Travel writing

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (459)

French (1259)

German (314)

Spanish (229)

Italian (366)

 

Category

Delete Travel writing

 

Protection

All (459)

DRM Free (93)

DRM (366)

More options

BlogVille

by Apt Servizi Emilia Romagna

BlogVille is a crowdsourced blogging project, designed by the Emilia Romagna Tourist Board to allow bloggers from all around the world to discover and share the beauties of the Emilia Romagna Region of Italy....


Tales of the City

Tales of the City #1

by Armistead Maupin

A PBS Great American Read Top 100 Pick

The first novel in the beloved Tales of the City series, Armistead Maupin’s best-selling San Francisco saga, soon to return to television as a Netflix original series...


White Planet: A Mad Dash through Modern Global Ski Culture

by Leslie Anthony

Writer and adventurer Leslie Anthony has spent his life on two planks, racing down hills, searching for the next perfect ride. His real baptism, however, began in the early nineties when Alaska emerged as the...


Chance Encounters: Travel Tales from Around the World

by Janna Graber

Travel never goes quite like we expect. Planes are late, maps are misread and unexpected detours are made. When this happens, the twisting roads of travel can lead to adventures we never imagined - and lessons...


The Cruise of the Corwin: Journal of the Arctic Expedition of 1881 in search of De Long and the Jeannette

by John Muir & Richard F. Fleck

John Muir agreed in 1881 to sail aboard the Corwin, whose fruitless mission it was to search for the missing scientific research vessel Jeannette, which itself became icebound while exploring the distant and...


Slow Road to Brownsville: A Journey Through the Heart of the Old West

by David Reynolds

"Immensely illuminating and enjoyable account of a road trip along Highway 83 ... Books like [Reynold's] prove that good travel writing remains not only very much alive, but essential."—The Bookseller

In Slow...


Five Nights in Paris

by John Baxter

An irresistible nighttime tour of Paris, past and present, by the bestselling author of The Most Beautiful Walk in the World

Every guidebook to Paris is crammed with sites to see during the day, but visitors...


A Thousand Miles from Anywhere Important

by Adrian Osborne

A Thousand Miles from Anywhere Important is an adventure / travel novel set in the mid-nineties. Join Adrian Osborne as he discovers the world and himself while grappling with the lessons of life as an international...


To the Ends of the Earth

by Ranulph Fiennes

Ranulph Fiennes has entered the public imagination as the intrepid explorer par excellance. Taunted by his wife over the challenge of the never-before attempted circumpolar navigation of the globe, he set off...


My First Summer In The Sierra

by John Muir

In the summer of 1869, John Muir set out from California's Central Valley with a flock of sheep and trekked into the foothills of the Sierra Nevada. His journals describe the summer he spent in what would become...


Hidden Tuscany

by John Keahey

In Hidden Tuscany, acclaimed author John Keahey takes the reader into a part of Tuscany beyond the usual tourist destinations of Chianti, Florence, and Siena. The often overlooked western portion of Tuscany...


Ladies of the Field: Early Women Archaeologists and Their Search for Adventure

by Amanda Adams

The first women archaeologists were Victorian era adventurers who felt most at home when farthest from it. Canvas tents were their domains, hot Middle Eastern deserts their gardens of inquiry and labor. Thanks...


Carsick

by John Waters

Carsick is the New York Times bestselling chronicle of a cross-country hitchhiking journey with America's most beloved weirdo

John Waters is putting his life on the line. Armed with wit, a pencil-thin mustache,...


Give Me the World

by Leila Hadley

Leila Hadley, twenty-five years old, divorced, restless, bored with her succesful career, set off for the Far East with her six-year-old son for an adventure that would last a lifetime. Now available for the...


Chasing the Dragon

by Christopher R. Cox

Chasing the Dragon is the story of a Boston Herald reporter's journey into Burma/Myanmar to interview the mysterious drug lord, Khun Sa.

The features desk of an American newspaper may seem an unlikely launchpad...


Sidewalks

by Valeria Luiselli, Christina Macsweeney & Cees Nooteboom

Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author.


Travels with My Donkey

by Tim Moore

"'A donkey?' blurted my family as one. For a moment it didn't seem they'd ever be able to list all the reasons that made this so entertainingly ludicrous. . . .Yes, I'd never ridden a donkey on a beach or petted...


To a Mountain in Tibet

by Colin Thubron

“Colin Thubron is the intrepid, resourceful and immensely talented writer who has made a career out of going to out of the way places and then writing brilliantly about them.”—Jonathan Yardley, Washington...


Mission to Tibet

by Ippolito Desideri, Michael J Sweet & Leonard Zwilling

Mission to Tibet recounts the fascinating eighteenth-century journey of the Jesuit priest ippolito Desideri (1684 - 1733) to the Tibetan plateau. The italian missionary was most notably the first european to...


The River at the Center of the World

by Simon Winchester

Rising in the mountains of the Tibetan border, the Yangtze River, the symbolic heart of China, pierces 3,900 miles of rugged country before debouching into the oily swells of the East China Sea. Connecting China's...