English literature / British literature

Best Selling / Page 47

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

Fiction

Mystery & Detective (1230)

Literary (636)

Fantasy (320)

Historical (311)

Science Fiction (308)

Thrillers (227)

Classics (121)

Horror (113)

Drama (61)

Occult & Supernatural (54)

Espionage (54)

Short Stories (47)

War & Military (23)

Action & Adventure (22)

 

Non-Fiction

Literary essay (4)

Religion (3)

Biography & autobiography (3)

Languages study (1)

Health & fitness (1)

Arts (1)

 

Language

English (3372)

French (218)

German (8)

Spanish (655)

Italian (1235)

 

Protection

All (3372)

DRM Free (162)

DRM (3206)

More options

Running Wild

by J. G. Ballard

In J. G. Ballard's Running Wild, the thirty-two adult members of an exclusive residential community in West London are brutally murdered and their children are abducted, leaving no trace. Through the forensic...


The Kindness of Women

by J. G. Ballard

In The Kindness of Women, a sequel to his award-winning Empire of the Sun, young James returns to England at the end of World War II. He stumbles through medical study at Cambridge, trains briefly as an RAF...


The House of Small Shadows

by Adam Nevill

Catherine's last job ended badly. Corporate bullying at a top TV network saw her fired and forced to leave London, but she was determined to get her life back. A new job and a few therapists later, things look...


Enemies at Home

Flavia Albia Mysteries #2

by Lindsey Davis

"There are rules for private informers accepting a new case. Never take on clients who cannot pay you. Never do favours for friends. Don't work with relatives. If, like me, you are a woman, keep clear of men...


The Crystal World

by J. G. Ballard

The Crystal World, J. G. Ballard's fourth novel, which established his reputation as a writer of extraordinary talent and imaginative powers, tells the story of a physician specializing in the treatment of leprosy...


Concrete Island

by J. G. Ballard

On a day in April, just after three o'clock in the afternoon, Robert Maitland's car crashes over the concrete parapet of a high-speed highway onto the island below, where he is injured and, finally, trapped....


The Walk Home: A Novel

by Rachel Seiffert

Stevie comes from a long line of people who have cut and run. Just like he has.

 

Only he’s not so sure he was right to go. He’s been to London, taught himself to get by, and now he’s working as a laborer...


The Island of Doctor Moreau

by H. G. Wells

Another visionary novel from the great science fiction writer H. G. Wells, The Island of Doctor Moreau tackles the thorny issues thrown up when humankind plays God and explores notions of society and identity,...


The Bridge

by Iain Banks

The man who wakes up in the extraordinary world of a bridge has amnesia, and his doctor doesn't seem to want to cure him. Does it matter? Exploring the bridge occupies most of his days. But at night there are...


African Stories

by Doris Lessing

Long considered Nobel Prize winner Doris Lessing’s best collection of short stories, African Stories—a central book in the work of a truly beloved writer—is now back in print. This beautiful collection...


The Wild Dark Flowers: A Novel of Rutherford Park

Rutherford Park #2

by Elizabeth Cooke

“I found myself addicted to Rutherford Park, much as I was to Downton Abbey” (Margaret Wurtele on Rutherford Park). Now comes the new novel of Rutherford Park by the acclaimed Elizabeth Cooke…

When May...


The Lightning Cage

by Alan Wall

Alan Wall's The Lightning Cage is a gothic, metaphysical novel given the speed and strength of a thriller.

A former seminarian, Christopher Bayliss abandons his studies in Rome and returns to England, determined...


Laidlaw

Jack Laidlaw #1

by William McIlvanney

In Laidlaw, the first book of the series, we are introduced to Jack Laidlaw, a hard-drinking philosopher-detective whose tough exterior only partly hides a rich humanity and keen intelligence. Laidlaw’s investigation...


Paris Trance

by Geoff Dyer

People talk about love at first sight, about the way that men and women fall for each other immediately, but there is also such a thing as friendship at first sight.

Luke moves to Paris with the idea of writing...


The Comedy of Errors

by William Shakespeare

The Comedy of Errors is one of Shakespeare's most popular short comedy plays. The plot is driven by two cases of mistaken identity and witty pun-drenched dialogue. Antipholus of Syracuse and his servant of Dromio...


Property of a Lady Faire: A Secret Histories Novel

Secret Histories #8

by Simon R. Green

New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green has another Secret History to reveal...

Call me Drood, Eddie Drood. Some know me as Shaman Bond and most simply don’t want to know me at all. For centuries,...


Betrayal

Ryan Drake #3

by Will Jordan

The compelling new thriller in the high-octane series featuring British CIA agent Ryan Drake. Perfect for fans of David Baldacci and Vince Flynn.

Washington, DC. Former soldier and elite CIA operative Ryan Drake...


The Brothers of Glastonbury

Roger the Chapman #7

by Kate Sedley

Roger the traveling chapman should be on his way home to medieval Bristol after a nice summer's peddling. But a request from his duke to escort a bride en route to her betrothed takes him toward Wells, where...


Bodhisattva Blues

by Edward Canfor-Dumas

Ed is stuck in a rut - his part-time 'career' is going nowhere, his love life's a joke and his wallet's always empty.

The thing about a rut, though, is at least you know where you are.

So when Ed runs into an...


The Lemon Grove

by Helen Walsh

“Walsh’s pacing is brilliant, her writing a combination of William Trevor and Erica Jong, as she fearlessly explores the complexities and nuances of a woman surprised by her own feelings…. Gripping…..Can...