Social science

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Political science (15508)

Sociology (10433)

Anthropology (2463)

Social Work (1636)

Media Studies (1580)

Criminology (1368)

Transportation (1262)

Human Geography (1063)

Regional Studies (806)

Archaeology (780)

Customs & Traditions (774)

Emigration & Immigration (478)

Discrimination & Race Relations (410)

Military Science (409)

 

Language

English (37271)

French (4436)

German (1533)

Spanish (1367)

Italian (2648)

 

Protection

All (37271)

DRM Free (3595)

DRM (33652)

More options

The Great Coverup: Nixon and the Scandal of Watergate

by Barry Sussman

No American history, government, or journalism collection is complete without this new edition of "The Great Coverup: Nixon and the Scandal of Watergate," by Barry Sussman, the best account of the fall of Richard...


Putin Country

by Anne Garrels

More than twenty years ago, the NPR correspondent Anne Garrels first visited Chelyabinsk, a gritty military-industrial center a thousand miles east of Moscow. The longtime home of the Soviet nuclear program,...


The Art of War

by Sun Tzu

Sun Tzu's The Art of War is an ancient treatise on military strategy dating back to late-sixth century B.C. China.

It is now considered one of the most inspirational and informative texts for business management...


The New Jim Crow

by Michelle Alexander & Cornel West

Once in a great while a book comes along that changes the way we see the world and helps to fuel a nationwide social movement. The New Jim Crow is such a book. Praised by Harvard Law professor Lani Guinier as...


12 Years a Slave

by Northup

This unforgettable memoir was the basis for the Academy Award nominated film 12 Years a Slave. This is the true story of Solomon Northup, who was born and raised as a freeman in New York. He lived the American...


Creative Questions about Abortion

by Kim Michaels

The purpose of this book is to raise a series of questions that go beyond the paradigms of both mainstream Christianity and materialistic science. In doing so, the book suggests an entirely new - non-confrontational...


Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption

by Bryan Stevenson

#1 New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Boston Globe • The Seattle Times • Esquire • Time

 

Winner of the Carnegie...


Guerrilla Warfare

by Ernesto Che Guevara

Guerrilla Warfare by the revolutionary Che Guevara has become the guidebook for thousands of guerrilla fighters in various countries around the world. Guevara intended it to be a manual on guerrilla warfare,...


Listen, Liberal

by Thomas Frank

From the bestselling author of What's the Matter With Kansas, a scathing look at the standard-bearers of liberal politics -- a book that asks: what's the matter with Democrats?

It is a widespread belief among...


Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City

by Matthew Desmond

New York Times Bestseller

From Harvard sociologist and MacArthur "Genius" Matthew Desmond, a landmark work of scholarship and reportage that will forever change the way we look at poverty in America

 

In this...


Die Wise: A Manifesto for Sanity and Soul

by Stephen Jenkinson

Die Wise does not offer seven steps for coping with death. It does not suggest ways to make dying easier. It pours no honey to make the medicine go down. Instead, with lyrical prose, deep wisdom, and stories...


The Last Thousand

by Jeffrey E. Stern

The Last Thousand unfolds during America's final year of military occupation in Afghanistan. The stakes of war are explored through the intertwining lives of six members of the Marefat School, an institution...


When Breath Becomes Air

by Paul Kalanithi & Abraham Verghese

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic...


Morals and Dogma of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry

by Pike

Force, unregulated or ill-regulated, is not only wasted in the void, like that of gunpowder burned in the open air, and steam unconfined by science; but, striking in the dark, and its blows meeting only the...


Contemporary Buddhist Ethics

by Damien Keown

This innovative volume brings together the views of leading scholars on a range of controversial subjects including human rights, animal rights, ecology, abortion, euthanasia, and contemporary business practice....


Woman saves the world

by Laura Lolli, Marilena Marcato & Marilena Marcato

The book "Why should we make more children?" by Piero Angela and Lorenzo Pinna was published in 2008. With this book today we are trying to give an answer to a question that might seem rhetorical, but it's not!...


Feeding the City

by Sara Roncaglia

Every day in Mumbai 5,000 dabbawalas (literally translated as "those who carry boxes") distribute a staggering 200,000 home-cooked lunchboxes to the city’s workers and students. Giving employment and status...


Dear Minister Poletti

by Paolo Brunelli & Dottor Paolo Brunelli

The revolution of the labor market in Italy. In a letter all the information to change the labor market in Italy. A letter full of suggestions, updates and hopes for the Italian people. A letter other than one...


Final Floodaware Report of the European Climate and Environment Programme

by Nicolas Gendreau

Within the framework of a European approach with standards recognised by the establishment of risk and vulnerability maps and consideration of ecological and social aspects, this report presents 14 European...


The Art of War

by Sun Tzu & Lionel Giles

This is the most important book ever written about warfare and conflict. Lionel Giles' translation is the definitive edition and his commentary is indispensable. The Art of War can be used and adapted in every...