Literary collections / Essays

Best Selling / Page 14

icon Subscribe to feed


Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection




Delete Essays





Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :



English (816)

French (795)

German (23)

Spanish (7)

Italian (14)



All (816)

DRM Free (19)

DRM (797)

More options

Anatomy of Restlessness: Selected Writings 1969-1989

by Bruce Chatwin

Although he is best known for his luminous reports from the farthest-flung corners of the earth, Bruce Chatwin possessed a literary sensibility that reached beyond the travel narrative to span a world of topics—from...

The Adding Machine

by William S. Burroughs

"Sheer pleasure. . . . Wonderfully entertaining."—Chicago Sun-Times

Acclaimed by Norman Mailer more than twenty years ago as "possibly the only American writer of genius," William S. Burroughs has produced a...

The Best American Travel Writing 2013

by Jason Wilson & Elizabeth Gilbert

A collection of the best travel writing pieces published in American periodicals during 2012.

Our Boston: Writers Celebrate the City They Love

by Andrew Blauner

An anthology of essays about Boston and what it means to the contributors, including Susan Orlean, Kevin Cullen, Mike Barnicle, Pico Iyer, and many more.

Radio On

by Sarah Vowell

There are approximately 502 million radios in America. For this savvy, far-reaching diary, celebrated journalist and author Sarah Vowell turned hers on and listened--closely, critically, creatively--for an entire...

The Best Australian Essays 2013

by Robert Manne

In The Best Australian Essays 2013, Robert Manne draws out this year's most distinctive voices. This superb collection encompasses the personal, with Robert Dessaix's distant summer of love and touch-typing...

Playing House: Notes of a Reluctant Mother

by Lauren Slater

Acclaimed author Lauren Slater ruminates on what it means to be family.


Lauren Slater’s rocky childhood left her cold to the idea of ever creating a family of her own, but a husband, two dogs, two children,...

The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief

by James Wood

This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role and...

Writers Gone Wild: The Feuds, Frolics, and Follies of Literature's Great Adventurers, Drunkards, Lo vers, Iconoclasts, and Misanthropes

by Bill Peschel

Truth is stranger than fiction.

If you've imagined famous writers to be desk-bound drudges, think again. Writers Gone Wild rips back the (book) covers and reveals the seamy underside of the writing life.


Book Book

by Fiona Farrell

An evocative and moving mix of memoir and fiction from an award-winning novelist. As war is waged in the Middle East, a woman in New Zealand has her nose in a book. Kate is immersed in other battles, engrossed...

The End: The Human Experience Of Death

by Bianca Nogrady

A fascinating exploration of the universal human experience of death. We sat around and on the bed, laughing and joking as if this was a typical family gathering. The shrunken form of our dying grandmother lay...

Griffith REVIEW 42: Once Upon A Time In Oz

by Julianne Schultz

Once upon a time - and the story begins.

Wherever people go they carry their personal and cultural stories with them. Storytelling is a mechanism for reflecting on what it is to be human in time and space; a...

The Best Australian Essays 2011

by Ramona Koval

'Turn the page and hear the voices within ...'-Ramona Koval

The Best Australian Essays 2011 offers up bliss and illumination in equal measure - from the pleasures of the flesh to the events that convulsed the...

Making Trouble: Essays Against the New Australian Complacency

by Robert Manne

Robert Manne has twice been voted Australia's leading public intellectual. This book will show you why.

Making Trouble takes aim at the new Australian complacency. This is a book that will enlighten and challenge,...

The Australians: Insiders and Outsiders on the National Character since 1770

by John Hirst

US General Douglas MacArthur, on the Australians fighting on the Kokoda Track, 1942: "Operations reports show that progress on the trail is NOT repeat NOT satisfactory."

To which Major-General A.S. Allen drafted...

The Best Australian Essays: A Ten-Year Collection

by Black Inc.

The best of the best ...

This essential book takes a decade of Best Australian Essays and selects the cream of the crop. These are the pieces that have captured key events - from September 11 to Victoria's...

The Best Australian Essays 2010

by Robert Drewe

"I wanted to showcase those subjects which thoughtful and talented Australian writers were absorbed by in this particular year; indeed (I thought), wouldn't it be good to show what this country, and its culture,...

Growing Up Asian in Australia

by Alice Pung

Asian-Australians have often been written about by outsiders, as outsiders. In this collection, compiled by award-winning author Alice Pung, they tell their own stories with verve, courage and a large dose of...

Finding a Form: Essays

by William H. Gass

From the author of The Tunnel comes a new collection of essays, his first in eight years, on art, writing, nature and culture. This book is by one of the most important and briliant thinkers at work today.

The Best American Essays 2013

by Robert Atwan & Cheryl Strayed

A collection of the year's best essays culled from periodicals.