Science and Technics / Science / Others

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Others

 

In category

History (19)

Philosophy & Social Aspects (12)

Essays (12)

Research & Methodology (3)

Study & Teaching (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (699)

French (57)

German (1)

Spanish (39)

Italian (65)

 

Protection

All (57)

DRM Free (44)

DRM (13)

More options

Guide de vulgarisation. Au-delà de la découverte scientifique

by Pascal Lapointe

Comment vulgariser ? Comment faire en sorte que, pour le lecteur ou le téléspectateur, la science ne soit pas vue comme un corps extraterrestre, mais bien comme une partie intégrante de notre société ?...


La science, de votre sous-sol jusqu’aux étoiles

by Jean-François Cliche

Tout le monde a, dans un recoin de sa mémoire, de vieilles questions qui traînent dans un tiroir obscur étiqueté « sciences ». Est-ce qu’un savon lave mieux s’il fait plus de bulles ? En quelle...


Marx et Darwin, le grand affrontement

by Yves CHRISTEN

Dans le domaine de la pensée, le XXe siècle n'est pas né en 1900, mais en 1859. Une année bien remplie : Napoléon III s'active, Cavour aussi, qui va unifier l'Italie. Mais, plus important encore, Marx publie...


Le quotidien du chercheur

by Cédric Gaucherel

« Un jour, mes enfants ont déclaré que j’étais chercheur et que je “ cherchais des fantômes ”. Après tout, peut-être notre quête de chercheur est-elle vaine ? »

Ainsi l’auteur introduit-il son...


L'amour peut-il rendre fou et autres questions scientifiques

by Mathieu-Robert Sauvé & Dominique Nancy

L’amour peut-il rendre fou ? La plupart des gens le croient, mais qu’en est-il vraiment ? Dominique Nancy et Mathieu-Robert Sauvé, tous deux journalistes à l’hebdomadaire Forum, ont eu la bonne idée...


Les Trois Physiciens

by Bernard Cagnac

Henri Abraham, Eugène Bloch, Georges Bruhat sont les fondateurs du Laboratoire de physique de l’École normale supérieure. Pionniers dans leurs domaines scientifiques respectifs, ils ont également été...


L'École normale de l'an III. Vol. 1, Leçons de mathématiques

by Gaspard Monge, Jean Dhombres, Bruno Belhoste & Amy Dahan Dalmedico et al.

Il survient parfois un moment de l'histoire où les scientifiques, tous domaines confondus, s'imposent dans un même mouvement de faire le pointées connaissances acquises et de tracer les routes à suivre....


L'École normale de l'An III. Vol. 2, Leçons d'histoire, de géographie, d'économie politique

by Gérard Jorland, Alain Alcouffe, Denis Woronoff & Edme Buache De La Neuville et al.

Il survient parfois un moment de l'histoire où les scientifiques, tous domaines confondus, s'imposent dans un même mouvement de faire le point des connaissances acquises et de tracer les routes à suivre....


Gouverner par les nombres

by Alain DesrosiÈRES

Le gouvernement des hommes use et abuse de « l’argument statistique ». Avec l’émergence d’un État néo-libéral, l’action publique s’appuie de plus en plus sur des indicateurs chiffrés qui fournissent...


Chroniques d’un amateur de sciences

by Bruno Latour

« Amateur de sciences » comme on dit « amateur d’art », Bruno Latour a rédigé chaque mois pour la revue La Recherche son journal de passion en nous parlant de la science en train de se faire, du travail...


Le Grand roman des bactéries

by Martine Castello & Vahé Zartarian

Ignorées jusqu'au XVIIe siècle, on les a longtemps prises pour des « petites vies » amusantes avant de les rendre responsables de tous nos maux. Aujourd'hui, les bactéries font rêver les marchands qui...


Méthodes qualitatives, quantitatives et mixtes

by Marc Corbière & Nadine Larivière

À l’aide d’applications concrètes, cet ouvrage présente plus de 25 méthodes de recherche qualitatives, quantitatives et mixtes pouvant être utilisées pour la recherche appliquée en sciences humaines,...


Pour une interprétation littéraire des controverses scientifiques

by Citton Yves

Comment les scientifiques peuvent-ils participer aux controverses dont font l’objet certains développements techniques ? En injectant une sensibilité littéraire dans cette participation. Telle est la thèse...


Éthique et recherche

by Théry Jean-François, Besnier Jean-Michel & Hirsch Emmanuel

Ce livre traite du processus de création et du bilan du Comité d'éthique et de précaution pour les applications de la recherche agronomique de l’Inra et de l’Ifremer (Comepra). Les conférenciers exposent...


Gènes, pouvoirs et profits

by Christophe Bonneuil & Frédéric Thomas

Ce livre retrace l'histoire des transformations conjointes de la génétique et de la société depuis cent cinquante ans. Trois grands régimes de production des savoirs et des innovations émergent. Au régime...


Les meilleurs blogues de science en français – Sélection 2014

by Pascal Lapointe

Une sélection des meilleurs billets de blogues de science de la francophonie présentée en primeur mondiale.


Sur les sentiers de la science

by Louis De Broglie

« Nous venons de voir les enseignements que l'histoire des Sciences nous apporte sur la psychologie du savant. Plus intéressants sans doute encore, bien que n'en étant pas complètement indépendants, sont...


Les Sciences de la terre aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles

by Gabriel Gohau

Chacun sait que la science naît au début du XVIIe siècle lorsque Kepler, Galilée et Descartes, notamment, découvrent les bases de l'astronomie et de la mécanique. Pourtant, les sciences de la vie et de...


Conversations avec le sphinx

by Etienne Klein

On croit souvent que l'existence d'un paradoxe en physique signifie que la théorie n'a pas encore trouvé sa cohérence et que c'est par l'élimination du paradoxe qu'elle pourra s'accomplir. Le paradoxe, au...


Pour une histoire des sciences à part entière

by Jacques Roger

L'histoire des sciences est-elle une histoire comme les autres ? Longtemps apanage exclusif des philosophes, elle était alors, au mieux, réduite à une reconstitution des avancées glorieuses de la science,...

Science and Technics / Science / Others

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (696)

French (189)

German (12)

Spanish (123)

Italian (194)

 

Category

Delete Others

 

In category

History (241)

Philosophy & Social Aspects (212)

Essays (39)

Reference (36)

Research & Methodology (35)

Experiments & Projects (32)

Study & Teaching (26)

Scientific Instruments (5)

 

Audience

Adult (696)

 

Protection

All (696)

DRM Free (46)

DRM (648)

More options

Rapid Qualitative Inquiry: A Field Guide to Team-Based Assessment

by James Beebe

An accessible field guide to Rapid Qualitative Inquiry (RQI)—a team-based, applied research method designed to quickly develop an insider’s perspective on and preliminary understanding of complicated situations....


Thumbelina: The Culture and Technology of Millennials

by Michel Serres & Daniel W. Smith

This book is an English-language translation of a bestselling book in France that explores the relationship between humans and new technologies.


Machines of Loving Grace

by John Markoff

As robots are increasingly integrated into modern society—on the battlefield and the road, in business, education, and health—Pulitzer-Prize-winning New York Times science writer John Markoff searches for...


Conquering the Electron: The Geniuses, Visionaries, Egomaniacs, and Scoundrels Who Built Our Electronic Age

by Derek Cheung & Eric Brach

Conquering the Electron offers readers a true and engaging history of the world of electronics, beginning with the discoveries of friction and magnetism and ending with the creation of the smartphone and the...


CERN: How We Found the Higgs Boson

by Michael Krause

This informative and entertaining book provides a broad look at the fascinating history of CERN, and the physicists working in different areas at CERN who were active in the discovery of the Higgs Boson. Profound...


Discoverers of the Universe: William and Caroline Herschel

by Michael Hoskin

Discoverers of the Universe tells the gripping story of William Herschel, the brilliant, fiercely ambitious, emotionally complex musician and composer who became court astronomer to Britain's King George III,...


Engines of Discovery: A Century of Particle Accelerators

by Andrew Sessler & Edmund Wilson

The first edition of Engines of Discovery celebrated in words, images and anecdotes the accelerators and their constructors that culminated in the discovery of the Higgs boson. But even before the Higgs was...


Scientific Methods of Inquiry for Intelligence Analysis

by Hank Prunckun

Since 9/11, the needs of intelligence agencies as well as the missions they conduct have increased in number, size, and complexity. This expanded and updated edition offers a way of gaining the analytic skills...


Irrationally Yours

by Dr. Dan Ariely & William Haefeli

Three-time New York Times bestselling author Dan Ariely teams up with legendary The New Yorker cartoonist William Haefeli to present an expanded, illustrated collection of his immensely popularWall Street...


The Fourth Dimension: Toward a Geometry of Higher Reality

by Rudy Rucker

This is the definitive popular exploration of what the fourth dimension means, both physically and spiritually. Mathematician and science-fiction novelist Rudy Rucker takes readers on a guided tour of a higher...


Beyond The Pale

by Emily Urquhart

Like any new mother, Emily is thrilled when her first child, a daughter, is born. The baby, Sadie, is healthy and stunningly beautiful, with snow white hair and fair skin. Even the doctors and nurses can’t...


Débordements

by Bruno Latour, Rémi Barré, Dominique Pestre & Pierre-Benoît Joly et al.

MICHEL CALLON a marqué les sciences humaines et sociales par sa production académique, par ses activités d’animateur de la communauté scientifique et par son rôle de médiateur entre la recherche et le...


Acupressure II

by Speedy Publishing

Acupressure involves fingers to add pressure to areas of the body. A pamphlet will help by showing those who want to learn how to do the procedure where to place the fingers and the areas where acupressure shouldn't...


Trigger Points (Advanced) Speedy Study Guides

by Speedy Publishing

Trigger points can be described as small and hard knots that can appear on the muscle tissue and cause pain. A pamphlet about trigger points can help to build awareness about why these occur,and how they can...


Charles Darwin in Cambridge: The Most Joyful Years

by John van Wyhe

Charles Darwin's years as a student at the University of Cambridge were some of the most important and formative of his life. Thereafter he always felt a particular affection for Cambridge. For a time he even...


Nobel Lectures in Physics (2006 - 2010)

by Lars Brink

This volume is a collection of the Nobel lectures delivered by the prizewinners, together with their biographies and the presentation speeches by Nobel Committee members for the period 2006–2010. The criterion...


Starlight Detectives: How Astronomers, Inventors, and Eccentrics Discovered the Modern Universe

by Alan Hirshfeld

A wondrous tale of cosmic exploration and the colorful characters who ushered astronomy into the modern age


In Defense of Science: Why Scientific Literacy Matters

by Frank R. Spellman & Joan Price-Bayer

Today, only a few people outside of the scientific community are conversant with the tradition of science and its many breakthroughs. The rest are scientifically illiterate. So say Frank R. Spellman and Joni...


Fission and Properties of Neutron-Rich Nuclei

by J H Hamilton & A V Ramayya

These proceedings are the fifth in the series of International Conferences covering fission and properties of neutron-rich nuclei, which are at the forefront of nuclear research. The time interval of 5 years...


Clinical Evidence Made Easy

by Michael Harris, Gordon Taylor & Daniel Jackson

Clinical Evidence Made Easy will give those working in healthcare the tools to understand the information available to them from clinical data sources, which can otherwise be hard to decipher.