Social science / Political science / Political Freedom & Security / Law Enforcement

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (76)

French (2)

German (0)

Spanish (1)

Italian (4)

 

Category

Delete Law Enforcement

 

Audience

Adult (76)

 

Protection

All (76)

DRM Free (1)

DRM (75)

More options

Qui est le plus fort ? réédition

by Resi Gerritsen & Ruud Haak

Training that works by harnessing your dog's instincts. Dr. Resi Gerritsen and Ruud Haak have trained search and rescue dogs for more than 30 years and have taken part in rescue operations around the world....


The Rehnquist Court and Criminal Justice

by Michael McCall, Christina DeJong, Christopher E. Smith & Madhavi M. McCall et al.

By analyzing the perspectives and influential decisions of individual justices on the Rehnquist Court (1986-2005), this volume reveals how a divided Supreme Court limited the scope of rights affecting criminal...


The Common Law

by Oliver Wendell Holmes

Only paperback edition of great legal classic. Lucid, accessible coverage of liability, criminal law, torts, contracts, more, from historical perspective. New introduction by Sheldon M. Novick. Table of Cases....


Dying to Live: A Story of U.S. Immigration in an Age of Global Apartheid

by Joseph Nevins & Mizue Aizeki

The real story--and human price--of US/Mexico border enforcement.


The Case for Capital Punishment

by Alfred B. Heilbrun Jr.

Does the prospect of possible execution save lives by deterring the act of murder? Heilbrun presents evidence concerning whether state death penalties demonstrate the two necessary properties of a true deterrent....


The Torture Machine

by Flint Taylor

The book is a cross between Bryan Stevenson's best-selling Just Mercy and Jeff Haas The Assassination of Fred Hampton, Lawrence, Hill a popular recounting of the history of Fred Hampton, his assassination,...


Right-Wing Resurgence: How a Domestic Terrorist Threat is Being Ignored

by Daryl Johnson & Mark Potok

In Right Wing Resurgence, author Daryl Johnson offers a detailed account of the growth of right wing extremism and militias in the United States and the increasing threat they pose. He presents a comprehensive...


Norco '80

by Peter Houlahan

In the vein of Joseph Wambaugh’s The Onion Field, Norco ’80 is a gripping true crime account of one of the most violent bank heists in US history that forever altered the lives of those who lived through...


The Retrieval of Liberalism in Policing

by Luke William Hunt

There is a growing sense that many liberal states are in the midst of a shift in legal and political norms - a shift that is happening slowly and for a variety of security-related reasons. The internet and tech...


K9 Teams

by Vi Hummel Shaffer

A professional development masterclass for K9 detection teams and people who work with them. It has been said that about the only thing two K9 handlers agree about is what a third handler is doing wrong. Whether...


A Unified Theory of Justice and Crime

by Michael J. DeValve, Tammy S. Garland & Elizabeth Q. Wright

Despite great effort and some improvements, criminal justice today still seems like an oxymoron. There are some very good reasons for this feeling: catastrophic failures abound and marginal improvements appear...


This Stops Today

by Dave Smitherman, Gwen Carr & Hillary Rodham Clinton

After the death of her son, Eric Garner, at the hands of New York City police officers on Staten Island went viral, Gwen Carr’s life changed forever. The illegal chokehold that took Garner’s life has been...


God on High

by Laurie Cozad

God on High examines cannabis-based religious groups in Canada and the United States. These religious groups are on the rise as cannabis use is further decriminalized or legalized. In examining these groups,...


In Defense of Gun Control

by Hugh LaFollette

The gun control debate is more complex than we often acknowledge. What is often phrased as a single question -- should we have gun control -- Is actually made up of three distinct policy questions. First, who...


The Exceptional Negro

by Traci D O'Neal

Lawyer. Mother. Elected Official. Target. Traci O’Neal was thrust into the national spotlight in 2017 when local threats grew into a national racist outcry after a former GOP Presidential candidate singled...


DECIDE: Tactical Crisis Decision Making

by Augie K Fabela Ii

Today, law enforcement is under siege like never before, creating a need for outof-

the-box thinking and tactics. The DECIDE framework laid out in this book will

serve the public and law enforcement community...


Twenty-Six Seconds

by Curt Petrovich

How a few fleeting frames of video led to a frustrating search for justice tainted by ego, bias, and a desire for vengeance.

Images of Robert Dziekanski convulsing after being shocked by a Mountie’s Taser...


The Ultimate Guide to Being a Great Police Officer

by Dr. Jeffrey C. Fox

This book is for those interested in becoming an officer or who is already an officer. For those seeking careers in law enforcement, just starting out, or who want new tips to brush, you will find value in this...


The United States of Incarceration

by Tim Anderson

When police agencies began grabbing more power in the 1960s, it began a vicious cycle of relying on imprisonment to solve socio-political, financial, and mental health problems.

The reality is that this approach...


Interviewing, Interrogation & Communication for Law Enforcement

by Davis & Leslie

This book provides an overview of effectively collecting, understanding, and presenting information. First, this book examines various situations via math, grammar, and logic. It is important for officers to...