Religion / Histoire des religions

Meilleures Ventes

icon S'abonner au fil

Navigation

Meilleures Ventes

Nouveautés

 

Catégorie

Delete Histoire des religions

 

Langue

Anglais (1731)

Français (110)

Allemand (88)

Espagnol (86)

Italien (183)

 

Protection

Tout (110)

Sans DRM (77)

DRM (33)

Plus d'options

Histoire du blasphème en Occident

de Alain Cabantous

À évoquer le blasphème, on voit aussitôt surgir tout un monde de marins, de charretiers, d'artisans et de soldats. Jardinieu, palsambleu, morbleu et autres jurons sont à tout propos dans la bouche de ces...


La révolution des paroisses

de Restif Bruno

Étude de la Réforme catholique « au ras du sol », ce travail porte sur l’application concrète, à l’échelle locale, de ce vaste processus de transformation religieuse et culturelle, qui est l’un...


La Parole d'Adam, le corps d'Eve. Le péché originel au XVIe siècle

de Lise Wajeman

Si la représentation d'Adam et Eve connaît au XVIe siècle une actualité particulière, c'est sans doute parce que l'histoire des premiers parents suscite l'intérêt d'un siècle fasciné par la question...


Lire la Bible au Moyen-Age : Essais d’herméneutique médiévale

de Gilbert Dahan

On ne sera pas étonné que le travail des commentateurs médiévaux s’ancre à deux points fondamentaux : l’analyse du langage de l’Ecriture, la possibilité de faire éclater ce langage pour aller au-delà...


Le Huguenot et le sauvage : L'Amérique et la controverse coloniale, en France, au temps des guerres de Religion (1555-1589). Troisième édition revue et augmentée

de Frank Lestringant

Ce livre a pour objet le " corpus huguenot " des textes sur l'Amérique. Au XVIe siècle, la plupart des entreprises conduites par la France au Nouveau Monde sont le fait des protestants, Roberval au Canada,...


Sainte Anne est une sorcière et autres essais

de Jean Wirth

Les chrétiens de la fin du Moyen Age considéraient-ils sainte Anne, la mère de la Vierge, comme une sorcière? Y avait-il de véritables athées au temps de Rabelais? La destruction des images saintes par...


Qu'est-ce qu'une religion ?

de Odon Vallet

Traquer les diverses formes prises par le religieux à travers les âges et les lieux permet de mieux cerner le sens même du sacré. C'est là toute l'oeuvre d'Odon Vallet, docteur en droit et en sciences des...


Les coptes d’Égypte sous Nasser

de Brigitte Voile

Minorité chrétienne d’Égypte, les coptes - environ 6 % de la population - pâtissent à différents niveaux du régime nassérien (1954-1970) qui, malgré des principes laïcs, laisse se développer l’islamisation...


Black Jews

de Edith Bruder

Par quel étrange processus, depuis le début du XXème siècle et surtout dans les dernières décennies, des synagogues de fortune sont-elles sorties de terre au coeur de villages d'Afrique noire ? Edith Bruder,...


Le Diable et l'Enfer

de Bernard Teyssedre

Lorsqu'il nous apparaît dans les Évangiles, le Diable est venu de Qumrân sous un triple visage. Sans cela, pourquoi Jésus serait-il tenté trois fois dans le désert ? Pourquoi trois périls menaceraient-ils...


Initiation aux Livres des morts égyptiens

de Fernand Schwarz

Dans la mentalité de l'Egypte pharaonique, la mort ne mène pas au néant mais au contraire permet l'ascension de l'homme à la seule vie véritable. L'Egypte nous a légué les cartes les plus anciennes sur...


Jésus et Bouddha

de Odon Vallet

Le XXIe sera-t-il celui de la grande rencontre entre Jésus et Bouddha ? Ou, au contraire, les religions "universelles" qu'ils ont fondées entreront-elles en concurrence à l'échelle planétaire ? Odon Vallet,...


L'Égypte intérieure ou les dix plaies de l'âme

de Annick de Souzenelle

À la lumière de la psychologie des profondeurs, de la tradition chrétienne et de la merveilleuse richesse de la langue hébraïque, le livre de l'Exode, qui n'était pour beaucoup que le récit légendaire...


La Polémique chrétienne contre le judaïsme au Moyen Âge

de Gilbert Dahan

Gilbert Dahan, directeur de recherches au CNRS, auteur d'une importante thèse sur les relations entre juifs et chrétiens au Moyen Age, nous présente ici un aspect de ces relations : la polémique théologique...


Chrétiens persécuteurs

de Collectif & Marie-Françoise Baslez

Siècle charnière dans l histoire des religions, le IVe siècle voit le christianisme passer de religion minoritaire et persécutée à religion tolérée et tolérante, puis officielle et parfois répressive....


Les Pères de leur Mère

de Pierre-Emmanuel Dauzat

L'Église a peiné à avoir des Pères, quand il lui a suffi d'une seconde d'Annonciation pour avoir une Mère : six siècles de paternité, et à peine commencée que déjà partagée entre Orient et Occident...


La Clepsydre II

de Sylvie Anne Goldberg & Sylvie-Anne Goldberg

Connaissance du passé, conscience du présent et prescience de l'avenir investissent l'art ordinaire d'habiter le temps. La Clepsydre I étudiait la restitution du passé dans les décomptes qui, dans l'entrelacs...


Le Manuel des inquisiteurs

de Louis Sala-Molins & Nicolau Eymerich

Ecrit au dernier quart du XIVe siècle, Le manuel des inquisiteurs était destiné, à l'origine, aux seuls évêques et inquisiteurs. Voici désormais à la portée de chacun la, pratique inquisitoriale imposée...


Sagesse sémitique

de Claire Lalouette

Parlant des langues aux racines identiques, les Sémites ont développé des conceptions très proches du monde, de la divinité et de la société dans des textes qui déploient un même imaginaire, un même...


À la croisée des trois monothéismes

de Roger Arnaldez

Les rencontres des trois monothéismes ont été fructueuses sous le regard de Dieu, quand elles ont été inspirées par une certaine communauté d'aspirations, spirituelles et intellectuelles, par des conceptions...

Religion / History of Religions

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (1476)

French (375)

German (58)

Spanish (83)

Italian (286)

 

Category

Delete History of Religions

 

Audience

Adult (1476)

 

Protection

All (1476)

DRM Free (308)

DRM (803)

More options

A Search for Meaning in Victorian Religion

by Jeffrey D. Lavoie

The purpose of this project is to contextualize the teachings of Charles Carleton Massey’s writings into history and modernity through a two-fold approach: to provide a biography of this fascinating mystic...


Renegade Gospel [Large Print]

by Mike Slaughter

Central to the Christian faith is a man who denies all our pre-conceived notions about what God should look like. Joining his movement will mean coming to terms with the real Jesus, the rebel Jesus.

Jesus didn’t...


Jewish Catacombs

by Elsa Laurenzi

This slender well-written book is packed with easy-toread information about the structure of the Jewish community of Rome and the politics and history of the city where it developed and grew. Not an easy task...


Like Them That Dream

by Brownwyn Elsmore

The arrival of European missionaries in New Zealand had an immeasurable impact on Maori society. Like Them That Dream tells the intriguing story of early interaction between Maori and missionary, leading to...


All I Really Want

by Quinn G. Caldwell

Sometimes the happiest and holiest time of the year is also the hardest for people to enjoy. These daily readings offer the skeptic, the over-committed the opportunity to make room-perhaps just enough room-for...


Me and We

by Leonard Sweet

When Christians answer the clarion call to be missional, too often it is primarily to feel good or to grow in their own faith. But ultimately we remain unsatisfied because, in the end, it’s still about “me”—my...


Rally the Scattered Believers

by Shelby M. Balik

Northern New England, a rugged landscape dotted with transient settlements, posed challenges to the traditional town church in the wake of the American Revolution. Using the methods of spatial geography, Shelby...


The Other Jesus

by Todd Outcalt

We’re familiar with the Jesus portrayed in the New Testament, but many people are surprised to learn that a wealth of stories and traditions about Jesus have always existed alongside the usual Biblical sources....


Under Wraps Adult Study Book

by Jessica LaGrone, Rob Renfroe, Ed Robb & Andy Nixon

Under Wraps is an all-church Advent experience that explores the character of God described in the Old Testament and then revealed through Jesus Christ. Through small group resources for all ages, teaching...


Under Wraps Devotional

by Jessica LaGrone, Rob Renfroe, Ed Robb & Andy Nixon

Under Wraps is an all-church Advent experience that explores the character of God described in the Old Testament and then revealed through Jesus Christ. Through small group resources for all ages, teaching...


Frog Town

by Laurence Armand French

Frog Town describes in detail a French Canadian parish that was unique due to the high density of both Acadian and Quebecois settlers that were situated in a Yankee stronghold of Puritan stock. This demography...


Questions for Christians

by John Morreall

Questions for Christians: The Surprising Truths behind Basic Beliefs asks whether or not Christians today have gotten Jesus’ message right, drawing on the Bible and the history of Christianity for answers....


Nuestra Fe

by Justo L. González & Odina E. Gonazlez

Spanning more than 500 years, this illustrated book covers the rich history of Christianity in Latin America. The authors use an analytical framework as they describe the institutional religious history for...


Masters of Preaching

by Ray E. Atwood & Jerome Hanus

The history of Catholic homiletics is rich and layered with theology and spirituality. Every period of Church history contains preachers who have been blessed with oratorical skills and spiritual depth. They...


Christian Archaeology in the Negev Desert

by Pau Figueras

Negev, the southern desert that covers more than two thirds of the Holy Land, is terra incognita to most Christian pilgrims who visit Israel. Some journey as far south as Eilat to visit the traditional site...


Papacy, Religious Orders, and International Politics in the Sixteenth and Seventeenth Centuries

by Autori Vari & Massimo Carlo Giannini

During the early modern age religious orders had to interpret papal strategies and directives in international politics in the light of a substantial ambiguity. They were loyal subjects of the pope, but also...


God, Locke, and Liberty

by Joseph Loconte

“I no sooner perceived myself in the world,” wrote English philosopher John Locke, “than I found myself in a storm.” The storm of which Locke spoke was the maelstrom of religious fanaticism and intolerance...


American Protestants and the Debate over the Vietnam War

by George Bogaski

As American soldiers fought overseas in Vietnam, American churchmen debated the legitimacy and impact of the war at home. While the justness of the war was the primary issue, they also argued over conscientious...


Denial and Repression of Antisemitism

by Jovan Byford

Bishop Nikolaj Velimirović (1881–1956) is arguably one the most controversial figures in contemporary Serbian national culture. Having been vilified by the former Yugoslav Communist authorities as a fascist...


The Invention of Peter

by George E. Demacopoulos

On the first anniversary of his election to the papacy, Leo the Great stood before the assembly of bishops convening in Rome and forcefully asserted his privileged position as the heir of Peter the Apostle....