Asian literature / Japanese literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (22)

French (78)

German (0)

Spanish (98)

Italian (165)

 

Origin

Delete Japanese literature

 

Fiction

Literary (12)

Mystery & Detective (8)

Horror (1)

Short Stories (1)

 

Audience

Adult (22)

 

Protection

All (22)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (22)

More options

Malice

Kyoichiro Kaga #4

by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

"This smart and original mystery is a true page-turner... will baffle, surprise, and draw out suspicion until the final few pages. With each book, Higashino continues to elevate the modern mystery as an intense...


Revenge

by Yoko Ogawa & Stephen Snyder

"It's not just Murakami but also the shadow of Borges that hovers over this mesmerizing book... [and] one may detect a slight bow to the American macabre of E.A. Poe. Ogawa stands on the shoulders of giants,...


Salvation of a Saint

Detective Galileo #5

by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

From the author of the internationally bestselling, award-winning The Devotion of Suspect X comes the latest novel featuring "Detective Galileo"

In 2011, The Devotion of Suspect X was a hit with critics and...


The Diving Pool

by Yoko Ogawa & Stephen Snyder

The first major English translation of one of contemporary Japan's bestselling and most celebrated authors

From Akutagawa Award-winning author Yoko Ogawa comes a haunting trio of novellas about love, fertility,...


The Devotion of Suspect X

Detective Galileo #3

by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

This e-book now includes preview chapters from Higashino's newest mystery, SALVATION OF A SAINT.

Yasuko Hanaoka is a divorced, single mother who thought she had finally escaped her abusive ex-husband Togashi....


Hotel Iris

by Yoko Ogawa

A tale of twisted love from Yoko Ogawa--author of The Diving Pool and The Housekeeper and the Professor.

In a crumbling seaside hotel on the coast of Japan, quiet seventeen-year-old Mari works the front desk...


The Ten Loves of Nishino

by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Markin Powell

Following The Nakano Thrift Shop, Hiromi Kawakami’s breakout success, comes a new novel full of charm, subtlety, and style by an author whose readership in Japan numbers in the millions.

“If you like Haruki...


Territory of Light

by Yuko Tsushima & Geraldine Harcourt

From one of the most significant contemporary Japanese writers, a haunting, dazzling novel of loss and rebirth

"Yuko Tsushima is one of the most important Japanese writers of her generation." --Foumiko Kometani,...


Inhabitation

by Teru Miyamoto & Roger K. Thomas

  • Only this award-winning Japanese master’s second book in English (first one published by New Directions in 2009)
  • Inhabitation (In Japanese, HARU NO YUME) is a work that is frequently cited by Miyamoto enthusiasts,...

  • Newcomer

    Kyoichiro Kaga #8

    by Keigo Higashino & Giles Murray

    * A New York Times Editor's Choice *

    "Part Sherlock Holmes, part Harry Bosch, Higashino's hero is a quietly majestic force to be reckoned with." --Kirkus Reviews (starred)

    International bestseller Keigo Higashino...


    Seventeen

    by Hideo Yokoyama & Louise Heal Kawai

    A tense, powerful thriller from the bestselling author of Six Four

    1985. Kazumasa Yuuki, a seasoned reporter at the North Kanto Times, runs a daily gauntlet of the power struggles and office politics that plague...


    Lion Cross Point

    by Masatsugu Ono & Angus Turvill

    A "Book You Should Read This April" at Literary Hub

    By the winner of the Akutagawa Prize, Japan's most prestigious literary award

    How does a shy, traumatized boy overcome the shame, anger, and sadness that silence...


    Farewell, My Orange

    by Iwaki Kei & Meredith McKinney

    Winner of the Kenzabur? ?e Prize

    Two immigrants, Salimah and Sayuri, navigate isolation, a new language, and devastating loss on their way to a lifelong friendship. Far from her native country of Nigeria and...


    The End of the Moment We Had

    by Toshiki Okada & Sam Malissa

    Two brilliant, multi-layered stories from the winner of the Kenzaburo Oe Prize: part of our Japanese novella series, showcasing the best contemporary Japanese writing

    In two stunning tales by novelist-playwright...


    Convenience Store Woman

    by Sayaka Murata & Ginny Tapley Takemori

  • Murata has been a huge runaway bestseller in Japan, one of the highest selling literary novels of recent years, selling 660,000 hardcovers to date. Convenience Store Woman won Japan’s most prestigious literary...

  • Manazuru

    by Hiromi Kawakami & Michael Emmerich

  • Kawakami is an author known and reviewed around the world
  • Manazuru received great praise when Counterpoint released it in 2010; the book already has reviews by Booklist, the Paris Review Daily, the Independent...

  • Strange Weather in Tokyo

    by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Markin Powell

  • This is a reissue of a poetic, compact novel by celebrated Japanese author, Hiromi Kawakami (the original 2012 Counterpoint edition was titled The Briefcase (9781582435992); Strange Weather in Tokyo is the title...

  • Asleep

    by Banana Yoshimoto & Michael Emmerich

    Banana Yoshimoto’s novels have established her as one of Japan’s finest and most popular writers, and an acclaimed and best-selling literary star all over the world. Now she delivers three novellas that...


    Six Four

    by Hideo Yokoyama & Jonathan Lloyd-Davies

    Named one of the best books of 2017 by The New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, and Literary Hub. Winner of the Best Japanese Crime Fiction of the Year Award. One of Vulture's...


    Under the Midnight Sun

    by Keigo Higashino

    From the acclaimed international bestseller Keigo Higashino (The Devotion of Suspect X) comes a sweeping novel in the tradition of Les Miserables and Crime and Punishment. This is the compelling story of a brutal...