Plume / Science and Technics

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Publisher

Delete Plume

 

Category

Delete Science and Technics

 

In category

Science (20)

Technology & engineering (2)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (22)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Protection

All (22)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (22)

More options

My Stroke of Insight: A Brain Scientist's Personal Journey

by Ph.D., Jill Bolte Taylor

The astonishing New York Times bestseller that chronicles how a brain scientist's own stroke led to enlightenment

On December 10, 1996, Jill Bolte Taylor, a thirty-seven- year-old Harvard-trained brain scientist...


This Is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession

by Daniel J. Levitin

What can music teach us about the brain? What can the brain teach us about music? And what can both teach us about ourselves?

In this groundbreaking union of art and science, rocker-turned-neuroscientist Daniel...


The Stem Cell Hope: How Stem Cell Medicine Can Change Our Lives

by Alice Park

A landmark book by the senior science writer at Time magazine introduces us to a medical breakthrough that can save our lives.

Few people know much about stem cell research beyond the ethical questions raised...


The World in Six Songs: How the Musical Brain Created Human Nature

by Daniel J. Levitin

The author of the New York Times bestseller This Is Your Brain on Music reveals music's role in the evolution of human culture-and "will leave you awestruck" (The New York Times)

Daniel J. Levitin's astounding...


How to Build a Dinosaur: The New Science of Reverse Evolution

by Jack Horner & James Gorman

A world-renowned paleontologist reveals groundbreaking science that trumps science fiction: how to grow a living dinosaur

Over a decade after Jurassic Park, Jack Horner and his colleagues in molecular biology...


Your Life, Uploaded: The Digital Way to Better Memory, Health, and Productivity

by Gordon Bell & Jim Gemmell

"A marvelous job of exploring first hand the implications of storing our entire lives digitally."

-Guy L. Tribble, Apple, Inc.

Tech luminary, Gordon Bell, and Jim Gemmell unveil a guide to the next digital...


The Numbers Behind NUMB3RS: Solving Crime with Mathematics

by Keith Devlin & Gary Lorden

The companion to the hit CBS crime series Numb3rs presents the fascinating way mathematics is used to fight real-life crime

Using the popular CBS prime-time TV crime series Numb3rs as a springboard, Keith Devlin...


The World in 2050: Four Forces Shaping Civilization's Northern Future

by Laurence C. Smith

"The World in 2050 is a compelling portrait of the future and vividly relates the big challenges facing the world now."

-Jared Diamond, author of Collapse

The world's population is exploding, wild species are...


Bursts: The Hidden Patterns Behind Everything We Do, from Your E-mail to Bloody Crusades

by Albert-Laszlo Barabasi

The bestselling author of Linked returns with a ground breaking new theory that will enthrall fans of The Tipping Point

Can we scientifically predict our future? It's a mystery that has nagged scientists...


Poincare's Prize: The Hundred-Year Quest to Solve One of Math's Greatest Puzzles

by George G. Szpiro

The amazing story of one of the greatest math problems of all time and the reclusive genius who solved it

In the tradition of Fermat's Enigma and Prime Obsession, George Szpiro brings to life the giants of mathematics...


Stem Cell Now

by Christopher Thomas Scott

While many believe stem cell research holds the key to curing a wide range of ailments, others see this research as opening a Pandora’s box that will devalue human life.

In Stem Cell Now, Christopher Scott—executive...


The Descent of Man: The Concise Edition

by Charles Darwin & Carl Zimmer

The most accessible edition ever published of Darwin?s incendiary classic, edited by ?as fine a science essayist as we have? (New York Times)

The Descent of Man, Darwin?s second landmark work on evolutionary...


From Eternity to Here: The Quest for the Ultimate Theory of Time

by Sean Carroll

"An accessible and engaging exploration of the mysteries of time."

-Brian Greene, author of The Elegant Universe

Twenty years ago, Stephen Hawking tried to explain time by understanding the Big Bang. Now,...


The Theory of Almost Everything: The Standard Model, the Unsung Triumph of Modern Physics

by Robert Oerter

There are two scientific theories that, taken together, explain the entire universe. The first, which describes the force of gravity, is widely known: Einstein’s General Theory of Relativity. But the theory...


A Mathematician at the Ballpark: Odds and Probabilities for Baseball Fans

by Ken Ross

In A Mathematician at the Ballpark, professor Ken Ross reveals the math behind the stats. This lively and accessible book shows baseball fans how to harness the power of made predictions and better understand...


When Science Goes Wrong

by Simon LeVay

Brilliant scientific successes have helped shape our world, and are always celebrated. However, for every victory, there are no doubt numerous little-known blunders. Neuroscientist Simon LeVay brings together...


How to Build Your Own Spaceship: The Science of Personal Space Travel

by Piers Bizony

Ladies and gentlemen, start your spaceships!

Personal space travel is no longer the stuff of science fiction. The future is here: Civilians are launching into orbit. As early as 2010 paying customers will have...


The Particle at the End of the Universe: How the Hunt for the Higgs Boson Leads Us to the Edge of a New World

by Sean Carroll

Winner of the prestigious 2013 Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books

"A modern voyage of discovery." -Frank Wilczek, Nobel Laureate, author of The Lightness of Being

The Higgs boson is one of our era's...


Catalog Living at Its Most Absurd: Decorating Takes (Wicker) Balls

by Molly Erdman

Millions have already been to Gary and Elaine’s. Isn’t it time you dropped by?

Have you ever flipped through the pages of a Pottery Barn catalog and thought, “Who actually lives that way?” Rest assured,...


Words Can Change Your Brain: 12 Conversation Strategies to Build Trust, Resolve Conflict, and Increase Intimacy

by Andrew Newberg & Mark Robert Waldman

The author of the national bestsellers Why God Won’t Go Away and How God Changes Your Brain reveals groundbreaking research that will make difficult conversations a thing of the past

Sometimes it feels as...