Science and Technics / Science

Best Selling / Page 170

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Science

 

In category

Life Sciences (2433)

Physics (1240)

Earth Sciences (1191)

Mathematics (1118)

Chemistry (911)

Others (692)

Environmental Science (510)

Astronomy (345)

Paleontology (59)

Radiation (9)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (8370)

French (360)

German (238)

Spanish (153)

Italian (296)

 

Protection

All (8370)

DRM Free (184)

DRM (8185)

More options

The Dynamics of Disaster

by Susan W. Kieffer

“If you are an amateur weather geek, disaster wonk, or budding student of earth sciences, you will want to read this book.”—Seattle Times In 2011, there were fourteen natural calamities that each destroyed...


Naturalists at Sea: Scientific Travellers from Dampier to Darwin

by Glyn Williams

On the great Pacific discovery expeditions of the "long eighteenth century," naturalists for the first time were commonly found aboard ships sailing forth from European ports. Lured by intoxicating opportunities...


Raising the Dead: The Men Who Created Frankenstein

by Andy Dougan

Mary Shelley's 1818 novel, "Frankenstein", introduced readers around the world to the concept of raising the dead through scientific procedures. Those who read the book were thrilled by this incredible Gothic...


The American Plague

by Molly Caldwell Crosby

In this account, a journalist traces the course of yellow fever, stopping in 1878 Memphis to "vividly [evoke] the Faulkner-meets-'Dawn of the Dead' horrors,"*-and moving on to today's strain of the killer virus....


To Cherish the Life of the World: Selected Letters of Margaret Mead

by Margaret Caffrey & Patricia Francis

This first collection of Margaret Mead's personal correspondence creates a vivid and intimate portrait of an American icon--with a foreword by Mead's daughter, Mary Catherine Bateson


Watson and DNA: Making a Scientific Revolution

by Victor K. McElheny

"A real page-turner.... If Victor McElheny is not already a prince among science writers, this book should elevate him to that high position."-Judah Folkman, Nature Medicine


The End of Plagues

by John Rhodes

At the turn of the twentieth century, smallpox claimed the lives of two million people per year. By 1979, the disease had been eradicated and victory was declared across the globe. Yet the story of smallpox...


Becoming Human

by Scientific American Editors

Becoming Human: Our Past, Present and Future by the Editors of Scientific American We humans are a strange bunch. We have self-awareness and yet often act on impulses that remain hidden. We were forged in adversity...


The Climate War: True Believers, Power Brokers, and the Fight to Save the Earth

by Eric Pooley

In The Climate War, Eric Pooley--deputy editor of Bloomberg BusinessWeek--does for global warming what Bob Woodward did for presidents and Lawrence Wright did for terrorists. In this epic tale of an American...


Top Performer: A Bold Approach to Sales and Service

by Stephen C. Lundin & Carr Hagerman

We all sell something for a living--whether it's a brand, a vision, an education, a direction, or a service. We might even be selling a set of numbers to a board meeting, learning to a student, or cereal to...


Roving Mars: Spirit, Opportunity, and the Exploration of the Red Planet

by Steven Squyres

Steve Squyres is the face and voice of NASA's Mars Exploration Rover mission. Squyres dreamed up the mission in 1987, saw it through from conception in 1995 to a successful landing in 2004, and serves as the...


Five Equations That Changed the World: The Power and Poetry of Mathematics

by Michael Guillen

A Publishers Weekly best book of 1995!

Dr. Michael Guillen, known to millions as the science editor of ABC's Good Morning America, tells the fascinating stories behind five mathematical equations.

As a regular...


Sync: How Order Emerges from Chaos In the Universe, Nature, and Daily Life

by Steven H. Strogatz

At the heart of the universe is a steady, insistent beat, the sound of cycles in sync. Along the tidal rivers of Malaysia, thousands of fireflies congregate and flash in unison; the moon spins in perfect resonance...


Science Fair Season: Twelve Kids, a Robot Named Scorch . . . and What It Takes to Win

by Judy Dutton

This is the engaging true story of kids competing in the high-stakes, high-drama world of international science fairs. Every year the Intel International Science & Engineering Fair brings together 1,500 high...


The Origin of Species: (A Modern Library E-Book)

by Charles Darwin & Edward J. Larson

Introduction by Edward J. Larson

 

Perhaps the most readable and accessible of the great works of scientific inquiry, The Origin of Species sold out its first printing on the very day it was published in...


Poincare's Prize: The Hundred-Year Quest to Solve One of Math's Greatest Puzzles

by George G. Szpiro

The amazing story of one of the greatest math problems of all time and the reclusive genius who solved it

In the tradition of Fermat's Enigma and Prime Obsession, George Szpiro brings to life the giants of mathematics...


An Introduction to Paleobotany

by , Chester A. Arnold

The preparation of this book was motivated by a longfelt need for a concise yet fairly comprehensive textbook of paleobotany for use in American colleges and universities. Although separate courses in paleobotany...


Bioenergy Production by Anearobic Digestion: Using Agricultural Biomass and Organic Wastes

by Nicholas E. Korres, Padraig O'Kiely & John A.H. Benzie

Interest in anaerobic digestion (AD), the process of energy production through the production of biogas, has increased rapidly in recent years. Agricultural and other organic waste are important substrates that...


Fundamental Data Compression

by Ida Mengyi Pu

Fundamental Data Compression provides all the information students need to be able to use this essential technology in their future careers. A huge, active research field, and a part of many people's everyday...


Dynamical Paleoclimatology: Generalized Theory of Global Climate Change

by Barry Saltzman

The book discusses the ideas and creates a framework for building toward a theory of paleoclimate. Using the rich and mounting array of observational evidence of climatic changes from geology, geochemistry,...