Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed


Best Selling

New Releases



Delete Polygon



Historical (3)

Poetry (1)





Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :



English (16)

French (0)

German (0)

Spanish (0)

Italian (0)



All (16)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (16)

More options

Lie of the Land

by Michael F. Russell

‘Fascinating debut’ – David Robinson, The Scotsman Trapped in a post-apocalyptic Highland village, city journalist Carl Shewan struggles to cope with the death of the only other person who knows the truth...

Robert Fergusson: Selected Poems

by Robert Fergusson & James Robertson

This edition, first published in 2000 to mark the 250th anniversary of Fergusson’s birth, and revised in 2007, contains all his poems in Scots, a selection of poems in English, an introductory essay, revised...

Goodbye, Mr Dixon

by Iain Crichton Smith

The titular Mr Dixon is not the novel’s main character but the creation of the novel’s main character, Tom Spence. Spence describes himself as “an embryo novelist”; he has had the odd job – for example,...

The Last Summer

by Iain Crichton Smith

A sensitively written and memorable novel of youth by one of Scotland’s most distinguished twentieth century writers. Malcolm, studious, imaginative, footballing, shy, sexually aware but uncomfortably innocent,...

My Last Duchess

by Iain Crichton Smith

Iain Crichton Smith’s third novel is as different from his second, The Last Summer, as that was from his first, Consider the Lillies. Crichton Smith is at the height of his powers as poet and prose writer....

Consider the Lilies

by Iain Crichton Smith

‘Retrained, finely wrought … Mr Crichton Smith shows us isolation, perplexity, loneliness, a combination of blindness and indifference’ – New Statesman ‘Mr Crichton Smith has an acute feeling for places...

The Search

by Iain Crichton Smith

Trevor Griersor, a Scottish university lecturer, is spending a term in Canberra, lecturing on Scottish authors. One day a stranger phones, with garbled news of Trevor’s brother Norman who vanished in Australia...

An End to Autumn

by Iain Crichton Smith

Tom and Vera Mallow, who are in only their early thirties, might indeed be said to be in the autumn of their lives already, they are school teachers, both of them, but without any strong feeling for children,...

The Tenement

by Iain Crichton Smith

The tenement has its being, its almost independent being, in a small Scottish town. Built of grey granite, more than a century ago, it stands four-square in space and time, the one fixed point in the febrile...

In the Middle of the Wood

by Iain Crichton Smith

Ralph Simmons, a writer, struggles to survive a nervous breakdown that leaves him anxious, suspicious, and frightened. In the Middle of the Wood is considered by many to be Iain Crichton Smith’s most remarkable...

On the Island

by Iain Crichton Smith

For an eleven-year-old boy, living with his widowed mother and younger brother in a remote seaside village on one of the Western Isles of Scotland, growing up has its difficulties, as well as its idyllic pleasures....

A Field Full of Folk

by Iain Crichton Smith

The world, in Iain Crichton Smith’s vision is a field full of folk; and one Scottish village is its microcosm. Here, the Minister wrestles with his loss of faith, and his cancer, concealing them even from...

An Honourable Death

by Iain Crichton Smith

‘Iain Crichton Smith writes like a poet, with strong natural rhythm and precise observation’ – The Times In the summer of 1870, a seventeen-year-old crofter’s son turned his back on his apprenticeship...

The Dream

by Iain Crichton Smith

‘A superb novel … it must be accorded tremendous acclaim’ – Scotland on Sunday ‘Iain Crichton Smith writes like a poet, with strong natural rhythm and precise observation’ – The Times In the grey streets...

British Bulldog

by Sara Sheridan

British Bulldog is the fourth instalment in Sara Sheridan’s best-selling 1950s murder mystery series featuring stylish sleuth Mirabelle Bevan. Following a mystery bequest, Mirabelle sets out on the trail of...

The Art of Waiting

by Christopher Jory

A tale of love, revenge and survival against the odds, set in Venice and Russia in the 1940s. ‘A profoundly moving novel with echoes of Vasily Grossman that sweeps you from Russia to Italy over the course of...