Dutch literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (16)

French (70)

German (0)

Spanish (43)

Italian (60)

 

Origin

Delete Dutch literature

 

Fiction

Literary (12)

Biographical (2)

Historical (1)

Mystery & Detective (1)

Thrillers (1)

 

Audience

Adult (16)

 

Protection

All (16)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (16)

More options

The Misfortunates

by Dimitri Verhulst

Frank, tender, and brutally funny, Dimitri Verhulst's semi-autobiographical story details the vibrantly entertaining journey of a boy growing up in a family of alcoholics in Belgium

Sobriety and moderation are...


Comedy in a Minor Key

by Hans Keilson & Damion Searls

A penetrating study of ordinary people resisting the Nazi occupation--and, true to its title, a dark comedy of wartime manners--Comedy in a Minor Key tells the story of Wim and Marie, a Dutch couple who first...


The Tulip Virus

by Danielle Hermans

A gripping debut mystery set in contemporary London with roots in 17th century Holland and the mysterious tulip trade

In 1636 Alkmaar, Holland, Wouter Winckel's brutally slaughtered body is found in the barroom...


Gliding Flight

by Anne-Gine Goemans & Nancy Forest-Flier

  • ‘The Dutch Annie Proulx’—Opzij
  • Gliding Flight is a whimsical, fresh and adventurous coming-of-age story¬?set against a backdrop of Dutch ingenuity.
  • Accompanying music CD available for booksellers and...

  • Speechless

    by Tom Lanoye & Paul Vincent

    Humor, pain and copious amounts of love run throughout this critically acclaimed novel by Tom Lanoye that sold almost 135,000 copies in Holland and Belgium alone. Both brave and honest, Speechless is a poignant...


    Thirty Days

    by Annelies Verbeke & Liz Waters

  • Protagonist Alphonse is a Senegalese immigrant who uproots his life in Brussels to become a handyman in a rural district in Flanders. Likeable and charismatic, people cannot help but reveal their secrets, desires...

  • We and Me

    by Saskia de Coster & Nancy Forest-Flier

  • A European take on the tradition “The Great American Novel’
  • Has been described as a literary ‘desperate housewives’ and the European answer to Jonathan Franzen.
  • We and Me follows a bourgeois Belgian...

  • The Last Poets

    by Christine Otten & Jonathan Reeder

    Even readers unfamiliar with The Last Poets’ historic significance as building blocks of the hip-hop and rap movement, will instantly find this novel a compelling read.

    The Last Poets were self-proclaimed...


    Craving

    by Esther Gerritsen & Michele Hutchison

  • AFP of 30,000
  • The relationship between Coco and her mother Elisabeth is troubled. Running into each other by chance, Elisabeth casually tells Coco that she is terminally ill. When Coco moves in with her mother...

  • You Have Me to Love

    by Jaap Robben & David Doherty

  • An unforgettable read about lost childhood innocence, isolation, guilt and mother-and son relationships with an AFP of 30,000
  • Mikael lives with his parents on a remote island somewhere between Scotland and...

  • The Man I Became

    by Peter Verhelst & David Colmer

    An impressively entertaining tale about the frailty of human civilisation by the leading Flemish writer Peter Verhelst, now for the first time in English.

    Warning: This story is narrated by a gorilla. He is plucked...


    Midnight Blue

    by Simone van der Vlugt

    From Simone Van Der Vlugt comes her European bestselling novel of a young woman's rise as a painter in Holland's Golden Age—perfect for readers of The Miniaturist, Tulip Fever, and Girl with a Pearl Earring....


    HEX

    by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

    The English language debut of the bestselling Dutch novel, Hex, from Thomas Olde Heuvelt--a Hugo and World Fantasy award nominated talent to watch

    Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay 'til death. Whoever settles,...


    La Superba

    by Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer & Michele Hutchison

    A master of language, Pfeijffer's autobiographical novel about migration, illegal and legal, in Genoa tells the story of Europe today


    Man I Became

    by Peter Verhelst & David Colmer

    An impressively entertaining tale about the frailty of human civilisation by the leading Flemish writer Peter Verhelst, now for the first time in English.

    Warning: This story is narrated by a gorilla. He is plucked...


    Tomorrow Pamplona

    by Jan Van Mersbergen

    A story about anger, aggression and the desire for intimacy by a rising star of modern Dutch literature.

    A professional boxer and a family man meet by chance on a journey to the Pamplona Bull Run. The boxer is...