Religion / Religion et société

Meilleures Ventes

icon S'abonner au fil

Navigation

Meilleures Ventes

Nouveautés

Notre Sélection

 

Catégorie

Delete Religion et société

 

Langue

Anglais (1202)

Français (96)

Allemand (65)

Espagnol (177)

Italien (165)

 

Protection

Tout (96)

Sans DRM (53)

DRM (43)

Plus d'options

Regards spirituels et engagements pour la vie

de Jean François Obembe

Sur le chemin de la paix, il est des enseignements et des valeurs dont l’homme ne peut se passer. Ces valeurs et principes sont principalement tirés de la Bible et des interprétations des « hommes de Dieu...


Le rôle de la femme dans la vie de l'Eglise

de Benoît Xvi

Voici 18 portraits de femmes, presque toutes reconnues saintes, et dont la vie est fortement édifiante, que ce soit par leur piété, leur dévouement, leur force d’âme, leur intelligence... 18 personnes...


Vérité et pertinence

de Gregory Baum

Après la Révolution tranquille, l’Église catholique a lentement perdu son pouvoir prédominant au Québec. En dépit de ce déclin, ou peut-être à cause de lui, la pensée catholique qui s’est développée...


Chers Amis de Partenia...

de Mgr Jacques Gaillot

« J'ai fait un rêve : celui de pouvoir accompagner les pauvres, les exclus, les pas grand-chose, sans avoir à m'expliquer, me justifier auprès des riches, des nantis, des confortables. Celui de pouvoir me...


Son visage et le tien

de Alexis Jenni

« Ce qui est là, et d'une façon très intense, c'est la vie avant la mort, celle où je suis, celle où nous sommes ensemble, celle qui me porte, m'imprègne et m'anime. Cette vie-là a valeur d'éternité....


Dialogue sur le chemin initiatique

de Karlfried Graf Durckheim

144 Prêtre orthodoxe, Alphonse Goettmann s'entretient ici avec Karlfried Graf Dürckheim, dont l'enseignement a marqué toute une génération de chercheurs spirituels.

La mystique chrétienne - notamment celle...


Ma liberté dans l'Église

de Mgr Jacques Gaillot

Évêque du scandale pour les uns, missionnaire des temps nouveaux pour les autres, monseigneur Gaillot fait régulièrement la une de l'actualité par ses déclarations fracassantes et ses prises de position...


Lettre ouverte au pape qui veut nous asséner la vérité absolue dans toute sa splendeur

de Bernard Besret

Ancien prieur de Boquen, docteur en théologie, Bernard Besret avait lancé après le Concile de Vatican II un immense mouvement rénovateur. Puis, démis de toutes ses fonctions, il quitta les ordres définitivement,...


Le Baiser de Dieu

de Annick de Souzenelle

Au long de décennies passées à interroger le texte biblique et les mystères de sa langue, Annick de Souzenelle a construit une lecture originale et vivante de la tradition prophétique, qui atteint ici sa...


Le Honteux et le Sacré

de Odon Vallet

Quel rapport peut-il y avoir entre les mots "vénérable" et "vénérien", entre le "sain" et le "saint" , entre la "caresse" et la "charité" ... et a fortiori entre le "Testament" biblique et le "testicule"...


Petit lexique des hérésies chrétiennes

de Michel Théron

Qui étaient les Agonyclites, les Condormants ou encore les Melchisédéciens, et en quoi croyaient-ils ? Michel Théron répertorie ici près de deux cents de ces hérésies, de la première moitié du Ier...


L'Esprit du chant

de Serge Wilfart

Ancien ténor professionnels Serge Wilfart travaille depuis plusieurs décennies sur les dimensions thérapeutiques de la voix, ce qui l'a conduit, au-delà du plan psychosomatique, à explorer aussi les dimensions...


Et je serai pour vous un enfant laboureur

de Gabriel Ringlet

Avant d'être le terreau d'une certaine civilisation, l'Évangile est une terre que chacun porte en soi. Une terre qui doit être sans cesse retournée, nous dit Gabriel Ringlet, sous peine de demeurer en friche...


Trajectoires de la neutralité

de Valérie Amiraux & David Koussens

Au cours des débats sur la Charte des valeurs de la laïcité, qui ont animé le Québec d’août 2013 à avril 2014, la neutralité de l’État en matière religieuse et les conditions de sa mise en oeuvre...


S'il te plait, abrège mes souffrances

de Olivier Bonnewijn

S’il te plaît, abrège mes souffrances. Je n’en peux plus. Je suis un poids pour tout le monde. Fais-moi mourir. »

Comment accueillir une telle demande, surtout lorsqu’elle émane d’un parent âgé,...


L'Homme et la Religion

de Paul Chalus

Ce volume ne veut pas être une histoire des religions, mais une étude des mobiles psychologiques qui déterminent l'existence de la Religion, et qui sont, ici, recherchés à travers les plus anciennes et...


Politique et démocratie

de Jean-Luc Deroo & Maxime Leroy

La politique traverse une période extrêmement paradoxale. L’opinion publique la décrie et stigmatise ses représentants officiels. Les puissances financières tentent de la maintenir sous tutelle. La grande...


L'Islam, un ennemi idéal

de John Bowen

De tout temps, dans l'histoire de l'Occident, certains groupes ont fait l'objet de haines profondes : les juifs, les catholiques, les protestants, les Africains, les Slaves, les Roms, les homosexuels, et ainsi...


Oser la bienveillance

de Lytta Basset

Qui croit encore au péché originel ? Les Eglises elles-mêmes n'en parlent plus guère, et la sécularisation nous a fait ranger ce dogme au rang des vieilleries moralisantes. Et pourtant ! Après avoir terrorisé...


Pour l'Amour du Prochain

de Gilles Hirschy

Notre prochain. L’enfant de nos enfants. Cet autre que l’on ne connaît pas mais qui est déjà si dépendant de nous pourtant... Quel avenir allons-nous lui offrir ? Dans ce moment de grande ouverture,...

Religion / Religion and Society

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (699)

French (248)

German (46)

Spanish (88)

Italian (265)

 

Category

Delete Religion and Society

 

Audience

Adult (699)

 

Protection

All (699)

DRM Free (135)

DRM (315)

More options

Luke and Vergil

by Dennis R. MacDonald

These two volumes of The New Testament and Greek Literature are the magnum opus of biblical scholar Dennis R. MacDonald, outlining the profound connections between the New Testament and classical Greek poetry....


So Many Christians, So Few Lions

by George Yancey & David A. Williamson

So Many Christians, So Few Lions is a provocative look at anti-Christian sentiments in America. This book does not attempt to discuss the prevalence of Christianophobia in the U.S., but rather to document it...


The Gospels and Homer

by Dennis R. MacDonald

The two volumes of The New Testament and Classical Greek Literature are the magnum opus of biblical scholar Dennis R. MacDonald, outlining the profound connections between the New Testament and classical Greek...


Historical Dictionary of the Seventh-Day Adventists

by Gary Land

Seventh-day Adventism was born as a radical millenarian sect in nineteenth-century America. It has since spread across the world, achieving far more success in Latin America, Africa, and Asia than in its native...


Political and Spiritual

by Roger S. Gottlieb

Roger S. Gottlieb is internationally known for his groundbreaking studies of religious environmentalism, passionate account of spirituality in an age of environmental crisis, and enlightening vision of the role...


God's Mechanics: How Scientists and Engineers Make Sense of Religion

by Guy Consolmagno

In God's Mechanics, Brother Guy tells the stories of those who identify with the scientific mindset?so-called "techies"?while practicing religion. A full fledged techie himself, he relates some classic philosophical...


Incompatible with God's Design

by Mary Jeremy Daigler

Incompatible with God’s Design is the first comprehensive history of the Roman Catholic women’s ordination movement in the United States. Mary Jeremy Daigler explores how the focus on ordination, and not...


The Darwin Effect

by Dr. Jerry Bergman

Dr. Miklos Nyiszli, an imprisoned doctor in the Auschwitz camp, wrote that Nazi doctors hoped studying twins would solve the problem of faster reproduction of superior races. Nazis hoped to have each German...


Iran Divided

by Shireen T. Hunter

Iranian politics after the revolution have been marked by sharp ideological divisions within the Islamic ranks. Many of the divisions and power struggles date back to the Shah’s era and the ideologically-diverse...


The Synaptic Gospel

by Christopher D. Rodkey

In this book, Christopher D. Rodkey asks how the brain worships and responds by engaging ideas from neurological science, philosophy, ritual theory, and religious education. From this exploration, two new paradigms...


Mystical Science and Practical Religion

by Richard Cimino

Mystical Science and Practical Religion examines the religious discourse employed by Muslim, Hindu, and Sikh applied science professionals and students, mainly engineers and Information Technology (IT) workers....


A History of Medieval Heresy and Inquisition

by Jennifer Kolpacoff Deane

In this concise and balanced survey of heresy and inquisition in the Middle Ages, Jennifer Kolpacoff Deane explores the increasingly bitter encounters between piety, reform, dissent, and the institutional Church...


Evaluating Ministry

by Jill M. Hudson

Grounding evaluation in the theological and organizational context of mission (everyone a minister), Hudson describes case studies of four successful evaluation models that include the whole church. She suggests...


Questions for Christians

by John Morreall

Questions for Christians: The Surprising Truths behind Basic Beliefs asks whether or not Christians today have gotten Jesus’ message right, drawing on the Bible and the history of Christianity for answers....


The Mythology of Eden

by Arthur George & Elena George

The biblical story of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden is a cornerstone of Western civilization, yet there are still many mysteries concerning its origins and meaning. In The Mythology of Eden, Arthur and...


Your Brain Goes to Church

by Bob Sitze

The ever-provocative author and presenter Bob sitze explores the question: What does the human brain have to do with the beliefs, practices, and structures of congregations? Weaving together clear, accessible...


Religion in the New Europe

by Krzysztof Michalski

The articles in this volume deal with the role of Christianity in the definition of European identity. Europeans often identify advanced civilizations with secularity. But religion is very much alive in other...


Religion and Immigration

by Haddad, Jane L. Smith & Esposito

Since its inception, the United States has defined itself as a nation of immigrants and a land of religious freedom. But following September 11, 2001 American openness to immigrants and openness to other beliefs...


Faith-Based Policy

by John Chandler

In 2001, George W. Bush created the White House Office of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives. The driving force behind the policy was to create a “level playing field” where faith-based organizations...


Jesus Consumer

by Michael L. Klassen

Some scholars believe that Jesus’ punitive instructions about possessions and material goods amount to little more than antiquated sayings. By contrast, Jesus Consumer combines modern consumer research with...