Human Science / Philosophy / Aesthetics

Best Selling / Page 4

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Aesthetics

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (156)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (11)

Italian (34)

 

Protection

All (156)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (153)

More options

Vertigo

by Katalin Makkai

Released in 1958, Vertigo is widely regarded as Alfred Hitchcock's masterpiece and one of the greatest films of all time. This is the first book devoted to exploring the philosophical aspects of Vertigo. Following...


Public Art: Thinking Museums Differently

by Hilde Hein

By considering the museum itself as art, rather than as a receptacle, Hein's Public Art: Thinking Museums Differently argues for an improved understanding of the role museums play in shaping public discourse....


Pragmatist Aesthetics: Living Beauty, Rethinking Art

by Richard Shusterman

This much acclaimed book has emerged as neo-pragmatism's most significant contribution to contemporary aesthetics. By articulating a deeply embodied notion of aesthetic experience and the art of living, and...


Political Blind Spots: Reading the Ideology of Images

by Raphael Sassower & Louis Cicotello

In order to better understand the conditions of the twenty-first century Raphael Sassower and Louis Cicotello revisit the twentieth century in Political Blind Spots: Reading the Ideology of Images. Sassower...


Moral Vision: How Everyday Life Shapes Ethical Thinking

by Duane L. Cady

Moral Thinking is critical of mainstream academic ethics for being pretty nearly stuck on Kant and Mill, for neglecting nonviolence (Gandhi and King), for nearly neglecting the women's movement (it is not yet...


Filmosophy

by Daniel Frampton

Filmosophy is a provocative new manifesto for a radically philosophical way of understanding cinema. It coalesces twentieth-century ideas of film as thought (from Hugo Münsterberg to Gilles Deleuze) into a...


Reading Rivers in Roman Literature and Culture

by Prudence J. Jones

This study examines rivers as a literary phenomenon, particularly in the poetry of Vergil. It first considers the Greco-Roman understanding of the river in its primary symbolic roles, cosmological, ritual and...


Making Sense: A Theory of Interpretation

by Paul Thom

Critics and artists claim the title of 'interpreter' for themselves. Scientists do not so readily describe themselves in this way. But is the formulation of explanatory hypotheses in science so different from...


Night Passages: Philosophy, Literature and Film

by Elisabeth Bronfen & David Brenner

In the beginning was the night. All light, shapes, language, and subjective consciousness, as well as the world and art depicting them, emerged from this formless chaos. In fantasy, we seek to return to this...


Philosophy of the Arts: An Introduction to Aesthetics

by Gordon Graham

A new edition of this bestselling introduction to aesthetics and the philosophy of art. Includes new sections on digital music and environmental aesthetics. All other chapters have been thoroughly revised and...


Shop Class as Soulcraft: An Inquiry into the Value of Work

by Matthew B. Crawford

A philosopher/mechanic's wise (and sometimes funny) look at the challenges and pleasures of working with one's hands

Called "the sleeper hit of the publishing season" (The Boston Globe), Shop Class as Soulcraft...


Aesthetic Genesis: The Origin of Consciousness in the Intentional Being of Nature

by Jeff Mitscherling

This book reverses the fundamental tenet of phenomenology-that all consciousness is intentional (that is, directed toward an object). Mitscherling rehabilitates the pre-modern concepts of 'intentional being'...


Henry James, Impressionism, and the Public

by Daniel Hannah

Proposing a new approach to Jamesian aesthetics, Daniel Hannah examines the complicated relationship between Henry James's impressionism and his handling of 'the public.' In readings of 'The Art of Fiction,'...


On Music

by Theodore Gracyk

Opinionated and example-filled, this extremely concise and accessible book provides a survey of some fundamental and longstanding debates about the nature of music. The central arguments and ideas of historical...


The Sovereignty of Taste

by James S. Hans

In the tradition of Matthew Arnold, Lionel Trilling, and Iris Murdoch, Hans addresses the forms, rhythms, and patterns of works of literature with a Socratic, inductive approach. Taste is the faculty that attempts...


Who's Afraid of Conceptual Art?

by Peter Goldie & Elisabeth Schellekens

What is conceptual art? Is it really a kind of art in its own right? Is it clever - or too clever?

Of all the different art forms it is perhaps conceptual art which at once fascinates and infuriates the most....


Aesthetics in Present Future: The Arts and the Technological Horizon

by Adam Berg, Brunella Antomarini & Alain Cohen

The theme of Aesthetics in Present Future concerns the new chances the arts have and the deep changes they are undergoing, due to the new media, and the digital world in which we are growingly immersed. That...


Aisthesis: Scenes from the Aesthetic Regime of Art

by Jacques Rancière & Zakir Paul

Composed in a series of scenes, Aisthesis–Rancière’s definitive statement on the aesthetic–takes its reader from Dresden in 1764 to New York in 1941. Along the way, we view the Belvedere Torso with Winckelmann,...


The Problem of Naturalism: Analytic Perspectives, Continental Virtues

by Brian Lightbody

The Problem of Naturalism: Analytic and Continental Perspectives, investigates how the term naturalism is defined and applied in the philosophic secondary literature from two often competing perspectives: analytic...


Gadamer's Poetics: A Critique of Modern Aesthetics

by John Arthos

Gadamer�s writing on art is typically seen as supporting his philosophical theory of truth. Drawing together a coherent theory of the work of art from the corpus of Gadamer�s writings, this is the first...