Literary essay

Best Selling / Page 67

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary essay

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (3681)

French (340)

German (4)

Spanish (246)

Italian (334)

 

Protection

All (3681)

DRM Free (145)

DRM (3536)

More options

The Book of the Thousand and One Nights

by J.C. Mardrus & E.P. Mathers

First published in 2013. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.


Transculturing Auto/Biography: Forms of Life Writing

by Rosalia Baena

Rosalia Baena's theoretically challenging, analytical volume of essays, explores the diversity of shapes that transcultural life writing takes, demonstrating how it has become one of the most dynamic and productive...


The 'Evil Child' in Literature, Film and Popular Culture

by Karen J. Renner

The 'evil child' has infiltrated the cultural imagination, taking on prominent roles in popular films, television shows and literature. This collection of essays from a global range of scholars examines a fascinating...


Medieval Theory of Authorship: Scholastic Literary Attitudes in the Later Middle Ages

by Alastair Minnis

Available again with a new preface, this classic work of medieval literary scholarship argues that discussion of late-medieval literary works has tended to derive its critical vocabulary from modern, not medieval,...


The Arabic Role in Medieval Literary History: A Forgotten Heritage

by Maria Menocal

María Rosa Menocal argues that Arabic culture was a central and shaping phenomenon in medieval Europe.


Reading Hemingway's Men Without Women: Glossary and Commentary

by Joseph M. Flora

"The aim of this book is not to have the final word on the meaning of the stories that compose Men Without Women. Rather, the study attempts to probe the events of each story as we encounter them. It seeks to...


Hunting the Unicorn: A Critical Biography of Ruth Pitter

by Don W. King

A significant poet in her own right, Ruth Pitter has long deserved this biography, which thoughtfully assesses her place in the British poetic landscape. Popular in the United Kingdom from the early 1930s until...


Gothic

by Fred Botting

This enduringly popular book has become a classic in the expanding and increasingly popular field of Gothic Studies. This long awaited new edition contains a new chapter on 'Contemporary Gothic', an expanded...


Perspectives on Literature and Translation: Creation, Circulation, Reception: Creation, Circulation, Reception

by Brian Nelson & Brigid Maher

This volume explores the relationship between literature and translation from three perspectives: the creative dimensions of the translation process; the way texts circulate between languages; and the way texts...


The Public World/Syntactically Impermanence

by Leslie Scalapino

A new collection of essays and poetry from the poet Library Journal called "one of the most unique and powerful writers at the forefront of American literature."


C. S. Lewis and the Middle Ages

by Robert Boenig

In C. S. Lewis and the Middle Ages, medievalist Robert Boenig explores Lewis's personal and professional engagement with medieval literature and culture and argues convincingly that medieval modes of creativity...


The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief

by James Wood

This book recalls an era when criticism could change the way we look at the world. In the tradition of Matthew Arnold and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role and...


Owen Marshall Selected Stories

by Vincent O'Sullivan

A new and generous selection from New Zealand's foremost writer of short stories.Peter Simpson in reviewing Owen Marshall's stories in the New Zealand Listener wrote: 'Marshall is held in uncommon affection...


The Writing Class

by Stephanie Johnson

This unique novel is both a compelling love story and an insightful writing manual. 'Writers take what we learn of human nature and, fuelled by our longings for other existences and other times, forge new identities...


Son of France

by Geoff Cush

With a hint of philosophy, a dash of insanity, and a woman who could make Gauguin's mouth water, this novel takes the usual ingredients of history and tosses them into the air. Welcome to the beautiful French...


Making of the Victorian Novelist: Anxieties of Authorship in the Mass Market: Anxieties of Authorship in the Mass Market

by Bradley Deane

First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.


Reimagining Shakespeare for Children and Young Adults

by Naomi Miller

First published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.


Representing the Holocaust in Children's Literature

by Lydia Kokkola

First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.


The Apple and the Spectroscope: Being Lectures on Poetry Designed (in the Main) for Science Students

by T R Henn

First published in 1951, this book is based on a course of lectures on poetry and prose given at Cambridge University during the long vacations of 1946-1950. A request for lectures of this kind came originally...


Elizabeth Gaskell and the English Provincial Novel

by W. A. Craik

First published in 1975, this book places Elizabeth Gaskell amongst the major novelists of the nineteenth-century. It considers how she has sometimes been overlooked, or admired for very few of her works, or...