Anne of Geierstein

by Walter Scott (Author)
Buy for $2.99 Excerpt

‘Anne of Geierstein’ is a gothic romance and adventure novel by Walter Scott. For this tale, Scott abandons his typical Scottish setting as the story follows two knights on a secret mission in Switzerland in the 1470s. This is one of Scott’s most critically acclaimed novels as it opens on a dramatic cliff edge scene and the suspense continues to escalate throughout. One of the knights, Arthur, meets the titular Anne and falls in love with her but quickly learns that she may have mystical powers. Danger is ever-present throughout their journey as the heroes encounter spectral beings, are kidnapped by secret organisations, and battle in a brutal war. ‘Anne of Geierstein’ is celebrated widely for Scott’s romantic depictions of the Swiss landscape from forests to mountains and crumbling castles. This thrilling novel is the definition of a page-turner, and its gothic aspects make it the perfect read for fans of Walter Scott or ‘Frankenstein’.



Walter Scott (1771 – 1832) was a Scottish writer, poet, and historian. Fascinated by traditional storytelling, during the 1790s Scott dedicated himself to researching and collecting ballads and published the epic collection ‘Minstrelsy of the Scottish Border’ in 1802. A prominent poet, Scott also wrote and published a range of poems, including the popular ‘The Lady of the Lake.’ His first historical novel ‘Waverley’ was published in 1814, whereupon it was an immediate success, receiving critical acclaim and selling out many printings. His best-known work ‘Ivanhoe’ followed in 1820. Scott died in 1832 at the age of 61. He was commemorated after his death with monuments in Edinburgh, Glasgow, and New York due to his impact on western literature. His literary works influenced and inspired many other great authors such as Virginia Woolf. Internationally renowned, Scott’s literary legacy continues to be felt all over the world to this day.

Format
EPUB
Protection
Watermark
Publication date
May 12, 2022
Publisher
Page count
298
ISBN
9788726646498
subscribe

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy