Social science

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Political science (15059)

Sociology (10192)

Anthropology (2391)

Social Work (1602)

Media Studies (1558)

Criminology (1347)

Transportation (1228)

Human Geography (1028)

Regional Studies (793)

Archaeology (768)

Customs & Traditions (767)

Emigration & Immigration (467)

Military Science (405)

Discrimination & Race Relations (402)

 

Language

English (36324)

French (4370)

German (1526)

Spanish (1344)

Italian (2598)

 

Protection

All (36324)

DRM Free (3535)

DRM (32765)

More options

12 Years a Slave

by Northup

This unforgettable memoir was the basis for the Academy Award nominated film 12 Years a Slave. This is the true story of Solomon Northup, who was born and raised as a freeman in New York. He lived the American...


The Art of War

by Sun Tzu & Lionel Giles

This is the most important book ever written about warfare and conflict. Lionel Giles' translation is the definitive edition and his commentary is indispensable. The Art of War can be used and adapted in every...


The Great Coverup: Nixon and the Scandal of Watergate

by Barry Sussman

No American history, government, or journalism collection is complete without this new edition of "The Great Coverup: Nixon and the Scandal of Watergate," by Barry Sussman, the best account of the fall of Richard...


The New Jim Crow

by Michelle Alexander & Cornel West

Once in a great while a book comes along that changes the way we see the world and helps to fuel a nationwide social movement. The New Jim Crow is such a book. Praised by Harvard Law professor Lani Guinier as...


Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption

by Bryan Stevenson

New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Boston Globe • The Seattle Times • Esquire • Time

 

Winner of the Carnegie Medal...


Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City

by Matthew Desmond

New York Times Bestseller

From Harvard sociologist and MacArthur "Genius" Matthew Desmond, a landmark work of scholarship and reportage that will forever change the way we look at poverty in America

 

In this...


Die Wise: A Manifesto for Sanity and Soul

by Stephen Jenkinson

Die Wise does not offer seven steps for coping with death. It does not suggest ways to make dying easier. It pours no honey to make the medicine go down. Instead, with lyrical prose, deep wisdom, and stories...


When Breath Becomes Air

by Paul Kalanithi & Abraham Verghese

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis...


The Game

by Neil Strauss

Hidden somewhere, in nearly every major city in the world, is an underground seduction lair. And in these lairs, men trade the most devastatingly effective techniques ever invented to charm women. This is not...


We Should All Be Feminists

by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

What does “feminism” mean today? That is the question at the heart of We Should All Be Feminists, a personal, eloquently-argued essay—adapted from her much-viewed Tedx talk of the same name—by Chimamanda...


Plunder and Deceit: Big Government's Exploitation of Young People and the Future

by Mark R. Levin

In each of his astounding #1 New York Times bestsellers, Mark R. Levin’s overlying patriotic mission has been to avert a devastating tragedy: The loss of the greatest republic known to mankind. But who stands...


Summary of Black Rednecks and White Liberals - Thomas Sowell

by Capitol Reader

This ebook consists of a summary of the ideas, viewpoints and facts presented by Thomas Sowell in his book “Black Rednecks and White Liberals”. This summary offers a concise overview of the entire book in...


The Little Book of Prison: A Beginners Guide

by Frankie Owens

Koestler Platinum Award Winner (judged by author and comedian Will Self). As Frankie Owens writes in The Little Book of Prison (LBP), "Society wants to know about prison life, an interesting place to visit but...


The Code of Man

by Waller R. Newell

"In many ways," Waller R. Newell writes, "young men today are in deep spiritual trouble. But they are also yearning for a way back to the noblest ideals of American manhood." The Code of Man represents a deep...


Fan Fiction and Copyright: Outsider Works and Intellectual Property Protection

by Aaron Schwabach

As long as there have been fans, there has been fan fiction. There seems to be a fundamental human need to tell additional stories about the characters after the book, series, play or movie is over. But developments...


Rules for Conservatives: A Response to Rules for Radicals by Saul Alinsky

by Michael Charles Master

Saul Alinsky wrote Rules for Radicals 40 years ago as instructions on how to seize power. He was the original community organizer who documented how to organize others to provide power to the organizers. Alinsky...


How to Fabricate Automotive Fiberglass & Carbon Fiber Parts

by Daniel Burrill & Jeffrey Zurschmeide

Whether repairing existing components or fabricating new ones, this book guides the reader through fabricating fiberglass and carbon fiber parts.


Patterns of Democracy

by Arend Lijphart

In this updated and expanded edition of his classic text, Arend Lijphart offers a broader and deeper analysis of worldwide democratic institutions than ever before. Examining thirty-six democracies during the...


Listen, Liberal

by Thomas Frank

From the bestselling author of What's the Matter With Kansas, a scathing look at the standard-bearers of liberal politics -- a book that asks: what's the matter with Democrats?

It is a widespread belief among...


Throwing Rocks at the Google Bus: How Growth Became the Enemy of Prosperity

by Douglas Rushkoff

Why doesn’t the explosive growth of companies like Facebook and Uber deliver more prosperity for everyone?

 

What is the systemic problem that sets the rich against the poor and the technologists against everybody...