Human Science / Philosophy / Aesthetics

Best Selling / Page 4

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Aesthetics

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (144)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (11)

Italian (31)

 

Protection

All (144)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (141)

More options

Henry James, Impressionism, and the Public

by Daniel Hannah

Proposing a new approach to Jamesian aesthetics, Daniel Hannah examines the complicated relationship between Henry James's impressionism and his handling of 'the public.' In readings of 'The Art of Fiction,'...


On Music

by Theodore Gracyk

Opinionated and example-filled, this extremely concise and accessible book provides a survey of some fundamental and longstanding debates about the nature of music. The central arguments and ideas of historical...


The Sovereignty of Taste

by James S. Hans

In the tradition of Matthew Arnold, Lionel Trilling, and Iris Murdoch, Hans addresses the forms, rhythms, and patterns of works of literature with a Socratic, inductive approach. Taste is the faculty that attempts...


Who's Afraid of Conceptual Art?

by Peter Goldie & Elisabeth Schellekens

What is conceptual art? Is it really a kind of art in its own right? Is it clever - or too clever?

Of all the different art forms it is perhaps conceptual art which at once fascinates and infuriates the most....


Aesthetics in Present Future: The Arts and the Technological Horizon

by Adam Berg, Brunella Antomarini & Alain Cohen

The theme of Aesthetics in Present Future concerns the new chances the arts have and the deep changes they are undergoing, due to the new media, and the digital world in which we are growingly immersed. That...


Aisthesis: Scenes from the Aesthetic Regime of Art

by Jacques Rancière & Zakir Paul

Composed in a series of scenes, Aisthesis–Rancière’s definitive statement on the aesthetic–takes its reader from Dresden in 1764 to New York in 1941. Along the way, we view the Belvedere Torso with Winckelmann,...


The Problem of Naturalism: Analytic Perspectives, Continental Virtues

by Brian Lightbody

The Problem of Naturalism: Analytic and Continental Perspectives, investigates how the term naturalism is defined and applied in the philosophic secondary literature from two often competing perspectives: analytic...


Gadamer's Poetics: A Critique of Modern Aesthetics

by John Arthos

Gadamer�s writing on art is typically seen as supporting his philosophical theory of truth. Drawing together a coherent theory of the work of art from the corpus of Gadamer�s writings, this is the first...


The Science, Politics, and Ontology of Life-Philosophy

by Scott Campbell

Lebensphilosophie, central to nineteenth-century philosophical thought, is concerned with the meaning, value and purpose of life. In this much-needed study, historical lebensphilosophie is returned to the core...


The Routledge Companion to Aesthetics

by Berys Gaut & Dominic Lopes

The third edition of the acclaimed Routledge Companion to Aesthetics contains over sixty chapters written by leading international scholars covering all aspects of aesthetics.


Race, Philosophy, and Film

by Mary K. Bloodsworth-Lugo & Dan Flory

This collection fills a gap in the current literature in philosophy and film by focusing on the question: How would thinking in philosophy and film be transformed if race were formally incorporated moved from...


Sufism and Surrealism

by Adonis

At first glance Sufism and Surrealism appear to be as far removed from one another as is possible. Adonis, however, draws convincing parallels between the two, contesting that God, in the traditional sense does...


A Genealogy of Cyborgothic: Aesthetics and Ethics in the Age of Posthumanism

by Dongshin Yi

A Genealogy of the Cyborgothic imagines a new literary genre emerging from gothic literature and science fiction that will help to envision a cyborg-friendly, non-anthropocentric posthuman society. Dongshin...


The Philosophy of Art: The Question of Definition: From Hegel to Post-Dantian Theories

by Tiziana Andina & Natalia Iacobelli

Drawing on the philosophies of art developed by the continental authors and studies of Anglo-American philosophers, this book presents a panorama of the philosophy of art. It discusses definitions offered from...


The Spectacle of Disintegration: Situationist Passages Out of the Twentieth Century

by McKenzie Wark & Kevin C. Pyle

Following his acclaimed history of the Situationist International, The Beach Beneath the Street, McKenzie Wark continues the SI’s story, charting its post-sixties legacy and putting the late work of the Situationists...


The A to Z of Aesthetics

by Dabney Townsend

The A to Z of Aesthetics covers its history from Classical Greece to the present, including entries on non-western aesthetics. The book contains a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds...


Beyond the Letter (Routledge Revivals): A Philosophical Inquiry into Ambiguity, Vagueness and Methaphor in Language

by Israel Scheffler

Ambiguity, vagueness and metaphor are pervasive features of language, deserving of systematic study in their own right. Yet they have frequently been considered mere deviations from ideal language or obstacles...


Imagination, Philosophy and the Arts

by Matthew Kieran & Dominic Lopes

Imagination, Philosophy and the Arts is the first comprehensive collection of papers by philosophers examining the nature of imagination and its role in understanding and making art.

Imagination is a central...


Rethinking Aesthetics: The Role of Body in Design

by Ritu Bhatt

Rethinking Aesthetics is the first book to bring together prominent voices in the fields of architecture, philosophy, aesthetics, and cognitive sciences to radically rethink the relationship between body and...


Living Fully: Finding Joy in Every Breath

by Shyalpa Tenzin Rinpoche

Living Fully shares a broad worldview and an intimate personal quest for meaning. It is a practical and inspiring primer on what enlightened Buddhist masters have long offered: clarity, liberation, and the simple,...