Social science

Best Selling / Page 17

icon Subscribe to feed


Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection




Delete Social science


In category

Political science (14379)

Sociology (9458)

Anthropology (2224)

Media Studies (1523)

Social Work (1479)

Criminology (1272)

Transportation (1181)

Human Geography (977)

Regional Studies (773)

Customs & Traditions (702)

Archaeology (698)

Emigration & Immigration (426)

Discrimination & Race Relations (369)

Feminism & Feminist Theory (326)





Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :



English (34028)

French (3954)

German (1213)

Spanish (1031)

Italian (2328)



All (34028)

DRM Free (3005)

DRM (30999)

More options

Bridges Explained: What They Do and How They Work

by Trevor Yorke

Bridges are keys to communication, but also they are graceful and spectacular pieces of architecture. Trevor Yorke's book, filled with illustrations, explains their history and principals of construction, leaving...

The New Kings of Nonfiction

by Ira Glass

A collection of stories-some well known, some more obscure- capturing some of the best storytelling of this golden age of nonfiction.

An anthology of the best new masters of nonfiction storytelling, personally...

Dispatches from Juvenile Hall: Fixing a Failing System

by John Aarons

A revolutionary book that offers a fresh, bold approach to confronting the juvenile crime epidemic With the rise of violent crimes committed by teenagers in recent years, heated discussion has arisen over the...

Mistaking Africa: Curiosities and Inventions of the American Mind

by Curtis A Keim

This unique book explores the many misperceptions and stereotypes about Africa in the United States - with both historical and contemporary examples, from high culture and pop culture.

Cahokia: Ancient America's Great City on the Mississippi

by Timothy R. Pauketat

The fascinating story of a lost city and an unprecedented American civilization

While Mayan and Aztec civilizations are widely known and documented, relatively few people are familiar with the largest prehistoric...

Slaughterhouse: The Shocking Story of Greed, Neglect, And Inhumane Treatment Inside the U.S. Meat Industry

by Gail A. Eisnitz

Slaughterhouse is the first book of its kind to explore the impact that unprecedented changes in the meatpacking industry over the last twenty-five years — particularly industry consolidation, increased line...

Xtreme Honda B-Series Engines HP1552: Dyno-Tested Performance Parts Combos, Supercharging, Turbocharging and Nitrous Oxide Includes B16A1/2/3 (Civic,

by Richard Holdener

A guide to what has been the #1 modified import car for the street during the last decade?the Honda engine. This book covers some performance theory basics, then launches into dyno-tested performance parts combinations...

Blind Into Baghdad: America's War in Iraq

by James Fallows

In the autumn of 2002, Atlantic Monthly national correspondent James Fallows wrote an article predicting many of the problems America would face if it invaded Iraq. After events confirmed many of his predictions,...

Not for Sale: The Return of the Global Slave Trade--and How We Can Fight It

by David Batstone

Human trafficking generates $32 billion annually and enslaves over 30 million people, half of them children. Award-winning journalist David Batstone, whom Bono calls "a heroic character," profiles the new generation...

The New Road to Serfdom

by Daniel Hannan

A prominent British conservative warns Americans to stop President Obama from leading their country down the path to European-style socialism.

In March 2009, British conservative Daniel Hannan became a celebrity...

Land, Mobility, and Belonging in West Africa: Natives and Strangers

by Carola Lentz

Focusing on an area of the savannah in northern Ghana and southwestern Burkina Faso, Land, Mobility, and Belonging in West Africa explores how rural populations have secured, contested, and negotiated access...

Think a Second Time

by Dennis Prager

What are the two great lies of the 20th century?

Is there a solution to evil?

What matters more, blood or love?

Can a good man go to a striptease show?

Do you think you have the answers? ...Think a second...

Thoughts on Interaction Design

by Jon Kolko

Thoughts on Interaction Design, Second Edition, contemplates and contributes to the theory of Interaction Design by exploring the semantic connections that live between technology and form that are brought to...

The Wit and Wisdom of Lee Kuan Yew

by Lee Kuan Yew

Lee Kuan Yew played the pivotal role in Singapore’s transition from British Crown Colony to independent developing nation, and on to the economically powerful and diplomatically influential city-state it is...

Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt: Nook edition

by Chris Hedges & Joe Sacco

In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis...

Hamlet's BlackBerry: A Practical Philosophy for Building a Good Life in the Digital Age

by William Powers

A crisp, passionately argued answer to the question that everyone who's grown dependent on digital devices is asking: "Where's the rest of my life?"

At a time when we're all trying to make sense of our relentlessly...

Architecture for a Free Subjectivity: Deleuze and Guattari at the Horizon of the Real

by Simone Brott

This book explores the architectural significance of Deleuze's philosophy of subjectivization, and Guattari's overlooked dialogue on architecture and subjectivity. In doing so, it proposes that subjectivity...

The Internet Police: How Crime Went Online, and the Cops Followed

by Nate Anderson

Chaos and order clash in this riveting exploration of crime and punishment on the Internet. With a new afterword that brings the book's stories up to date, including law enforcement's dramatic seizure of the...

Let's Ride: Sonny Barger's Guide to Motorcycling

by Sonny Barger & Darwin Holmstrom

The Ultimate Motorcycle Guide By the Author Of The New York Times Bestselling Memoir Hell's Angel

Let's Ride is a nuts-and-bolts guide to mastering the art of motorcycling. From choosing the right bike to sharpening...

The Culture of Narcissism: American Life in an Age of Diminishing Expectations

by Christopher Lasch

When The Culture of Narcissism was first published, it was clear that Christopher Lasch had identified something important: what was happening to American society in the wake of the decline of the family over...