The Horrible

by Guy de Maupassant (Author), A. E Henderson (Translator)
Buy for $2.99 Excerpt

Dinner party conversation does not tend to include mysterious drownings which cost multiple people their lives. It is bound to turn even sourer when one attendee takes it upon himself to vividly describe his military career in an attempt to prove that there are worse ways to die than simply drowning. A dramatic short piece, "The Horrible" is a suspenseful dive into life, death, and conversation - perfect for fans of Anton Chekhov's short stories.



Guy de Maupassant (1850-1893) was a French writer. Famed for being a master of the short story, he also wrote travel books and occasionally dabbled in poetry. His stories mainly focus on the relationships between men and women sitting at crossroads in their lives - whether personal or professional. His dramatic flair is largely influenced by French novelist Gustave Flaubert and is perfect for fans of Anton Chekhov's short stories. The most notable of the 300 short stories that he wrote include 'Bel Ami', 'Une Vie', and 'The Dumpling'.

Protection
Watermark
Format
EPUB
Publication date
November 11, 2021
Publisher
Collection
ISBN
9788726666311