Asian literature / Japanese literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (21)

French (5)

German (0)

Spanish (85)

Italian (116)

 

Origin

Delete Japanese literature

 

Fiction

Literary (10)

Mystery & Detective (8)

Horror (2)

Short Stories (1)

 

Protection

All (21)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (21)

More options

Malice

Kyoichiro Kaga #4

by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

"This smart and original mystery is a true page-turner… will baffle, surprise, and draw out suspicion until the final few pages. With each book, Higashino continues to elevate the modern mystery as an intense...


Revenge

by Yoko Ogawa & Stephen Snyder

"It's not just Murakami but also the shadow of Borges that hovers over this mesmerizing book... [and] one may detect a slight bow to the American macabre of E.A. Poe. Ogawa stands on the shoulders of giants,...


Salvation of a Saint

Detective Galileo #5

by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

From the author of the internationally bestselling, award-winning The Devotion of Suspect X comes the latest novel featuring "Detective Galileo"

In 2011, The Devotion of Suspect X was a hit with critics and...


The Diving Pool

by Yoko Ogawa & Stephen Snyder

The first major English translation of one of contemporary Japan's bestselling and most celebrated authors

From Akutagawa Award-winning author Yoko Ogawa comes a haunting trio of novellas about love, fertility,...


The Devotion of Suspect X

Detective Galileo #3

by Keigo Higashino & Alexander O. Smith

This e-book now includes preview chapters from Higashino's newest mystery, SALVATION OF A SAINT.

Yasuko Hanaoka is a divorced, single mother who thought she had finally escaped her abusive ex-husband Togashi....


The Housekeeper and the Professor

by Yoko Ogawa

He is a brilliant math Professor with a peculiar problem—ever since a traumatic head injury, he has lived with only eighty minutes of short-term memory.

She is an astute young Housekeeper—with a ten-year-old...


Hotel Iris

by Yoko Ogawa

A tale of twisted love from Yoko Ogawa—author of The Diving Pool and The Housekeeper and the Professor.

In a crumbling seaside hotel on the coast of Japan, quiet seventeen-year-old Mari works the front desk...


Seventeen

by Hideo Yokoyama & Louise Heal Kawai

A tense, powerful thriller from the bestselling author of Six Four

1985. Kazumasa Yuuki, a seasoned reporter at the North Kanto Times, runs a daily gauntlet of the power struggles and office politics that plague...


Lion Cross Point

by Masatsugu Ono & Angus Turvill

A "Book You Should Read This April" at Literary Hub

By the winner of the Akutagawa Prize, Japan's most prestigious literary award

How does a shy, traumatized boy overcome the shame, anger, and sadness that silence...


Farewell, My Orange

by Iwaki Kei & Meredith McKinney

Winner of the Kenzabur? ?e Prize

Two immigrants, Salimah and Sayuri, navigate isolation, a new language, and devastating loss on their way to a lifelong friendship. Far from her native country of Nigeria and...


The End of the Moment We Had

by Toshiki Okada & Sam Malissa

Two brilliant, multi-layered stories from the winner of the Kenzaburo Oe Prize: part of our Japanese novella series, showcasing the best contemporary Japanese writing

In two stunning tales by novelist-playwright...


Convenience Store Woman

by Sayaka Murata & Ginny Tapley Takemori

  • Murata has been a huge runaway bestseller in Japan, one of the highest selling literary novels of recent years, selling 660,000 hardcovers to date. Convenience Store Woman won Japan’s most prestigious literary...

  • Soul Cage

    by Tetsuya Honda

    A severed hand, a missing body, and a victim who was living under a false identity all add up to the most complex and challenging case yet for Homicide Detective Reiko Himekawa - in Tetsuya Honda's Soul Cage...


    Manazuru

    by Hiromi Kawakami & Michael Emmerich

  • Kawakami is an author known and reviewed around the world
  • Manazuru received great praise when Counterpoint released it in 2010; the book already has reviews by Booklist, the Paris Review Daily, the Independent...

  • Strange Weather in Tokyo

    by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Markin Powell

  • This is a reissue of a poetic, compact novel by celebrated Japanese author, Hiromi Kawakami (the original 2012 Counterpoint edition was titled The Briefcase (9781582435992); Strange Weather in Tokyo is the title...

  • Asleep

    by Banana Yoshimoto & Michael Emmerich

    Banana Yoshimoto’s novels have established her as one of Japan’s finest and most popular writers, and an acclaimed and best-selling literary star all over the world. Now she delivers three novellas that...


    Six Four

    by Hideo Yokoyama & Jonathan Lloyd-Davies

    Named one of the best books of 2017 by The New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, and Literary Hub. Winner of the Best Japanese Crime Fiction of the Year Award. One of Vulture's...


    Under the Midnight Sun

    by Keigo Higashino

    From the acclaimed international bestseller Keigo Higashino (The Devotion of Suspect X) comes a sweeping novel in the tradition of Les Miserables and Crime and Punishment. This is the compelling story of a brutal...


    Moshi-Moshi: A Novel

    by Banana Yoshimoto & Asa Yoneda

    In Moshi-Moshi, Yoshie’s much-loved musician father has died in a suicide pact with an unknown woman. It is only when Yoshie and her mother move to Shimo-kitazawa, a traditional Tokyo neighborhood of narrow...


    The Graveyard Apartment

    by Mariko Koike

    One of the most popular writers working in Japan today, Mariko Koike is a recognized master of detective fiction and horror writing. Known in particular for her hybrid works that blend these styles with elements...