essays: A Ten-Year Collection

by Black Inc.

The best of the best ...

This essential book takes a decade of Best Australian Essays and selects the cream of the crop. These are the pieces that have captured key events - from September 11 to Victoria's...


The Best Australian Essays 2010

by Robert Drewe

"I wanted to showcase those subjects which thoughtful and talented Australian writers were absorbed by in this particular year; indeed (I thought), wouldn't it be good to show what this country, and its culture,...


Growing Up Asian in Australia

by Alice Pung

Asian-Australians have often been written about by outsiders, as outsiders. In this collection, compiled by award-winning author Alice Pung, they tell their own stories with verve, courage and a large dose of...


Finding a Form: Essays

by William H. Gass

From the author of The Tunnel comes a new collection of essays, his first in eight years, on art, writing, nature and culture. This book is by one of the most important and briliant thinkers at work today.


The Best American Essays 2013

by Robert Atwan & Cheryl Strayed

A collection of the year's best essays culled from periodicals.


The Paragon Parrot: And Other Inspirational Tales of Wisdom

by Rumi

Rumi is regarded by many as the world's greatest poet. This selection by Arthur Scholey provides a taster of Rumi's great work. Here are stories plucked from friends and folk tales and real life, embodying Sufi...


The Discontented Dervishes: And Other Persian Tales

by Sa'Di

Arthur Scholey has selected and retold 74 of Sa'di's stories of the wisdom, humour and common sense of the kings, servants, lords, slaves and beggars, pupils and teachers, birds, beasts, insects and dervishes....


Faces in the Fire: And Other Fancies

by Frank W. Boreham

Though Baptist preacher Frank W. Boreham was born and educated in England and first rose to prominence as a religious thinker there, he spent many of his later years working as a missionary in New Zealand, Tasmania,...


A Handful of Stars: Texts That Have Moved Great Minds

by Frank W. Boreham

Renowned Baptist preacher Frank W. Boreham was known for his unusual ability to spin moving religious lessons from the stuff of everyday life. In the unique collection A Handful of Stars, Boreham takes this...