W. W. Norton & Company

Best Selling / Page 44

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Publisher

Delete W. W. Norton & Company

 

Fiction

Literary (110)

Poetry (91)

Historical (55)

Short Stories (42)

Mystery & Detective (36)

Humorous (22)

Contemporary Women (14)

Thrillers (10)

Classics (8)

Sea Stories (6)

Drama (5)

Romance (5)

Espionage (5)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (3)

 

Non-Fiction

History (208)

Biography & autobiography (155)

Human Science (136)

Social science (120)

Science and Technics (111)

Business & economics (57)

Nature, recreation and sports (46)

Health & fitness (39)

Reference (24)

Cooking (22)

Arts (20)

Literary collections (16)

Medical (15)

Literary essay (14)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (1463)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)

 

Protection

All (1463)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (1463)

More options

The Convent: A Novel

by Panos Karnezis

"An impressive addition to the works of a master storyteller."—The Independent. The crumbling convent of Our Lady of Mercy stands alone in an uninhabited part of the Spanish sierra, hidden on a hill among...


The Cailiffs of Baghdad, Georgia: A Novel

by Mary Helen Stefaniak

“A delightful story. . . . Once you enter its pages and the worlds therein, it’s hard to leave.”—Carol Bicak, Omaha World Herald Narrator Gladys Cailiff is eleven years old in 1938 when a worldly schoolteacher...


Blood Work: A Tale of Medicine and Murder in the Scientific Revolution

by Holly Tucker

“Excellent. . . . Tucker’s chronicle of the world of 17th-century science in London and Paris is fascinating.”—The Economist In December 1667, maverick physician Jean Denis transfused calf’s blood...


The Belief Instinct: The Psychology of Souls, Destiny, and the Meaning of Life

by Jesse Bering

Top 25 Books of 2011 by the American Library Association, Choice Reviews

Named one of the 11 Best Psychology Books of 2011 by The Atlantic

"A balanced and considered approach to this often inflammatory topic."...


Because It Is Wrong: Torture, Privacy and Presidential Power in the Age of Terror

by Charles Fried & Gregory Fried

Elevating the torture and privacy debate, this book brilliantly challenges the knee-jerk responses of those in media and government. Can torture ever be justified? When is eavesdropping acceptable? Should a...


The Ayatollahs' Democracy: An Iranian Challenge

by Hooman Majd

"One of America's most astute revealers of Iranian culture and identity."-Reza Aslan, The Atlantic Hailed as one of the year's best foreign policy books, Hooman Majd's latest offers dramatic perspective on a...


All Is Forgotten, Nothing Is Lost: A Novel

by Lan Samantha Chang

"A smart, thoughtful, and often poignant meditation."—Boston Globe At the renowned writing school in Bonneville, every student is simultaneously terrified of and attracted to the charismatic and mysterious...


Advantage: How American Innovation Can Overcome the Asian Challenge

by Adam Segal

"Thoughtful . . . . [Segal's] striking argument is that the challengers [India and China] lack America's resilient, open and risk-taking culture." —Economist The emergence of India and China as economic powers...


Great House: A Novel

by Nicole Krauss

Finalist for the 2010 National Book Award in Fiction

Winner of the 2011 ABA Indies Choice Honor Award in Fiction

Winner of the 2011 Anisfield-Wolf Award

Shortlisted for the 2011 Orange Prize in Fiction

A powerful,...


The Storyteller of Marrakesh: A Novel

by Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

"An enigmatic fable in the tradition of 'The Thousand and One Nights.' " —Anderson Tepper, New York Times Book Review Hassan, a storyteller, has gathered listeners in Marrakesh’s fabled Jemaa el Fna to perform...


Funeral for a Dog: A Novel

by Thomas Pletzinger & Ross Benjamin

“The kind of writing that makes us want to read the whole book as soon as possible; a shot of adrenaline that immediately takes us to a new world.”—David Varno, Words Without Borders Journalist Daniel...


Fortunate Sons: The 120 Chinese Boys Who Came to America, Went to School, and Revolutionized an Ancient Civilization

by Liel Leibovitz & Matthew Miller

“Thoroughly enjoyable . . . an outstanding tale of cross-cultural fertilization.” —Booklist In 1872, China—ravaged by poverty, population growth, and aggressive European armies—sent 120 boys to America...


Epigenetics: How Environment Shapes Our Genes

by Richard C. Francis

Goodbye, genetic blueprint. . . . The first book for general readers ?on the game-changing field of epigenetics. The burgeoning new science of epigenetics offers a cornucopia of insights—some comforting, some...


The Emperor's Body: A Novel

by Peter Brooks

Napoleon, twenty years dead, rises like a phoenix over the politics of France and the destinies of three lovers. Against the historical backdrop of the French expedition in 1840 to retrieve Napoleon's body from...


Death of a Pirate: British Radio and the Making of the Information Age

by Adrian Johns

“A superb account of the rise of modern broadcasting.” —Financial Times When the pirate operator Oliver Smedley shot and killed his rival Reg Calvert in Smedley’s country cottage on June 21, 1966, it...


Quantum: Einstein, Bohr, and the Great Debate about the Nature of Reality

by Manjit Kumar

“A lucid account of quantum theory (and why you should care) combined with a gripping narrative.”—San Francisco Chronicle Quantum theory is weird. As Niels Bohr said, if you weren’t shocked by quantum...


Original Sins: A Novel of Slavery and Freedom

by Peg Kingman

Why would a runaway Virginia slave—having built a rewarding life in the East Indies as a silk merchant—risk everything by returning to America in 1840, eighteen years after taking her freedom? Anibaddh Lyngdoh...


Not Yet Drown'd: A Novel

by Peg Kingman

"Mysterious, intriguing, and just downright absorbing ... smart and full of atmosphere."-Boston GlobeCatherine MacDonald is astonished to receive from her twin brother-who had apparently drowned a year earlier...


Get Me Out: A History of Childbirth from the Garden of Eden to the Sperm Bank

by Randi Hutter Epstein

"[An] engrossing survey of the history of childbirth."—Stephen Lowman, Washington PostMaking and having babies—what it takes to get pregnant, stay pregnant, and deliver—have mystified women and men throughout...


Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare

by Stephen Greenblatt

"Greenblatt knows more about [Shakespeare] than Ben Jonson or the Dark Lady did."—John Leonard, ?Harper's A young man from a small provincial town moves to London in the late 1580s and, in a remarkably short...