Travel writing

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (417)

French (1632)

German (612)

Spanish (223)

Italian (466)

 

Category

Delete Travel writing

 

Audience

Adult (417)

 

Protection

All (417)

DRM Free (65)

DRM (352)

More options

White Planet: A Mad Dash through Modern Global Ski Culture

by Leslie Anthony

Writer and adventurer Leslie Anthony has spent his life on two planks, racing down hills, searching for the next perfect ride. His real baptism, however, began in the early nineties when Alaska emerged as the...


Chance Encounters: Travel Tales from Around the World

by Janna Graber

Travel never goes quite like we expect. Planes are late, maps are misread and unexpected detours are made. When this happens, the twisting roads of travel can lead to adventures we never imagined - and lessons...


Other Voices, Other Towns: The Traveler's Story

by Caleb Pirtle III

"Other Voices, Other Towns" has, in reality, taken Caleb Pirtle III a lifetime to write. During the thirty years he has been writing about travel across this great land, he spent much of his time listening to...


The Cruise of the Corwin: Journal of the Arctic Expedition of 1881 in search of De Long and the Jeannette

by John Muir & Richard F. Fleck

John Muir agreed in 1881 to sail aboard the Corwin, whose fruitless mission it was to search for the missing scientific research vessel Jeannette, which itself became icebound while exploring the distant and...


Slow Road to Brownsville: A Journey Through the Heart of the Old West

by David Reynolds

"Immensely illuminating and enjoyable account of a road trip along Highway 83 ... Books like [Reynold's] prove that good travel writing remains not only very much alive, but essential."—The Bookseller

In Slow...


A Thousand Miles from Anywhere Important

by Adrian Osborne

A Thousand Miles from Anywhere Important is an adventure / travel novel set in the mid-nineties. Join Adrian Osborne as he discovers the world and himself while grappling with the lessons of life as an international...


My First Summer In The Sierra

by John Muir

In the summer of 1869, John Muir set out from California's Central Valley with a flock of sheep and trekked into the foothills of the Sierra Nevada. His journals describe the summer he spent in what would become...


Wild Life: Travel Adventures of a Worldly Woman

by Lisa Alpine

Foreward Reviews' INDIEFAB Book of the Year Award Gold Winner for Travel. Winner 1st place for best travel memoir at the 2014 North American Book Awards. Also winner of the silver Solas Awards for Best Travel...


Ladies of the Field: Early Women Archaeologists and Their Search for Adventure

by Amanda Adams

The first women archaeologists were Victorian era adventurers who felt most at home when farthest from it. Canvas tents were their domains, hot Middle Eastern deserts their gardens of inquiry and labor. Thanks...


Exotic Life: Travel Tales of an Adventurous Woman

by Lisa Alpine

Winner of the Best Women's Adventure Memoir in the BAIPA Book Awards. "Exotic Life is a sprawling anthology of 19 travel tales. Alpine is an inspiration to women travelers everywhere. She fearlessly wanders...


Sidewalks

by Valeria Luiselli, Christina Macsweeney & Cees Nooteboom

Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author.


American Sky

by Fred Tribuzzo

American Sky is the story of a young man going to work for a father and learning the skills for starting a Lycoming or Continental engine on a hot summer day, as well as the daily humor, courage, and vision...


The Travels of Sir John Mandeville: The Fantastic 14th-Century Account of a Journey to the East

by John Mandeville

This fascinating work, ostensibly written to encourage and instruct pilgrims traveling to biblical lands, recounts the author's alleged experiences in the Holy Land, India, China, and beyond.


The Path to Rome

by Hilaire Belloc

This 1902 memoir of a pilgrimage on foot across the Alps and Apennines in order to "see all Europe which the Christian Faith has saved." Includes 77 of the author's original line drawings.


The Travels of Ibn Battuta: in the Near East, Asia and Africa, 1325-1354

by Ibn Battuta & Samuel Lee

An engrossing account of a 1326 pilgrimage to Mecca provides vivid details of Morocco, Russia, India, China, and elsewhere. "The ultimate in real life adventure stories." — History in Review.


Roman Daze

by Bronte Dee Jackson

'It took only three days to fall in love with Rome. Like all infatuations, I expected it to wear off. I decided that I would leave when I no longer noticed the Coliseum. I am still waiting.' Twenty years ago,...


Circle to Circle

by Shirley Hardy-Rix & Brian Rix

Plenty of retirees take a holiday. When Brian Rix retired after 36 years as a policeman in Victoria rather than hitching up the caravan, he put his wife, journalist Shirley Hardy-Rix, on the back of his motorcycle...


Waiting on a Train: The Embattled Future of Passenger Rail Service

by James McCommons & James Kunstler

During the tumultuous year of 2008--when gas prices reached $4 a gallon, Amtrak set ridership records, and a commuter train collided with a freight train in California--journalist James McCommons spent a year...


In Late Winter We Ate Pears: A Year of Hunger and Love

by Caleb Barber, Deirdre Heekin & Rowan Jacobsen

More than a cookbook, In Late Winter We Ate Pears is a love affair with a culture and a way of life. In vignettes taken from their year in Italy, husband and wife Caleb Barber and Deirdre Heekin offer glimpses...


The Peasants and The Mariners

by Brian Bouldrey

Modern travelers on foot follow wisdom along the Ulster Way. Storytellers, said Walter Benjamin, are descended from one of two tribes: the mariners or the peasants. We revel in the stories of the sailors, with...