Nation Books / Social science

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Publisher

Delete Nation Books

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Political science (19)

Criminology (3)

Social Work (3)

Sociology (2)

Emigration & Immigration (1)

Discrimination & Race Relations (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (32)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Protection

All (32)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (32)

More options

Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle

by Chris Hedges

A Pulitzer Prize-winning and New York Times best-selling author charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate America that craves fantasy, ecstasy, and illusion.


Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt: Kobo edition

by Chris Hedges & Joe Sacco

In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis...


Prophets of War: Lockheed Martin and the Making of the Military-Industrial Complex

by William Hartung

A hard-hitting exposé of the world's largest and richest military contractor


The Speech: A Historic Filibuster on Corporate Greed and the Decline of Our Middle Class

by Bernie Sanders

On Friday, December 10, 2010, Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders walked on to the floor of the United States Senate and began speaking. It turned out to be a very long speech, lasting over eight and a half hours....


Mohamed's Ghosts: An American Story of Love and Fear in the Homeland

by Stephan Salisbury

The haunting story of a how a mosque and its imam were destroyed in post- 9/11 America, and a broader portrait of a nation fracturing under the pressures of fear and paranoia


Twelve Steps Toward Political Revelation

by Walter Mosley

Combining the personal with the political, bestselling writer Walter Mosley draws from his own addictions to explore the forms that oppression takes in our everyday lives.


The Dead Yard: A Story of Modern Jamaica

Dolman Best Travel Book 2010

by Ian Thomson

Named the Dolman Travel Book of the Year, The Dead Yard paints an unforgettable portrait of modern Jamaica. Since independence, Jamaica has gradually become associated with twin images--a resort-style travel...


A Heartbeat and a Guitar: Johnny Cash and the Making of Bitter Tears

by Antonino D'Ambrosio

The untold story of the making of Johnny Cash’s most controversial album, Bitter Tears


Love, Poverty, and War: Journeys and Essays

by Christopher Hitchens

Showcases America's leading polemicist's rejection of consensus and cliché, whether he’s reporting from abroad in Indonesia, Kurdistan, Iraq, North Korea, or Cuba, or when his pen is targeted mercilessly...


Unstoppable: The Emerging Left-Right Alliance to Dismantle the Corporate State

by Ralph Nader

Ralph Nader has fought for over fifty years on behalf of American citizens against the reckless influence of corporations and their government patrons on our society. Now he ramps up the fight and makes a persuasive...


All the Presidents' Bankers: The Hidden Alliances that Drive American Power

by Nomi Prins

Prins shows how powerful Wall Street bankers partnered with presidents to became the unelected leaders of the 20th century.


Unreal City: Las Vegas, Black Mesa, and the Fate of the West

by Judith Nies

An epic struggle over land, water, and power is erupting in the American West and the halls of Washington, DC. It began when a 4,000-square-mile area of Arizona desert called Black Mesa was divided between the...


Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

by Chris Hedges & Joe Sacco

Named a Best Book of the Year by Amazon.com and the Washington Post

Three years ago, Pulitzer Prize–winner Chris Hedges and award-winning cartoonist and journalist Joe Sacco set out to take a look at the sacrifice...


A Big Fat Crisis: The Hidden Forces Behind the Obesity Epidemic ¿ and How We Can End It

by Déborah Cohen

The obesity epidemic is a public health crisis. Ending it requires a fresh perspective and clear solutions.


Angry White Men: American Masculinity at the End of an Era

by Michael Kimmel

America’s leading expert on men and masculinity explains why America’s white men are furious


Goliath: Life and Loathing in Greater Israel

by Max Blumenthal

An explosive exposé into the radical right-wing state of Israeli politics from bestselling author of Republican Gomorrah.


The American Way of Poverty: How the Other Half Still Lives

by Sasha Abramsky

Selected as A Notable Book of the Year by The New York Times Book Review

Fifty years after Michael Harrington published his groundbreaking book The Other America, in which he chronicled the lives of people excluded...


Dollarocracy: How the Money and Media Election Complex is Destroying America

by John Nichols & Robert W. Mcchesney

Fresh from the first $10 billion election campaign, two award-winning authors show how unbridled campaign spending defines our politics and, failing a dramatic intervention, signals the end of our democracy....


The Honored Society: A Portrait of Italy's Most Powerful Mafia

by Petra Reski

In the early hours of an August 2007 morning a gunfight broke out in an Italian restaurant in Duisburg, Germany; in less than five minutes over seventy shots were fired into the bodies of six men. Both the victims...


Tragedy in Crimson: How the Dalai Lama Conquered the World But Lost the Battle with China

by Tim Johnson

A searing portrait of modern Tibet under the yoke of imperialist China— as told by the journalist who spent years reporting on the contested country and its controversial leader