Nature, recreation and sports / Sports & recreation / Martial Arts & Self-Defense

Best Selling / Page 5

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Martial Arts & Self-Defense

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (295)

French (8)

German (2)

Spanish (6)

Italian (21)

 

Protection

All (295)

DRM Free (14)

DRM (281)

More options

Eternal Spring: Taijiquan, Qi Gong, and the Cultivation of Health, Happiness and Longevity

by Michael Acton

This book, written for a Western audience, explains the essential theories and strategies of Taijiquan and Qi Gong in an insightful way. It expounds their value in our daily lives as an effective means of combating...


Militarism, Hunting, Imperialism: 'Blooding' the Martial Male

by J.A. Mangan & Callum McKenzie

The late Victorian and Edwardian officer class viewed hunting and big game hunting in particular, as a sound preparation for imperial warfare. For the imperial officer in the making, the 'blooding' hunting ritual...


Parkour and the Art du déplacement

by Vincent Thibault & Casey Roberts

Parkour, the art of displacement, or freerunning—whatever the name, this new discipline born in the Paris suburbs is rapidly being adopted by people throughout the world. Not satisfied to suffer through urban...


Say Uncle!: Catch-As-Catch Can Wrestling and the Roots of Ultimate Fighting, Pro Wrestling & Modern Grappling

by Jake Shannon

Exploring the ancient Western martial art of catch-as-catch-can grappling, this definitive book covers the history, players, and strategies of the sport. Rich in history and full of painfully brutal techniques,...


The Ninja Mind: Harnessing the Mental Strength and Physical Abilities of the Ninjutsu Masters

by Kevin Keitoshi Casey & Stephen K. Hayes

Masters in the Japanese martial art of Ninjutsu are legendary for their ability to access seemingly endless amounts of pure strength and mental endurance to achieve their goals. The Ninja Mind documents Ninjutsu...


Fight to Win: 20 Simple Techniques That Win Any Fight

by Martin J. Dougherty

If you are going to fight, you might as well fight to win! This book presents 20 simple fighting techniques that will win any fight, any time!Fight to Win strips self-defense and street fighting tactics down...


Spike and Chain: Japanese Fighting Arts

by Charles V. Gruzanski

This two-in-one book introduces secrets of two little known branches of the martial arts of Japan.The first involves the use of the manrikigusari, a length of chain with with weighted ends, used in various ways...


Black Belt Tae Kwon Do: The Ultimate Reference Guide to the World's Most Popular Black Belt Martial Art

by Yeon Hwan Park & Jon Gerrard

The ancient Korean martial art of Tae Kwon Do allows its practitioners to reach physical prowess, moral development, and spiritual growth. Black Belt Tae Kwon Do is designed to meet the needs of students who...


Journey to the Heart of Aikido: The Teachings of Motomichi Anno Sensei

by Linda Holiday & Motomichi Anno

Journey to the Heart of Aikido presents the teachings of Motomichi Anno Sensei, one of the few remaining direct students of Morihei Ueshiba, the legendary founder of Aikido. After a lifetime of practice and...


The Cheng School Gao Style Baguazhang Manual: Gao Yisheng's Bagua Twisting-Body Connected Palm

by Gao Yisheng, John Groschwitz & Liu Fengcai

In its first English-language edition, this detailed training manual is a complete guide to Gao baguazhang, as preserved through the lineage of Liu Fengcai. The youngest of the major bagua lineages, Gao bagua...


The Shogun's Scroll: Wield Power and Control Your Destiny

by Stephen F. Kaufman

The Shogun's Scroll offers a look at the samurai strategies and ethics of medieval Japan distilled into language modern readers can relate to and follow.In the tradition of The Art of War and The Book of Five...


Beyond the Known

by Tri Thong Dang

Beyond the Known is about the martial-arts quest, and a meditation on the art of discipleship. In a series of parables relating the experiences of an unusually talented but otherwise typical martial artist,...


The Ninja: Ancient Shadow Warriors of Japan (The Secret History of Ninjutsu)

by Kacem Zoughari

Ninjutsu is the most renowned and misunderstood of all martial arts. The long history of ninjutstu is often murky; surrounded by mystery and legend. Here, for the first time, is an in-depth, factual look at...


The Secrets of Cabales Serrada Escrima

by Mark V. Wiley

A highly effective and well-rounded Filipino martial art, Cabales Serrada Escrima uses basic stick-fighting movements whose applicability extends into both unarmed engagement and knife fighting. In Secrets of...


Bubishi: The Classic Manual of Combat

by Patrick McCarthy

"The Bubishi is like reading a translation of Musashi's Go Rin No Sho (Book of Five Rings) or Sun Zi's, Art of War; the more it's read, the more one gets from it."—Patrick McCarthy

Treasured for centuries by...


Filipino Martial Culture

by Mark V. Wiley

Widely practiced but not always understood, the Filipino martial arts have a rich history and distinctive character that until now have not fully been documented. Written in the context of Philippine history...


Wing Chun Kung-Fu: A Complete Guide

by Joseph Wayne Smith

The essential guide to Wing Chun Kung-Fu—basic forms and principles, fighting and grappling, advanced techniques and weapons.Featuring over 300 black and white photos and step-by-step illustrations, Wing Chun...


Jeet Kune Do Basics

by David Cheng

In Jeet Kune Do Basics, readers will learn: * The origination of Jeet Kune Do—the philosophy, history, and different styles of the martial art * How to choose a school—taking readers through their first class...


Karate Basics

by Robin L. Rielly

Are you ready to learn karate, but don't know where to begin? Are you intimidated by the unfamiliar terms of the powerful punches? With Karate Basics you'll become an expert in this martial art in no time! You'll...


Classical T'AI CHI SWORD

by Petra Kobayashi & Toyo Kobayashi

In T'ai Chi Ch'uan, exercising with a sword has developed into an important art. In accordance with the principles of T'ai Chi Ch'uan, the sword practice is an exercise for good health and meditation in motion...