English literature / Irish literature

New Releases

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (131)

French (114)

German (0)

Spanish (148)

Italian (248)

 

Origin

Delete Irish literature

 

Fiction

Mystery & Detective (60)

Literary (26)

Historical (16)

Thrillers (10)

Fantasy (9)

Short Stories (5)

Horror (2)

Science Fiction (1)

Humorous (1)

 

Audience

Adult (131)

 

Protection

All (131)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (131)

More options

A Fanatic Heart

by Edna O'Brien

In these selections from twenty years of her best short fiction, Edna O'Brien's A Fanatic Heart pulls the reader into a woman's experience.

Her stories portray a young Irish girl's view of obsessive love and...


Little Constructions

by Anna Burns

The darkly comic second novel from the author of the Man Booker Prize winner Milkman, now available in the United States

In the small town of Tiptoe Floorboard, the Doe clan, a close-knit family of criminals...


Highfire

by Eoin Colfer

True Detective meets Swamp Thing in the Artemis Fowl author’s neo-noirish thriller about a curmudgeonly dragon in Louisiana.” —Guardian

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Artemis Fowl...


Time and Tide

by Edna O'Brien

A newly reissued novel from the author of Girl, "one of the most celebrated writers in the English language" (NPR's Weekend Edition)

"As her disturbing novel clearly reveals, Edna O'Brien possesses what Henry...


My Coney Island Baby

by Billy O'Callaghan

An exquisite, heart-breaking novel by an Irish discovery.

Radiant with beauty, longing, and desire, and deeply touching, this literary novel, reminiscent of the works of William Trevor and Colm Tóibín, evokes...


When All Is Said

by Anne Griffin

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER & INDIE NEXT PICK

"Griffin's stunning debut, brimming with irresistible Irish-isms, is an elegy to love, loss and the complexity of life." -People Magazine

One of Goodreads' 43 Most...


The Stone's Heart

The Queen's Wing #2

by Jessica Thorne

Something evil is gathering power in the kingdom. It knows the secrets in your heart, and nobody is safe…

 

Petra Kel – young and headstrong – has been named General of the Queen’s Guard. But while Petra’s...


Receptor

by Alan Glynn

"[Receptor], Alan Glynn's sequel to The Dark Fields (the inspiration for the film Limitless starring Bradley Cooper), grippingly imagines the origins of MDT-48--the series' infamous 'smart drug,' which realizes...


Death of a Novice

Reverend Mother #5

by Cora Harrison

The sudden death of a young novice nun raises a series of puzzling questions in the latest Reverend Mother historical mystery.

The Reverend Mother is delighted with her new entrant to the convent. Young Sister...


The Bespoke Hitman

by Sam Millar

Sometimes robbing a bank can become a lot more dangerous than you planned.

Halloween night. Belfast city centre. In the freezing, pelting rain, three men in wolf costumes decide to rob a bank. Everything goes...


Black Helicopters

Tinfoil Dossier #2

by Caitlin R. Kiernan

A dark jewel of a novella, this definitive edition of Caitlín R. Kiernan's Black Helicopters is the expanded and completed version of the World Fantasy Award-nominated original.

Just as the Signalman stood...


Black Water

by Cormac O'Keeffe

A TAUT, COMPELLING CRIME THRILLER SET IN DUBLIN, FOR FANS OF SAM BLAKE AND ALEX BARCLAY

Tara Crowe is on a mission to clean up the gangs that rule the lawless streets alongside Dublin’s Grand Canal. Which means...


Heartland

by Patrick McCabe

‘This world is a bad dream.’

Seven men wait in Mervyn’s Mountain Bar, awaiting the arrival of Tony Begley and his six-inch boning knife, Sweety. Ray ‘Ringo’ Wade hides above them in the rafters, silent...


Gruesome Discovery, A

Reverend Mother #4

by Cora Harrison

The Reverend Mother receives a decidedly gruesome gift in this compelling Irish historical mystery.

Ireland. 1925.

Like all who seek charitable contributions, Reverend Mother Aquinas is used to being gifted some...


The Library at the Edge of the World

Finfarran Peninsula #1

by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

November 2017 LibraryReads Pick

In the bestselling tradition of Fannie Flagg and Jenny Colgan comes Felicity Hayes-McCoy’s U.S. debut about a local librarian who must find a way to rebuild her community and...


The Country Girls: Three Novels and an Epilogue

by Edna O'Brien

A treasure of world literature back in print, featuring a new introduction by Eimear McBride

The country girls are Caithleen "Kate" Brady and Bridget "Baba" Brennan, and their story begins in the repressive atmosphere...


The Innocent of Falkland Road

by Carlo Gébler

London, Summer, 1964. The Beatles have just released A Hard Days Night and the swinging sixties are fast approaching. Ralph, twelve years old, waves his mother goodbye as she disappears to the U.S. to work for...


Beyond Absolution

Reverend Mother #3

by Cora Harrison

Reverend Mother Aquinas must discover who murdered a much-loved priest in the third of this compelling new Irish historical mystery series.

Ireland. 1925. Pierced through to the brain, the dead body of the priest...


Wolf on a String

by Benjamin Black

Bestselling author Benjamin Black turns his eye to sixteenth century Prague and a story of murder, magic and the dark art of wielding extraordinary power

Christian Stern, an ambitious young scholar and alchemist,...


What She Saw

by Gerard Stembridge

A taut, stylish thriller set over the course of twenty-four hours in Paris—perfect for fans of Chris Pavone's The Expats and Olen Steinhauer's The Tourist.

The storied Hotel Chevalier on Paris’ ritzy Right...