Nathaniel Hawthorne (103 books)


icon Add a book


Most Popular

Publication Date











Nathaniel Hawthorne was born on July 4, 1804, in Salem, Massachusetts, where his birthplace is now a museum. William Hathorne, who emigrated from England in 1630, was the first of Hawthorne's ancestors to arrive in the colonies. After arriving, William persecuted Quakers. William's son John Hathorne was one of the judges who oversaw the Salem Witch Trials. (One theory is that having learned about… (more)


The Scarlet Letter

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

The Scarlet Letter, published in 1850, is an American novel written by Nathaniel Hawthorne and is generally considered to be his magnum opus. Set in 17th-century Puritan Boston, it tells the story of Hester...

The House of the Seven Gables

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

In a sleepy little New England village stands a dark, weather-beaten, many-gabled house. This brooding mansion is haunted by a centuries-old curse that casts the shadow of ancestral sin upon the last four members...

The Minister's Black Veil

La lettera scarlatta

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

"La lettera scarlatta", pubblicato nel 1850, è un classico della letteratura statunitense scritto da Nathaniel Hawthorne. Ambientato nel New England puritano nel XVII secolo, il romanzo racconta la storia di...

Rappaccini's Daughter

The Birth-Mark

Biographical Stories

Young Goodman Brown

The Blithedale Romance

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

The principal setting is a communal farm called Blithedale (i.e., "Happy Valley"), a would-be modern Arcadia along the lines of the anti-capitalist ideals of Charles Fourier, yet is nonetheless destroyed by...

Fire Worship

The Marble Faun

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

The Marble Faun is Hawthorne's most unusual romance, and possibly one of the strangest major works of American fiction. Writing on the eve of the American Civil War, Hawthorne set his story in a fantastical...

Dr. Heidegger's Experiment

A Bell's Biography

A Book of Autographs

The Ambitious Guest

La Lettre écarlate

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

À Boston, dans la Nouvelle-Angleterre puritaine du XVIIe siècle, Hester Prynne, jeune épouse d'un vieux savant anglais dont on est maintenant sans nouvelles, a commis le péché d'adultère et refuse de révéler...

David Swan

The May-Pole of Merry Mount

My Kinsman, Major Molineux

The Snow-Image

The Paradise for Children

Earth's Holocaust

Egotism; or, The Bosom Serpent

The Haunted Mind

An Old Woman's Tale

Roger Malvin's Burial

The Dragon's Teeth

The Artist of the Beautiful

The Celestial Railroad


Graves and Goblins

The Great Stone Face

The Golden Fleece

My Visit To Niagara

Ethan Brand

Endicott and the Red Cross


The Gorgon's Head

The Canterbury Pilgrims

The New Adam and Eve

Main Street

Christmas Banquet

The Hollow of the Three Hills

The Ancestral Footstep

The Hall of Fantasy

The Miraculous Pitcher

The Antique Ring

John Inglefield's Thanksgiving

A Select Party

The Old Manse

The Devil in Manuscript

Feathertop: A Moralized Legend

Little Annie's Ramble

The Prophetic Pictures

Circe's Palace

Buds and Bird Voices


The Man of Adamant

Footprints on the Seashore

A Rill from the Town Pump

Browne's Folly

Septimius Felton

The Journal of a Solitary Man

Monsieur du Miroir

P's Correspondence

The Minotaur

Legends of the Province House

Passages from a Relinquished Work

Drowne's Wooden Image

The Gentle Boy

The Wedding Knell

The Great Carbuncle

The Pygmies

Chippings with a Chisel

The Intelligence Office

Edward Fane's Rosebud

Mrs. Bullfrog

Peter Goldthwaite's Treasure

Sunday at Home

The Village Uncle

The Pomegranate Seeds

The Procession of Life

Sketches From Memory

The White Old Maid

Mr. Higginbotham's Catastrophe

Fancy's Show-box

The Gray Champion

The Old Apple Dealer

Dr Buillivant

The Threefold Destiny

The Shaker Bridal

The Seven Vagabonds

Old Ticonderoga

The Sister-years

The Toll-gatherer's Day

Old News

Sights from a Steeple

The Lily's Quest

Little Daffydowndilly

The Vision of the Fountain

Sylph Etherege

Der scharlachrote Buchstabe

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

Die Handlung des Romans spielt in einer strenggläubigen Siedlung in Neuengland zu Zeiten des amerikanischen Puritanismus, also gegen Ende des 17. Jahrhunderts. Hawthorne erzählt die Geschichte der Ehebrecherin...


by Nathaniel Hawthorne

-El anciano campeón -El entierro de Róger Malvin -El experimento del doctor Héidegger -El joven Goodman Brown -El May-Pole de Merry Mount -Feathertop -Leyendas de la Casa Provincial I. La mascarada de Howe...