Social science / Sociology

Best Selling / Page 139

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Sociology

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (8129)

French (260)

German (52)

Spanish (132)

Italian (318)

 

Protection

All (8129)

DRM Free (399)

DRM (7729)

More options

Beatles vs. Stones

by John McMillian

In the 1960s an epic battle was waged between the two biggest bands in the world—the clean-cut, mop-topped Beatles and the badboy Rolling Stones. Both groups liked to maintain that they weren’t really “rivals”—that...


Happy City: Transforming Our Lives Through Urban Design

by Charles Montgomery

A globe-trotting, eye-opening exploration of how cities can—and do—make us happier people

Charles Montgomery’s Happy City will revolutionize the way we think about urban life.

After decades of unchecked...


Shannon

by Jessica Owers

The Extraordinary Life of Australia's First International Racehorse. Wartime Sydney, a small and weedy racehorse was kicking his way through the top tier of Australian racing. He was Shannon, one of the fastest...


The Use and Abuse of Memory: Interpreting World War II in Contemporary European Politics

by Christian Karner & Bram Mertens

“This volume addresses the enduring narrative and memories of WWII in four themes of current scholarship: a combination of interdisciplinary paradigms and concerns; a transnational inclusivity of all Europe;...


Political and Military Sociology: The Social Implications of National Defense

by III, Bruce D. McDonald

This volume explores the social elements and impact of national defense. Traditionally, national defense is viewed solely in military terms. As part of their national security objectives, many defense sectors...


Transnational Horror Across Visual Media: Fragmented Bodies: Fragmented Bodies

by Dana Och & Kirsten Strayer

This volume investigates the horror genre across national boundaries (including locations such as Africa, Turkey, and post-Soviet Russia) and different media forms, illustrating the ways that horror can be theorized...


Rural Criminology

by Joseph F Donnermeyer & Walter Dekeseredy

Rural crime is a fast growing area of interest among scholars in criminology. From studies of agricultural crime in Australia, to violence against women in Appalachia America, to poaching in Uganda, to land...


Macau - Cultural Interaction and Literary Representation

by Katrine K. Wong & C.X. George Wei

Macao, the former Portuguese colony in southeast China from the 1550s until its return to China in 1999, has a long and very interesting history of cultural interaction between China and the West. As an entity...


Communicating Climate Change and Energy Security: New Methods in Understanding Audiences: New Methods in Understanding Audiences

by Greg Philo & Catherine Happer

This book, drawing on new research conducted for the UK Energy Resource Centre (UKERC), examines the contemporary public debate on climate change and the linked issue of energy security. It analyses the key...


Intellectual Property Valuation and Innovation: Towards Global Harmonisation: Towards Global Harmonisation

by Ruth Taplin

With the recent global economic crisis, attitudes and practices in relation to intellectual property valuation are changing as exemplified by the dichotomy explained in this book, which makes it unique. While...


A Hospice in Change: Applied Social Realist Theory

by Martin Lipscomb

A Hospice in Change: Applied Social Realist Theory reports upon a study into aspects of the ways in which structural and organisational developments, professional cultures and 'bedside' or patient focused clinical...


Phenomenology and the Social World: The Philosophy of Merleau-Ponty and Its Relation to the Social Sciences

by Laurie Spurling

The term 'phenomenology' has become almost as over-used and emptied of meaning as that other word from Continental Philosophy, namely 'existentialism'. Yet Husserl, who first put forward the phenomenological...


Sociology, Phenomenology and Marxian Analysis: A Critical Discussion of the Theory and Practice of a Science of Society

by Barry Smart

Sociology is an established academic discipline but there has been continuing debate over its status as a science and the nature of its subject matter. This led to the emergence of a phenomenological sociology...


Social and Cultural Change in Central Asia: The Soviet Legacy

by Sevket Akyildiz & Richard Carlson

Focusing on Soviet culture and its social ramifications both during the Soviet period and in the post-Soviet era, this book addresses important themes associated with Sovietisation and socialisation in the Central...


From Trafficking to Terror: Constructing a Global Social Problem

by Pardis Mahdavi

A panic surrounds human trafficking and terrorism. The socially constructed 'war on terror' and 'war on trafficking' are linked through discourses that not only combine the two, but help promote an anti-Muslim...


Making Crime Television: Producing Entertaining Representations of Crime for Television Broadcast

by Anita Lam

This book employs actor-network theory in order to examine how representations of crime are produced for contemporary prime-time television dramas. As a unique examination of the production of contemporary...


Not With a Bang But a Whimper: The Politics and Culture of Decline

by Theodore Dalrymple

Theodore Dalrymple's new book of essays follows on the extraordinary success of his earlier collections, Life at the Bottom and Our Culture, What's Left of It. No social critic today is more adept and incisive...


The Paradoxes of History and Memory in Post-colonial Sierra Leone

by Ismail Rashid, Sylvia Ojukutu-Macauley & Arthur Abraham

Using Sierra Leone as a case study, this book examines the nature of knowledge production and interpretation of African history since the decade of African independence. With contributions from different generations...


Criminological Theory: An Analysis of its Underlying Assumptions

by Stuart Henry & Werner J. Einstadter

Designed for upper-level senior and graduate criminological theory courses, this text thoroughly examines the ideas and assumptions underlying each major theoretical perspective in criminology. It lays bare...


Growing Up Golem

by Donna Minkowitz

In the tradition of Portnoy's Complaint and Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Donna Minkowitz's Growing Up Golem is an incisive, often funny memoir about growing up inspired by the Jewish legend of the golem. The author's...