Human Science / Philosophy / Aesthetics

Best Selling / Page 3

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Aesthetics

 

Language

English (194)

French (19)

German (19)

Spanish (27)

Italian (62)

 

Protection

All (194)

DRM Free (14)

DRM (180)

More options

Refractions of Violence

by Martin Jay

A new collection of essays by the internationally recognized cultural critic and intellectual historian Martin Jay that revolves around the themes of violence and visuality, with essays on the Holocaust and...


Crowds and Democracy: The Idea and Image of the Masses from Revolution to Fascism

by Stefan Jonsson

Between 1918 and 1933, the masses became a decisive preoccupation of European culture, fueling modernist movements in art, literature, architecture, theater, and cinema, as well as the rise of communism, fascism,...


Vertigo

by Katalin Makkai

Released in 1958, Vertigo is widely regarded as Alfred Hitchcock's masterpiece and one of the greatest films of all time. This is the first book devoted to exploring the philosophical aspects of Vertigo. Following...


Public Art: Thinking Museums Differently

by Hilde Hein

By considering the museum itself as art, rather than as a receptacle, Hein's Public Art: Thinking Museums Differently argues for an improved understanding of the role museums play in shaping public discourse....


Pragmatist Aesthetics: Living Beauty, Rethinking Art

by Richard Shusterman

This much acclaimed book has emerged as neo-pragmatism's most significant contribution to contemporary aesthetics. By articulating a deeply embodied notion of aesthetic experience and the art of living, and...


Political Blind Spots: Reading the Ideology of Images

by Raphael Sassower & Louis Cicotello

In order to better understand the conditions of the twenty-first century Raphael Sassower and Louis Cicotello revisit the twentieth century in Political Blind Spots: Reading the Ideology of Images. Sassower...


Moral Vision: How Everyday Life Shapes Ethical Thinking

by Duane L. Cady

Moral Thinking is critical of mainstream academic ethics for being pretty nearly stuck on Kant and Mill, for neglecting nonviolence (Gandhi and King), for nearly neglecting the women's movement (it is not yet...


Filmosophy

by Daniel Frampton

Filmosophy is a provocative new manifesto for a radically philosophical way of understanding cinema. It coalesces twentieth-century ideas of film as thought (from Hugo M√ľnsterberg to Gilles Deleuze) into a...


Reading Rivers in Roman Literature and Culture

by Prudence J. Jones

This study examines rivers as a literary phenomenon, particularly in the poetry of Vergil. It first considers the Greco-Roman understanding of the river in its primary symbolic roles, cosmological, ritual and...


Making Sense: A Theory of Interpretation

by Paul Thom

Critics and artists claim the title of 'interpreter' for themselves. Scientists do not so readily describe themselves in this way. But is the formulation of explanatory hypotheses in science so different from...


Night Passages: Philosophy, Literature, and Film

by Elisabeth Bronfen & David Brenner

In the beginning was the night. All light, shapes, language, and subjective consciousness, as well as the world and art depicting them, emerged from this formless chaos. In fantasy, we seek to return to this...


Shop Class as Soulcraft: An Inquiry into the Value of Work

by Matthew B. Crawford

A philosopher / mechanic destroys the pretensions of the high- prestige workplace and makes an irresistible case for working with one's hands

Shop Class as Soulcraft brings alive an experience that was once...


Aesthetic Genesis: The Origin of Consciousness in the Intentional Being of Nature

by Jeff Mitscherling

This book reverses the fundamental tenet of phenomenology-that all consciousness is intentional (that is, directed toward an object). Mitscherling rehabilitates the pre-modern concepts of 'intentional being'...


On the Metaphysics of Morals and Ethics

by Immanuel Kant

Collected here in this omnibus edition are Immanuel Kant's three most important works on the Metaphysics of Morals and Ethics. Included are Kant: Groundwork of the Metaphysics of Morals, Introduction to the...


Henry James, Impressionism, and the Public

by Daniel Hannah

Proposing a new approach to Jamesian aesthetics, Daniel Hannah examines the complicated relationship between Henry James's impressionism and his handling of 'the public.' Hannah challenges solely phenomenological...


On Music

by Theodore Gracyk

Opinionated and example-filled, this extremely concise and accessible book provides a survey of some fundamental and longstanding debates about the nature of music. The central arguments and ideas of historical...


The Sovereignty of Taste

by James S. Hans

In the tradition of Matthew Arnold, Lionel Trilling, and Iris Murdoch, Hans addresses the forms, rhythms, and patterns of works of literature with a Socratic, inductive approach. Taste is the faculty that attempts...


Who's Afraid of Conceptual Art?

by Peter Goldie & Elisabeth Schellekens

What is conceptual art? Is it really a kind of art in its own right? Is it clever - or too clever?

Of all the different art forms it is perhaps conceptual art which at once fascinates and infuriates the most....


Aesthetics in Present Future: The Arts and the Technological Horizon

by Adam Berg, Brunella Antomarini & Alain Cohen

The theme of Aesthetics in Present Future concerns the new chances the arts have and the deep changes they are undergoing, due to the new media, and the digital world in which we are growingly immersed. That...


The Problem of Naturalism: Analytic Perspectives, Continental Virtues

by Brian Lightbody

The Problem of Naturalism: Analytic and Continental Perspectives, investigates how the term naturalism is defined and applied in the philosophic secondary literature from two often competing perspectives: analytic...