Literary collections / Essays

Best Selling / Page 7

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Essays

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (589)

French (19)

German (2)

Spanish (1)

Italian (21)

 

Protection

All (589)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (585)

More options

Sacred Monsters

by Edmund White

More than 20 essays-none previously published in book form-by the National Book Critics Circle finalist and author John Irving calls "one of the best writers of my generation." Edmund White is one of our most...


The Broken Book

by Fiona Farrell

A mix of poetry and prose, this compilation by New Zealand’s Fiona Ferrell is simultaneously a memoir, a meandering travel book, and a poetry collection. Demonstrating how a natural disaster can turn a life...


Anatomy of Restlessness: Selected Writings 1969-1989

by Bruce Chatwin

Although he is best known for his luminous reports from the farthest-flung corners of the earth, Bruce Chatwin possessed a literary sensibility that reached beyond the travel narrative to span a world of topics—from...


The Adding Machine

by William S. Burroughs

"Sheer pleasure. . . . Wonderfully entertaining."—Chicago Sun-Times

Acclaimed by Norman Mailer more than twenty years ago as "possibly the only American writer of genius," William S. Burroughs has produced a...


The Best American Travel Writing 2013

by Jason Wilson & Elizabeth Gilbert

A collection of the best travel writing pieces published in American periodicals during 2012.


Our Boston: Writers Celebrate the City They Love

by Andrew Blauner

An anthology of essays about Boston and what it means to the contributors, including Susan Orlean, Kevin Cullen, Mike Barnicle, Pico Iyer, and many more. For every copy sold, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt will donate...


What I Came To Say

by Raymond Williams

A collection of the writings of Raymond Williams, who many considered to be the most significant post-war intellectual in Britain. He wrote on diverse subjects, and his books included "Culture and Society",...


The London Scene: Six Essays on London Life

by Virginia Woolf & Hermione Lee

Take a stroll through London with Virginia Woolf as your guide in this beautifully illustrated book. With a new introduction by Hermione Lee. From the docklands of the East End to the Houses of Parliament; from...


Utilitarianism and Other Essays

Radio On

by Sarah Vowell

There are approximately 502 million radios in America. For this savvy, far-reaching diary, celebrated journalist and author Vowell turned hers on and listened—closely, critically, creatively—for an entire...


The Best Australian Essays 2013

by Robert Manne

In The Best Australian Essays 2013, Robert Manne draws out this year's most distinctive voices. This superb collection encompasses the personal, with Robert Dessaix's distant summer of love and touch-typing...


Inside the Zhivago Storm

by Paolo Mancosu

In Inside the Zhivago Storm. The Editorial Adventures of Pasternak’s Masterpiece, Paolo Mancosu, Professor of Philosophy at the University of California at Berkeley, provides a riveting account of the story...


The Cloud of Unknowing and Other Works

by Anonymous & A. C. Spearing

In the fourteenth century there was a great flourishing of religious writings in English, both orthodox and heretical. Many of these works focused on Christ's Passion and humanity, whereas The Cloud of Unknowing...


Selected Writings (Eckhart, Meister)

Playing House: Notes of a Reluctant Mother

by Lauren Slater

Acclaimed author Lauren Slater ruminates on what it means to be family.

 

Lauren Slater’s rocky childhood left her cold to the idea of ever creating a family of her own, but a husband, two dogs, two children,...


The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief

by James Wood

This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role and...


Writers Gone Wild: The Feuds, Frolics, and Follies of Literature's Great Adventurers, Drunkards, Lovers, Iconoclasts, and Misanthropes

by Bill Peschel

Truth is stranger than fiction.

If you've imagined famous writers to be desk-bound drudges, think again. Writers Gone Wild rips back the (book) covers and reveals the seamy underside of the writing life.

...


Book Book

by Fiona Farrell

An evocative and moving mix of memoir and fiction from an award-winning novelist. As war is waged in the Middle East, a woman in New Zealand has her nose in a book. Kate is immersed in other battles, engrossed...


The End: The Human Experience Of Death

by Bianca Nogrady

A fascinating exploration of the universal human experience of death. We sat around and on the bed, laughing and joking as if this was a typical family gathering. The shrunken form of our dying grandmother lay...


Once Upon A Time In Oz: Griffith REVIEW 42

by Julianne Schultz

Once upon a time - and the story begins.

Wherever people go they carry their personal and cultural stories with them. Storytelling is a mechanism for reflecting on what it is to be human in time and space; a...