English literature / British literature

Best Selling / Page 35

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

Fiction

Mystery & Detective (1230)

Literary (636)

Fantasy (320)

Historical (311)

Science Fiction (308)

Thrillers (227)

Classics (121)

Horror (113)

Drama (61)

Occult & Supernatural (54)

Espionage (54)

Short Stories (47)

War & Military (23)

Action & Adventure (22)

 

Non-Fiction

Literary essay (4)

Religion (3)

Biography & autobiography (3)

Languages study (1)

Health & fitness (1)

Arts (1)

 

Language

English (3372)

French (218)

German (8)

Spanish (655)

Italian (1235)

 

Protection

All (3372)

DRM Free (162)

DRM (3206)

More options

The Dark Vineyard

Bruno, Chief of Police #2

by Martin Walker

In this riveting sequel to Martin Walker’s internationally acclaimed novel Bruno, Chief of Police, some of France’s great pleasures—wine, passion and intrigue—converge in a dark chain of events that...


Stay

Aud Torvingen #2

by Nicola Griffith

Aud (it rhymes with "shroud" ) Torvingen is six feet tall with blond hair and blue eyes. She can restore a log cabin with antique tools or put a man in a coma with her bare hands. As imagined by Nicola Griffith...


A Devil is Waiting

Sean Dillon #19

by Jack Higgins

The President is coming to London, but not to an entirely warm welcome. A fanatical mullah is offering a blessing to anyone who will assassinate the President, and though most London Muslims think the mullah...


Spycatcher

Spycatcher #1

by Matthew Dunn

“Great talent, great imagination, and real been-there done-that authenticity make this one of the year’s best thriller debuts.”

—Lee Child

“Not since Fleming charged Bond with the safety of the world...


A Sleeping Life

Inspector Wexford #10

by Ruth Rendell

Rhoda Comfrey's death seemed unremarkable; the real mystery was her life.

In A Sleeping Life, master mystery writer Ruth Rendell unveils an elaborate web of lies and deception painstakingly maintained by a troubled...


The Satanic Verses: A Novel

by Salman Rushdie

One of the most controversial and acclaimed novels ever written, The Satanic Verses is Salman Rushdie’s best-known and most galvanizing book. Set in a modern world filled with both mayhem and miracles, the...


Kindergarten

Hawthornden Prize 1979

by Peter Rushforth

In a moving retelling of Hansel and Gretel, a woman is murdered during a terrorist attack, leaving her three sons in the care of their grandmother, Lilli. As the four prepare to celebrate Christmas without her,...


The Return of the Witch

The Witch's Daughter #2

by Paula Brackston

Paula Brackston's debut novel, The Witch's Daughter, was the little book that could--with a captivating story, remarkable heroine, and eye-catching package, it has now netted over 200,000 copies in all formats....


All the Colors of Darkness

Inspector Banks #18

by Peter Robinson

New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson delivers a gripping novel of jealousy, betrayal, envy, ambition, greed, lust, revenge—all the colors of darkness that lead inevitably...


Moving Pictures

Discworld #10

by Terry Pratchett

Discworld's pesky alchemists are up to their old tricks again. This time, they've discovered how to get gold from silver -- the silver screen that is. Hearing the siren call of Holy Wood is one Victor Tugelbend,...


The House at Tyneford: A Novel

by Natasha Solomons

The start of an affair, the end of an era.

Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden, Catherine Bailey's The Secret Rooms, and TV's Downton Abbey will love this New York Times bestselling sweeping historical...


Deathstalker Rebellion

Deathstalker Legacy #2

by Simon R. Green

More information to be announced soon on this forthcoming title from Penguin USA.


Tokyo Year Zero

by David Peace

It's August 1946—one year after the Japanese surrender—and women are turning up dead all over Tokyo. Detective Minami of the Tokyo Metropolitan Police—irreverent, angry, despairing—goes on the hunt for...


Dead Beat

by Patricia Hall

A tense and gripping mystery set in 1960s London and Liverpool - When photographer Kate O'Donnell takes off for London from swinging Liverpool she has two things in mind: to make a career and to track down her...


Time and Time Again

by Ben Elton

If you had one chance to change history...Where would you go? What would you do? Who would you kill?

In Time and Time Again, international best-selling author Ben Elton takes readers on a thrilling journey...


Case Histories: A Novel

Jackson Brodie #1

by Kate Atkinson

Case one: A little girl goes missing in the night.

Case two: A beautiful young office worker falls victim to a maniac's apparently random attack.

Case three: A new mother finds herself trapped in a hell of her...


Star over Bethlehem: Poems and Holiday Stories

by Agatha Christie

The Queen of Mystery has come to Harper Collins! Agatha Christie, the acknowledged mistress of suspense—creator of indomitable sleuth Miss Marple, meticulous Belgian detective Hercule Poirot, and so many other...


Lanark: A Life in Four Books

by Alasdair Gray

Lanark, a modern vision of hell set in the disintegrating cities of Unthank and Glasgow, tells the interwoven stories of Lanark and Duncan Thaw. A work of extraordinary, playful imagination, it conveys a profound...


The End of the Wasp Season: A Novel

Alex Morrow #2

Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2012

by Denise Mina

When a notorious millionaire banker hangs himself, his death attracts no sympathy. But the legacy of a lifetime of selfishness is widespread, and the carnage most acute among those he ought to be protecting:...


Tales of the Cthulhu Mythos

by H.P. Lovecraft & Various

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear, and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."

--H. P. LOVECRAFT, "Supernatural Horror in Literature"

Howard Phillips Lovecraft forever...