Human Science / Philosophy / History & Surveys

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete History & Surveys

 

In category

Modern (66)

Ancient & Classical (63)

Medieval (3)

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English

French

German

Spanish

Italian

 

Protection

All (146)

DRM Free (143)

DRM (3)

More options

Jenseits von Gut und Böse

by Friedrich Nietzsche

Die Serie "Meisterwerke der Literatur" beinhaltet die Klassiker der deutschen und weltweiten Literatur in einer Sammlung für Ihren eBook Reader. Lesen Sie die besten Werke großer Schriftsteller,Poeten, Autoren...


Morgenröte

by Friedrich Nietzsche

Die Serie "Meisterwerke der Literatur" beinhaltet die Klassiker der deutschen und weltweiten Literatur in einer Sammlung für Ihren eBook Reader. Lesen Sie die besten Werke großer Schriftsteller,Poeten, Autoren...


Aristoteles

by Wolfgang Detel

Aristoteles erfand eine große Anzahl wirkungsmächtiger Ideen und Theorien - von der Logik über die Metaphysik, rationale Theologie und Biologie bis hin zu Ethik und politischer Philosophie. Wolfgang Detel...


Sokrates. Apologie der Pluralität

by Hannah Arendt & Joachim Kalka

Hannah Arendt dachte zeitlebens im Horizont Sokrates'. Schon in den amerikanischen Anfängen stellte sie den Lehrer Platons in den Mittelpunkt ihrer Versuche, ein politisch relevantes und persönlich haltbares...


Geschichte des Materialismus und Kritik seiner Bedeutung in der Gegenwart (Vollständige Ausgabe: Band 1&2)

by Friedrich Albert Lange

Dieses eBook: "Geschichte des Materialismus und Kritik seiner Bedeutung in der Gegenwart (Vollständige Ausgabe: Band 1&2)" ist mit einem detaillierten und dynamischen Inhaltsverzeichnis versehen und wurde sorgfältig...


Texte Schriften

by Karl Marx & Bruno Kern

Wem gehört eigentlich Karl Marx? Wahrscheinlich verhält es sich hier nicht viel anders als im Fall der Bibel: Auch sie ist nicht einfach der Alleinbesitz gläubiger Juden und Christen, sondern ein Menschheitserbe,...


Darf man Tiere essen?

by Plutarch & Marion Giebel

Der Mensch ist kein Fleischfresser: Schließlich muss er Fleisch erst künstlich zubereiten, damit es überhaupt bekömmlich ist. Vegetarier leben gesünder und fühlen sich leichter und freier. Zeilen aus dem...


Über Wahrheit und Lüge im außermoralischen Sinn

by Friedrich Nietzsche & Kai Sina

»Was also ist Wahrheit? Ein bewegliches Heer von Metaphern, Metonymien, Anthropomorphismen kurz eine Summe von menschlichen Relationen, die, poetisch und rhetorisch gesteigert, übertragen, geschmückt wurden,...


Populäre Geschichte der Philosophie (Vollständige Ausgabe)

by Karl Vorländer

Dieses eBook: "Populäre Geschichte der Philosophie (Vollständige Ausgabe)" ist mit einem detaillierten und dynamischen Inhaltsverzeichnis versehen und wurde sorgfältig korrekturgelesen. Inhalt: Morgenland...


Mord, Geständnis, Widerruf

by Michael Niehaus

Mord, Geständnis, Widerruf ist Text, Kommentar und Analyse der Verhörprotokolle in einer Mordsache. Nach Abschaffung der Folter soll der Wagnermeister Jakob Sauter mit kommunikativen Mitteln zum Geständnis...


Der Leinwandphilosoph

by Mark Rowlands & Yamin von Rauch

Was verbindet Neo, den Protagonisten aus Matrix, und René Descartes? Beide rätseln, ob die Wirklichkeit existiert.Die zentralen Thesen der Philosophie lassen sich aus ein paar Science-Fiction-Filmen herausfiltern,...


Wissen ohne Relevanz (Telepolis)

by Reinhard Jellen

Haben sich Geisteswissenschaftler zu lange im postmodernen Dogmatismus ausgeruht und nichts wirklich Neues auf die Beine gestellt? Haben sie mit unscharfen "Buh-Wörtern" wie "Szientismus" und "Reduktionismus"...


Geschichte der Philosophie - Vollständige Ausgabe: Band 1&2

by Karl Vorländer

Dieses eBook: "Geschichte der Philosophie - Vollständige Ausgabe: Band 1&2" ist mit einem detaillierten und dynamischen Inhaltsverzeichnis versehen und wurde sorgfältig korrekturgelesen. Inhalt: Vorsokratische...


Die Welträtsel

by Ernst Haeckel

Die Serie "Meisterwerke der Literatur" beinhaltet die Klassiker der deutschen und weltweiten Literatur in einer Sammlung für Ihren eBook Reader. Lesen Sie die besten Werke großer Schriftsteller,Poeten, Autoren...


Die Anarchie der Stille

by Hans Saner

Das Buch bricht aus der herkömmlichen philosophischen Schriftstellerei radikal aus. Es bindet sich weder an eine Einheit des Themas noch der Methode, noch des Stils. Es vertritt keine Lehre und propagiert keinen...


Franz Kafka

by Franz Kafka

Franz Kafka läßt sich nicht in eine bestimmte literarische Richtung einordnen, war aber ohne Zweifel einer der bedeutendsten deutschsprachigen Schriftsteller. Seine unvergleichliche Art, die Lebensängste...


Differenz der demokritischen und epikureischen Naturphilosophie (Vollständige Ausgabe)

by Karl Marx

Dieses eBook: "Differenz der demokritischen und epikureischen Naturphilosophie (Vollständige Ausgabe)" ist mit einem detaillierten und dynamischen Inhaltsverzeichnis versehen und wurde sorgfältig korrekturgelesen....


Gesammelte Werke: Philosophische Schriften + Kulturgeschichtliche Werke + Romane + Erzählungen + Autobiografie (34 Titel in einem Buch ­ Vollständige Ausgaben)

by Fritz Mauthner

Dieses eBook: "Gesammelte Werke: Philosophische Schriften + Kulturgeschichtliche Werke + Romane + Erzählungen + Autobiografie (34 Titel in einem Buch ­ Vollständige Ausgaben)" ist mit einem detaillierten...


Platon - Die großen Dialoge

by Platon

Platons Meisterdialoge und seine fiktive Verteidigungsrede des Sokrates ("Apologie") gelten als Meilensteine in der Geschichte der Philosophie. Die lange Tradition des philosophischen Streitgesprächs haben...


Göttliches Vorherwissen und menschliche Freiheit

by Eleonore Stump, Georg Gasser & Johannes Grössl

Allwissenheit ist eine zentrale Eigenschaft Gottes in der klassischen christlichen Gotteslehre. Sie umfasst auch das Vorherwissen Gottes über Zukünftiges. Gleichzeitig betont die christliche Tradition auch...

Human Science / Philosophy / History & Surveys

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (619)

French (205)

German (48)

Spanish (132)

Italian (230)

 

Category

Delete History & Surveys

 

In category

Ancient & Classical (258)

Modern (177)

Medieval (62)

 

Audience

Adult (619)

 

Protection

All (619)

DRM Free (196)

DRM (357)

More options

Plato's Republic as a Philosophical Drama on Doing Well

by Ivor Ludlam

Transcending dominant debates of whether Plato's Republic is about the ideal state, the soul, art, or education, Ivor Ludlam's analysis treats the dialogue as pure conversation. Returning to the original Greek,...


Descartes' Temporal Dualism

by Rebecca Lloyd Waller

Time plays many crucial roles in Descartes’ physics, metaphysics, and epistemology, but has been an understudied area of his philosophy. Rebecca Lloyd Waller argues for a new interpretation of Descartes’...


Metaphilosophy

by Nicholas Rescher

Nicholas Rescher unites two facets of metaphilosophy to show that the historical perspective and forward-thinking normative, or systematic, approach are, together, an integral component of philosophy itself....


Nietzsche, Tension, and the Tragic Disposition

by Matthew Tones

Nietzsche, Tension, and the Tragic Disposition exposes the role of tension in Nietzsche’s recovery, in his mature thought, of the Greek tragic disposition. Matthew Tones examines the ontological structure...


The Philosopher's Plant

by Michael Marder & Mathilde Roussel

Despite their conceptual allergy to vegetal life, philosophers have used germination, growth, blossoming, fruition, reproduction, and decay as illustrations of abstract concepts; mentioned plants in passing...


Comic Cure for Delusional Democracy

by Gene Fendt

Gene Fendt shows how Plato's Republic provides a liturgical purification for the political and psychic delusions of readers, even as Socrates provides the same for his interlocutors at the festival of Bendis....


Wretched Aristotle

by Jude P. Dougherty

About eighty-five years ago, philosophers and literary intellectuals as diverse as Edmund Husserl, George Santayana, and Paul ValZry, aware of the declining influence of Christianity, spoke of 'the crisis of...


An Elegant and Learned Discourse of the Light of Nature

by Nathaniel Culverwell, Robert A. Greene & Hugh MacCallum

An Elegant and Learned Discourse of the Light of Nature is a concerted effort at intellectual mediation in the deep religious dispute of the English civil war in the seventeenth century. On one side was the...


The Law of Nations

by Emer de Vattel, Béla Kapossy & Richard Whatmore

The great eighteenth-century theorist of international law Emer de Vattel (1714?1767) was a key figure in sustaining the practical and theoretical influence of natural jurisprudence through the Revolutionary...


An Essay on the Nature and Conduct of the Passions and Affections, with Illustrations on the Moral Sense

by Francis Hutcheson & Aaron Garrett

In An Essay on the Nature and Conduct of the Passions and Affections, with Illustrations on the Moral Sense, Francis Hutcheson answers the criticism that had been leveled against his first book, Inquiry into...


Intellectual Citizenship and the Problem of Incarnation

by Peter Eglin

“Who has the right to know?” asks Jean-Francois Lyotard. “Who has the right to eat?” asks Peter Madaka Wanyama. This book asks: “what does it mean to be a responsible academic in a ‘northern’ university...


Beatific Enjoyment in Medieval Scholastic Debates

by Severin Valentinov Kitanov

Beatific Enjoyment in Medieval Scholastic Debates examines the religious concept of enjoyment as discussed by scholastic theologians in the Latin Middle Ages. Severin Kitanov argues that central to the concept...


Marcel Proust in the Light of William James

by Marilyn M. Sachs

For a century now, scholars have searched for the “source” of Marcel Proust’s startlingly innovative novel À la recherche du temps perdu. Some have pointed to Henri Bergson, Sigmund Freud, or Paul Sollier....


The Ethos of Medicine in Postmodern America

by Arnold R. Eiser

The Ethos of Medicine in Postmodern America is an analysis of medical care, medical education and medical professionalism with reference to the cultural touchstones of the postmodern era: consumerism, computerization,...


The Present State of Germany

by Samuel Pufendorf & Michael J. Seidler

Samuel Pufendorf?s The Present State of Germany was first published in 1667 (under the pseudonym Severinus de Monzambano) and immediately became one of the most notorious works in Europe for the next half century....


A Treatise of the Laws of Nature

by Richard Cumberland & Jon Parkin

A Treatise of the Laws of Nature, originally titled De Legibus Naturae, first appeared in 1672 as a theoretical response to a range of issues that came together during the late 1660s. It conveyed a conviction...


Philosophy and Working-through the Past

by Jeffrey M. Jackson

At certain moments in his political essays, Kant conceives of socio-historical emancipation as a process of working ourselves out of pathological legacies, suggesting that emancipation would involve a process...


Historical Dictionary of Nietzscheanism

by Carol Diethe

Few philosophers have been as popular, prolific, and controversial as Friedrich Nietzsche, who has left his imprint not only on philosophy but on all the arts. Whether it is his concept of the übermensch or...


Cosmological Aesthetics through the Kantian Sublime and Nietzschean Dionysian

by Erman Kaplama

Erman Kaplama explores the principle of transition (Übergang) from metaphysics to physics developed by Kant in his unfinished magnum opus, Opus Postumum. Drawing on the Heraclitean logos and Kant’s notions...


Hegel and Greek Tragedy

by Martin Thibodeau

This study is concerned with the different interpretations of Greek tragedy proposed by G.W.F. Hegel. While Hegel’s philosophical interest in tragedy as an art form is well known, the motivation for his preoccupation...