Human Science / Philosophy / Ethics & Moral Philosophy

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Ethics & Moral Philosophy

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (658)

French (38)

German (27)

Spanish (49)

Italian (91)

 

Protection

All (27)

DRM Free (20)

DRM (7)

More options

Das Himmelsblau lastet auf meinen Lidern

by Johano Strasser

Poetische Texte mit überraschenden Wendungen und Blickwechseln: Literarisch-philosophisch geht Johano Strasser der Vieldeutigkeit seines Alltags nach. Launig und nachdenklich zugleich sieht er sich vordergründig...


Moralische Klarheit

by Susan Neiman & Christiana Goldmann

"Der Begriff Moral ist verpönt, ein Wort wie Held ist tabu, gut und böse tauchen nur mit Anführungszeichen auf", so Susan Neiman, Philosophin und Direktorin des Einstein Forums in Potsdam. Susan Neiman ist...


Menschliches, Allzumenschliches

by Friedrich Nietzsche

Nietzsches Vermächtnis, das seine berühmteste Sammlung von Aphorismen auf den Punkt bringt, ist der Nihilismus als lebensbejahende Kraft. Er ist die Voraussetzung für die Entfaltung eines neuen und befreiten...


Praktische Philosophie

by Ursula Wolf & Bruno Bleckmann

Die Philosophische Fakultät der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf schreibt seit 2006 den Meyer-Struckmann-Preis für geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Forschung aus. Die Dr. Meyer-Struckmann-Stiftung...


Sozialethik

by Friedo Ricken

Ein Grundkurs hat die Aufgabe, philosophisches Basiswissen zu vermitteln, mit dessen Hilfe die Studierenden sich in der gegenwärtigen Diskussion orientieren können. Deshalb müssen die Klassiker zur Sprache...


Didaktik des Ethikunterrichts

by Volker Pfeifer

Was ist das Proprium einer Didaktik des Ethikunterrichts und wie unterscheidet sie sich von anderen vergleichbaren Didaktiken? Unter dieser Fragestellung will dieses Lehr- und Arbeitsbuch eine praktische Orientierung...


Die Welt mit uns

by Frank Nöthlich

Wir Menschen bestehen aus Fleisch und Blut, vermögen uns selbst zu erkennen und brauchen einander, wir haben Hunger und Appetit, spielen aus Neugier und Zeitvertreib und erstreben einen geachteten und wohligen...


Die Welt in uns

by Frank Nöthlich

"Jeder Mensch muss sich als ein zum Weltganzen gehörendes, einmaliges Selbst erkennen, um sich für den Weg durchs Leben seine eigenen Entwürfe machen und diese am dafür geeigneten Platz in Gesellschaft mit...


"Was denkt ein New Yorker, wenn er in einen Hamburger beißt?"

by Caroline Heinrich & Peter Engelmann

Die Gefahr für das Denken liegt heute nicht in dessen Bekämpfung, sondern in seiner Auflösung. Denn nichts ist dafür bedrohlicher als die Macht der Indifferenz. Die Macht, die in Opposition zum Denken steht,...


Ganz normale Laster

by Judith N. Shklar & Hannes Bajohr

Seit jeher befassen sich die Philosophen mit den Tugenden, Theologen hingegen räsonieren über Sünden. Doch was ist mit den ganz gewöhhnlichen Lastern? In ihrem luziden Essay ergründet Judith N. Shklar die...


Was weiss ich?

by Michel de Montaigne & Ulrich Bossier

Aus dem Französischen neu übersetzt von Dr. Ulrich Bossier Die Essais des französischen Moralphilosophen Michel Eyquem Seigneur de Montaigne sind der faszinierende Versuch einer Formulierung über den Menschen...


Die Ethik

by Baruch de Spinoza

Unmittelbar nach seinem Tod auf den Index gesetzt, behandelt Spinozas Schrift Themen von zeitloser Gültigkeit - etwa die Frage nach dem ,richtigen' Gott oder einem glücklichen Leben -, die in ihrer Tragweite...


Pilatus und Jesus

by Giorgio Agamben & Andreas Hiepko

In seinem Essay untersucht Giorgio Agamben als Prozessbeobachter die bekannteste Gerichtsentscheidung der Menschheitsgeschichte. In der von Pontius Pilatus geleiteten Verhandlung über das Schicksal Jesu treten...


Konzeptionen der Gerechtigkeit

by Wolfgang Erich Müller

Gerechtigkeit gilt als Kardinaltugend für ein gutes und richtiges Leben. Was aber bedeutet sie inhaltlich und wie lässt sie sich begründen? Der gedankliche Mittelpunkt der Darstellung ist die epochale Neubestimmung...


Friedrich Nietzsche - Gesammelte Werke

by Friedrich Nietzsche

Im Werk Friedrich Nietzsches begegnet uns einer der großen, genialischen Geister der europäischen Philosophie. Sein unerhört breiter Einfluss als wahrhaft "freier Denker", der nicht davor zurückschreckt,...


Das Leben ist ungerecht

by Thomas Macho

Angesichts von Krisen und Zukunftsängsten fragt Thomas Macho nach den Grenzen der Fairness. Denn einerseits gilt: "Alle Menschen sind gleich", andererseits wissen wir auch: "Das Leben ist ungerecht". Krankheiten,...


Seneca zum Vergnügen

by Seneca & Marion Giebel

Ratgeber für ein glückliches Leben feiern nicht erst heute große Erfolge. Schon Seneca legte im 1. Jahrhundert nahe: »Will man glücklich werden, dann mehre man nicht den Besitz, sondern mindere die Wünsche.«...


Essays

by Francis Bacon & Michael Siefener

Warum haben unverheiratete Männer einen größeren gesellschaftlichen Nutzen als verheiratete? Welche Vorteile bieten Verstellung und Heuchelei? Warum faszinieren uns Liebe und Neid mehr als alle anderen Empfindungen?...


Untergangsprophet und Lebenskünstlerin

by Hans-Martin Schönherr-Mann

Entgegen allen Untergangsszenarien lässt sich feststellen: Die Welt wird immer ökologischer. Jedoch nicht durch Rückkehr zur unberührten Natur, sondern in der Bejahung von umweltfreundlicher Technik und...


Die Bestimmung des Menschen

by Johann Gottlieb Fichte

Fichtes Schrift markiert einen frühen Höhepunkt in der Geschichte der philosophischen Anthropologie. Die von Kant formulierte Grundfrage nach dem Wesen des Menschen wird hier von Fichte auf Basis seiner, bereits...

Human Science / Philosophy / Ethics & Moral Philosophy

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Ethics & Moral Philosophy

 

Language

English (993)

French (47)

German (120)

Spanish (94)

Italian (113)

 

Protection

All (993)

DRM Free (66)

DRM (927)

More options

Creative Questions about Abortion

by Kim Michaels

The purpose of this book is to raise a series of questions that go beyond the paradigms of both mainstream Christianity and materialistic science. In doing so, the book suggests an entirely new - non-confrontational...


The Cloud of Unknowing: The Classic of Medieval Mysticism

by Evelyn Underhill

This14th-century manual for those starting on the path to a contemplative life states that a "cloud of unknowing" separates people from God, and that it can only be penetrated by love.


As a Man Thinketh

by James Allen

This little volume (the result of meditation and experience) is not intended as an exhaustive treatise on the much-written-upon subject of the power of thought. It is suggestive rather than explanatory, its...


On Life

by Leo Tolstoy

'On Life' and 'What is religion?' were published by the Fee Age Press in England; a publishing house set up to side-step the censorship of Tolstoy in Russia, and to give him an international voice. So what is...


My Religion - What i Believe

by Leo Tolstoy

'A Confession' is Tolstoy's chronicle of his journey to faith; his account of how he moved from despair to the possibility of living; from unhappy existence to 'the glow and strength of life'. It describes his...


The Philosophy of Recognition: Historical and Contemporary Perspectives

by Zurn Busch

This volume collects original, cutting-edge essays on the philosophy of recognition by international scholars eminent in the field. By considering the topic of recognition as addressed by both classical and...


The World As I See It

by Albert Einstein

The Einstein revealed in these writings is witty, keenly perceptive, and deeply concerned for humanity. Einstein believed in the possibility of a peaceful world and in the high mission of science to serve human...


The Value of Voluntary Simplicity

by Richard B. Gregg

Social philosopher Richard B. Gregg is credited with coining the term "voluntary simplicity" and is said to be "the first American to develop a substantial theory of nonviolent resistance." He was influenced...


The Gay Science

by Friedrich Nietzsche & Thomas Common

"God is dead. God remains dead. And we have killed him." This is the book in which Nietzsche made his boldest declaration, along with discussions of morality, knowledge, and truth.


Augustine's Confessions

by William E. Mann

Unique in all of literature, the Confessions combines frank and profound psychological insight into Augustine's formative years along with sophisticated and beguiling reflections on some of the most important...


What is Property?: An Inquiry Into the Principle of Right and of Government

by Pierre-Joseph Proudhon

French printer and pamphleteer Pierre-Joseph Proudhon was an autodidact who became increasingly interested in political philosophy and rose from humble roots to engage in discourse and debate with some of the...


Architecture for a Free Subjectivity: Deleuze and Guattari at the Horizon of the Real

by Dr Simone Brott

Architecture for a Free Subjectivity reformulates the French philosopher Gilles Deleuze's model of subjectivity for architecture, by surveying the prolific effects of architectural encounter, and the spaces...


The Self Beyond Itself: An Alternative History of Ethics, the New Brain Sciences, and the Myth of Free Will

by Heidi M. Ravven

Few concepts are more unshakable in our culture than "free will," the idea that individuals are fundamentally in control of the decisions they make, good or bad. And yet the latest research about how the brain...


I and Thou

by Martin Buber & Ronald Smith

I AND THOU is one of the most important books of Western Theology. In it, Martin Buber, heavily influenced by the writings of Nietzsche, unites the proto-Existentialist currents of modern German thought with...


I and Thou

by Martin Buber & Walter Kaufmann

Martin Buber's I AND THOU has long been acclaimed as a classic. Many prominent philosophers, religious thinkers and writers have acknowledged its influence on their works. Students of intellectual history consider...


On Bullshit

by Harry G. Frankfurt

A #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

One of the most salient features of our culture is that there is so much bullshit. Everyone knows this. Each of us contributes his share. But we tend to take the situation for granted....


Homo Prospectus

Packs

by D.T. Kizis

How closely can anyone come to comprehending what another creature thinks? And how do we reconcile the need for acceptance with the equally pressing need for individuality within ourselves, especially since...


On the shortness of life

by Seneca

"On the Shortness of Life" is a moral essay written by Seneca the Younger, a Roman Stoic philosopher, to his friend Paulinus. The philosopher brings up many Stoic principles on the nature of time, namely that...


The Nicomachean Ethics

by Aristotle & F. H. Peters

The Nicomachean Ethics is Aristotle's best-known work on this subject. It consists of ten books and is based on notes from his lectures at the Lyceum. The theme of the work is the Socratic question of how men...