Human Science / Philosophy / Movements

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Movements

 

In category

Rationalism (5)

Humanism (4)

Pragmatism (4)

Phenomenology (3)

Existentialism (3)

Utilitarianism (3)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (421)

French (61)

German (18)

Spanish (13)

Italian (29)

 

Protection

All (61)

DRM Free (60)

DRM (1)

More options

Le manifeste du philosophe-voyou

by Raphaël et Olivier Saint-Vincent

Ce texte s’origine dans le désir de rendre la philosophie populaire. Populaire parce qu’elle touche à de vraies questions. L’amour, la mort, le désir, le politique, l’éducation, le sexe. Ou le suicide....


Le transhumanisme est-il un humanisme ?

by Gilbert Hottoi, Bebooks Editions & Académie royale de Belgique

Les idées, les critiques, les fantasmes, espoirs et angoisses transhumanistes sont culturellement omniprésents. La notion centrale d’amélioration/augmentation des capacités humaines n’est pas neuve....


C. S. Peirce et le pragmatisme

by Claudine Tiercelin

Pionnier en maints domaines de la logique et de la philosophie – de la connaissance, du langage, des mathématiques, et de la psychologie –, Peirce (1839-1914) est surtout connu pour ses travaux en sémiotique....


Hilary Putnam, l’héritage pragmatiste

by Claudine Tiercelin

Né en 1926 à Chicago, Hilary Putnam est l’une des grandes figures de la philosophie contemporaine, dont l’œuvre diversifiée traverse la philosophie des mathématiques, des sciences, de l’esprit et...


Les horreurs du monde

by André Stanguennec

Phénoménologiquement, l’horreur est une émotion aussi fondamentale que l’angoisse ou la joie dans notre rapport au monde. Pourtant, en dehors de quelques notations précieuses de Sartre, elle n’a jamais...


L'idéologie du progrès dans la tourmente du postmodernisme

by (collectif) COLLECTIF

Les articles rassemblés dans cet ouvrage sont le fruit d’un colloque multidisciplinaire, dont l’ambition était de s’interroger sur la notion de « progrès », mise à mal par la postmodernité et...


Les maximes du philosophe-voyou

by Raphaël et Olivier Saint-Vincent

Partant du principe que la philosophie n’a jamais pris le chemin qu’elle aurait dû suivre, les Jumeaux Saint-Vincent proposent un premier opus de maximes, ce genre oublié, relégué aux moralistes. La...


Le Bien et la loi morale

by Clémence Royer & Ligaran

Extrait : "Qu'est-ce que le bien ? Une pareille question peut paraître oiseuse. Il semble, tout d'abord, qu'elle soit aisée à résoudre ; que tout le monde doive tomber d'accord sur sa solution ; que chacun,...


Leçons de philosophie

by Pierre Laromiguière & Ligaran

Extrait : " Messieurs, Nous allons continuer l'étude de la philosophie. C'est ainsi que nous désignons, tous, l'objet que nous désirons de connaître. Mais on peut être d'accord sur le langage sans avoir...


Leçons de philosophie

by Pierre Laromiguière & Ligaran

Extrait : "La philosophie, oubliant ce qu'elle devait à la parole, l'a quelquefois accusée d'être un obstacle au mouvement de la pensée et aux progrès de la raison. Aucune erreur ne semble plus naturelle,...


Aphorismes sur la sagesse dans la vie

by Arthur Schopenhauer & Ligaran

Extrait : "Aristote (Morale à Nicomaque, I, 8) a divisé les biens de la vie humaine en trois classes, les biens extérieurs, ceux de l'âme et ceux du corps."


Matière et mémoire

by Henri Bergson & Ligaran

Extrait : "Le point de départ de notre travail a été l'analyse qu'on trouvera dans le troisième chapitre de ce livre. Nous montrons dans ce chapitre, sur l'exemple précis du souvenir, que le même phénomène...


Miscellanea philosophiques

by Ligaran & Denis Diderot

Extrait de la notice préliminaire : "Naigeon nous donne quelques renseignements sur les procédés de travail de Diderot. Les voici : « Diderot, dit-il, avait contracté depuis très longtemps l'habitude d'écrire...


Pensées philosophiques

by Ligaran & Denis Diderot

"Les Pensées philosophiques" furent composées, dit-on, du Vendredi saint au Lundi de Pâques 1746.


Pensées sur l'interprétation de la nature

by Ligaran & Denis Diderot

Extrait de la notice : "On a dit que Diderot avait collaboré activement au premier ouvrage d'Helvétius : "De l'Esprit". Il est difficile et de nier cette collaboration et de la prouver. Il a sans doute fourni...


Physique

by Aristote & Ligaran

Extrait : "Définition de la nature : elle est dans les êtres, le principe du mouvement et du repos. Des êtres naturels. L'existence de la nature est évidente ; il n'est pas nécessaire de la démontrer."...


Physique

by Aristote & Ligaran

Extrait : "Or il n'en est pas dans la nature de plus certain ni de plus évident que le mouvement sous toutes ses formes ; et voilà comment la Physique d'Aristote n'est au fond qu'une théorie du mouvement....


Les Caractères

by Jean De La Bruyère & Ligaran

Extrait : "C'est un métier que de faire un livre, comme de faire une pendule : il faut plus que de l'esprit pour être auteur. Un magistrat allait par son mérite à la première dignité, il était homme délié...


Lettre sur les aveugles, à l'usage de ceux qui voient

by Ligaran & Denis Diderot

Extrait : "Je me doutais bien, madame, que l'aveugle-né, à qui M. de Réaumur vient de faire abattre la cataracte, ne nous apprendrait pas ce que vous vouliez savoir ; mais je n'avais garde de deviner que...


Lettre sur les sourds et muets, à l'usage de ceux qui entendent et qui voient

by Ligaran & Denis Diderot

Extrait : "Qu'on vous demande ce que c'est qu'un corps, vous répondrez que c'est une substance étendue, impénétrable, figurée, colorée et mobile. Mais ôtez de cette définition tous les adjectifs, que...

Human Science / Philosophy / Movements

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (426)

French (61)

German (6)

Spanish (60)

Italian (32)

 

Category

Delete Movements

 

In category

Phenomenology (162)

Existentialism (63)

Pragmatism (46)

Humanism (45)

Deconstruction (45)

Rationalism (21)

Utilitarianism (16)

Structuralism (10)

 

Audience

Adult (426)

 

Protection

All (426)

DRM Free (163)

DRM (183)

More options

Making Sense of Heidegger

by Thomas Sheehan

Making Sense of Heidegger presents a radically new reading of Heidegger’s notoriously difficult oeuvre. Clearly written and rigorously grounded in the whole of Heidegger’s writings, Thomas Sheehan’s latest...


The Magic of Truth

by Farah Dally

Questions of truth have occupied philosophers, scientists, and theologians throughout human history. What is truth? Does it exist? How do we define truth? Who determines what is true and what is not? The Magic...


Continental Anti-Realism

by Richard Sebold

There has been a resurgence of interest in the problem of realism, the idea that the world exists in the way it does independently of the mind, within contemporary Continental philosophy. Many, if not most,...


The Pragmatists and the Human Logic of Truth

by Claudine Tiercelin

The expression “human logic of truth” is Frank P. Ramsey’s:“Let us therefore try to get an idea of a human logic which shall not attempt to be reducible to formal logic. Logic, we may agree, is concerned...


Avant Garde

by Robin Maconie

Gertrude Stein and philosopher Alfred North Whitehead were unlikely friends who spent most of their mature lives in exile: Stein in France and Whitehead in the United States. Their friendship was based on a...


The Memory of Place

by Dylan Trigg

From the frozen landscapes of the Antarctic to the haunted houses of childhood, the memory of places we experience is fundamental to a sense of self. Drawing on influences as diverse as Merleau-Ponty, Freud,...


Dead Letters to Nietzsche, or the Necromantic Art of Reading Philosophy

by Joanne Faulkner

Dead Letters to Nietzsche examines how writing shapes subjectivity through the example of Nietzsche?s reception by his readers, including Stanley Rosen, David Farrell Krell, Georges Bataille, Laurence Lampert,...


Between You and I

by Beata Stawarska

Classical phenomenology has suffered from an individualist bias and a neglect of the communicative structure of experience, especially the phenomenological importance of the addressee, the inseparability of...


Gadamer's Ethics of Play

by Monica Vilhauer

Gadamer's Ethics of Play: Hermeneutics and the Other examines the ethical dimensions of understanding by focusing on Gadamer's concept of 'play' as it is developed in his magnum opus Truth and Method. Monica...


War Is Not Inevitable

by Henri Parens

In 1932, Freud told Einstein that war is inevitable because humans have an instinct to destroy. However, studies of aggression reveal that rather than being an inborn drive, destructiveness is generated in us...


The Intentional Spectrum and Intersubjectivity

by Michael D. Barber

World-renowned analytic philosophers John McDowell and Robert Brandom, dubbed ?Pittsburgh Neo-Hegelians,? recently engaged in an intriguing debate about perception. In The Intentional Spectrum and Intersubjectivity...


From Mastery to Mystery

by Bryan E. Bannon

From Mastery to Mystery is an original and provocative contribution to the burgeoningfield of ecophenomenology. Informed by current debates in environmental philosophy, Bannon critiques the conception of nature...


Foundations of the Everyday

by Eran Dorfman

We are used to seeing the everyday as an ordinary aspect of life, something that we need to "overcome"; whereas it actually plays a crucial role in any event of our lives. This highly original book engages with...


Finite Transcendence

by Steven A. Burr

Absurdity, time, death—each poses a profound threat to Being, compelling us to face our limits and our finitude. Yet what does it mean to fully realize and experience these threats? Finite Transcendence: Existential...


Light Traces

by John Sallis & Alejandro Arturo Vallega

What is the effect of light as it measures the seasons? How does light leave different traces on the terrain?on a Pacific Island, in the Aegean Sea, high in the Alps, or in the forest? John Sallis considers...


Wild Rides and Wildflowers

by Scott Abbott & Sam Rushforth

"Abbott and Rushforth have a knack for entertaining readers."

BOOKLIST

Two university professors set out to repeatedly bike the Great Western Trail, observing and writing about its variations with every season....


Max Weber and Charles Peirce

by Basit Bilal Koshul

Max Weber and Charles Peirce: At the Crossroads of Science, Philosophy, and Culture shows that a relational conception of science is implicit in Max Weber’s reflections on scientific inquiry as a bridge between...


Why Do We Go to the Zoo?

by Erik A. Garrett

Despite hundreds of millions of visitors each year, zoos have remained outside of the realm of philosophical analysis. This lack of theoretical examination is interesting considering the paradoxical position...


Philosophy and Working-through the Past

by Jeffrey M. Jackson

At certain moments in his political essays, Kant conceives of socio-historical emancipation as a process of working ourselves out of pathological legacies, suggesting that emancipation would involve a process...


The Pragmatic Vision

by Nicholas Rescher

Since C. S. Pierce advocated a pragmatic approach to truth and knowledge, it has been one of the characteristic themes of American philosophy. This book examines how pragmatism's central ideas can be applied...